1998 Dodge Neon from North America


Buyer beware!!!


Computer problems: misfiring, required two trips to the dealership for correction.

Misalignment on the door caused the inside dome light to stay on, required a trip to the dealership for correction.

Battery failed at 24000 miles, and the dealership replaced it.

Oil leaks diagnosed at the engine switch and head gasket; this occurred shortly after the warranty had expired. Am now looking at a very expensive repair job at 32,000 miles. Independent mechanic tells me this is a very common problem with this model and that most people decide to get rid of the car rather than invest big bucks. Just finished paying a dealership $400 for other miscellaneous work on the throttle!

General Comments:

Shoddy workmanship/design on the engine appears to be cause of major repair expenses; beware of Neon head gaskets!

If you purchase a Neon, be sure you get an extended warranty; I didn't because I drive very little and never anticipated a time bomb under the hood.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

23rd Apr 2001, 09:43

This is an addendum to my "Buyer Beware" review: 5-Star Dodge dealership here in town agreed to fix the gasket problem for $150.00 deductible, no questions asked, in consideration that I had purchased the automobile from them. The car was ready for pickup the next day.

29th Aug 2001, 07:56

My car had just passed its warranty also when my head gasket blew. I did some research and found out that Chrysler has this thing called a Technical Service Bulletin. The one for the head gasket talks about how they know that the head gaskets are bad. So, they came up with this thing called the "Goodwill Policy", the dealerships know about it, but the consumer does not. The consumer should only have to pay a $100 deductible, if you are the original owner and if your car is still under 50,000 <-- (I think?).

1998 Dodge Neon 2.0 from North America


I rather go back to a horse and buggie


Transmission went out twice.

Horn stopped blowing.

Engine light kept coming on.

Electrical sensors went out.

Oil leaks.

Power steering.

Windows leaks.

Half panel lights out.

General Comments:

This is the worst car I ever had.

I paid lots for repairs.

In the shop more than with me. The Dodge service people act like they don't know what they are doing. I had ro take it back twice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th April, 2001

27th May 2001, 10:35

I have a 1998 Neon and am having problems. The car won't start after sitting in the hot sun all day, engine turns over, fuel pump doesn't run, no spark or fuel injector pulse. Raise the hood, let the cool breeze on the engine or wait until the weather cools down and then it starts.

Have you had any problems like this and if so how do I fix it. If so please email me at jasharpee@aol.com


16th Jul 2004, 16:47

I have a similar problem with no spark. Engine turns over, everything else is properly working... all connections are good. I've replaced the coil pack with a new one, as well as wires and plugs, returned the ignition back to stock from MSD then back to MSD. Still nothing. Any ideas what may be wrong..anyone?

1998 Dodge Neon from Mexico


Little car - BIG mistake!


Water pump.

Head gasket (5).

Power sunroof.

Power door locks.

Power windows.

Heater Core.

Radio (2).

Car averged going to the dealer every 2.5 months.

Several different electrical sensors.

General Comments:

I do NOT advise anyone to buy a Neon or any Dodge product. I did not get any help from the dealer or from the manufacturer with the problems I had. It would take an average of three trips to the dealer to get just one problem corrected. I traded the car after 2 years of spending my off days at the Dodge dealer. I traded it for a 2000 Ford ZX2 that has not been back to the dealer since I drove it away.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th December, 2000

6th Apr 2001, 18:09

Transmission - it's worth two pennies, that's what the whole car should be worth.

15th Aug 2005, 11:44

You will see the dealer more after about 2 years with the ford. trust me. and it will cost you out the zing zang to fix!