1998 Dodge Neon Sport 2.0L DOHC from North America


Great performance and reliability for the money


Only item to go wrong was the clutch assembly, it broke on the shaft area and had to be replaced. I negotiated a split cost with the dealership since I had an extended coverage policy on the car.

General Comments:

I no longer have the car due to being rear-ended by a drunk driver doing 80mph while I was doing 35mph. My son and I both walked away from the car with whiplash and lower back injuries, a few sprains and bruises. I want another Neon as soon as I get the insurance settled. I am impressed with the way it protected us during the accident. I loved the car before that for the performance and reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2000

1998 Dodge Neon R/T 2.0 DOHC from North America


A good price for a car that may take some work


Head gasket went out. 5 days in the shop to repair. In the shop 2 times for cold start stalling and low idle. In the shop 2 times for faulty spark plugs and wires.

General Comments:

Love the car but early problems have made me lose confidence in it. Looks great, but way to many problems for a new vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd June, 2000

1998 Dodge Neon R/T 2.0 DOHC from Germany


An incredible bargain


Head gasket went out after 22,000 miles. This was a manufacturer-identified problem and the improved gasket was installed under warranty. The fact that this car is autobahn-driven daily likely contributed to the old gasket's failure.

General Comments:

This car is regularly driven on the autobahn, often at speeds of well over 100 mph for extended periods. The car is rock-steady. It has negotiated twisty Swiss alpine roads without difficulty. For a car designed for the lazy US interstates, the car has done magnificently in Europe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2000

1998 Dodge Neon Highline 2.0L SOHC from North America


Cheap wheels!


The infamous head gasket at 55k... Finally had fixed at 72k and fought Chrysler and paid only a $200 deductable vs. the $500+ repair bill.

General Comments:

A great, dependable, cheap to own and operate vehicle. Unfortunately, I'm too tall for the car at 6' and felt a little uncomfortable inside...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2000

1998 Dodge Neon R/T 2.0 from North America


The reverse fell out of the thing 2 days after I got it.

The sunroof got stuck open, the ignition went out at 6,000!

The manufacturer's tape deck went crazy.

The head gasket is messed up and the brakes are scrubbing at only 22,965 miles!

General Comments:

This car is awful, I have never had another car have this many problems from new, never and the service at Dodge is unbelieveably rude! I have had them tell me it was my imagination that my reverse in my tranny went out - things like that. They don't want to fix anything that is supposed to be under warranty, another thing is I paid extra for a so called Racer Neon that isn't anything but a junk pile with the A/C. I'm lucky if I can even keep up with traffic.

I would not recommend anyone buying a Dodge unless you want plenty of problems, the day I traded my 90" Accord for this thing was the worse mistake of my life!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd August, 1999

10th May 2001, 20:13

I have a 98 RT and the sun-roof got stuck open on mine too. I also had to have the AC compressor replaced at the same time. Other than a new set of tires at 22,000 (burned them all the time) the car has run great.

4th Sep 2002, 15:35

I have a 1998 Neon RT and the sun roof got stuck open and had to be closed by the dealership. Now it does not work at all!

13th Jan 2003, 21:14

I have a 1999 R/T that I bought new in 12/99 with 94,000 miles and still have the original clutch. And the car still kicks. Brakes lasted 60,000 miles. Original tires 20,000, Still have my Daytons that I put on at 20,000 miles, but they are about bald.

27th Jan 2003, 08:17

I own a 95 dodge neon highline.

I have never had any problems with it.

I would like to know however why people always wine about their problems like it is dodge's fault. All cars have problems sooner or later. And as far as service it just depends on the person who works at the dealership... most of whom don't like their job and it shows... so find a new dealership and stop crying.


21st Apr 2003, 10:50

I have a 1998 Dodge neon RT and I too if you can believe it, had a sunroof problem as it is stuck closed. Looks good, fast, but a horrible car last dodge ever.

4th May 2004, 08:42

I have a 98 Neon RT. This is the best car I have ever owned. I have yet to have any problems with the vehicle. Head Gasket still ticking, sunroof works great. I have done many mods on my RT and I have been Auto-crossing and Racing my neon since the day I bought 6 years ago. Still going strong. I even won my class at the last auto-cross. Have and will always buy from dodge!