1999 Dodge Neon from North America


My bicycle is more reliable and cheaper


Two days after purchase, the horn flew down the highway.

Three weeks after purchase, a shroud came off on the interstate.

Six weeks later, blown head gasket, and struts on both sides were leaking.

Constantly the check engine light is on.

The head gasket went out again after 1000 miles.

General Comments:

I have battled with the car company on these problems. It seems they received their money and are not worried about the customer!

I wish I could "brag" on the car company, but my attorney advised me not to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st October, 2001

4th Dec 2009, 09:22

Really all this looks like to me is that you bought a car that someone knew was bad, and then had an inept mechanic to fix it.

Metal head gaskets, and one time to the shop is all you need, I've seen it hundreds of times.

1999 Dodge Neon Base 2.0 L 4 cylinder from North America


Good car for my needs


An engine oil leak appeared at around 22,000 miles. The dealer said it was the head gasket and replaced it.

The passenger side window wouldn't seal correctly, letting in a lot of wind noise. Through the process of elimination (meaning they replaced all the other window parts), the dealer determined it to be a defective window regulator that wasn't holding the window tight enough.

No other problems at all.

General Comments:

My previous car had a 5.9L V8, so my Neon is comparatively slow, however, it handles very well. I regularly take turns at the speed limit (without slowing down) just because I can!!

My Neon's only option is air conditioning. Everything else is base level so I can't really comment too much about the comfort level.

A very minor complaint is that the head of the key is a very big piece of plastic. I'm used to the small metal keys from the 70's. Oh well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2001

1999 Dodge Neon Highline Sedan from North America


A big problem that takes a lot money to try and fix


Brake continously squeak. I took it to the dealership, they said it was normal. Yeah right.

Have had to put new tires and brake pads on the car already.

Vibrates while driving on the highway.

Windows leak.

The A/C makes a weird noise.

The interior is falling apart.

Makes unusual engine noises.

General Comments:

Took it to the dealership, they didn't want to fix the problem.

If you buy a Dodge Neon, expect a lot of problems, they not worth what's being paid for them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th June, 2001

4th Jul 2002, 08:03

A friend of mine has a Dodge Neon too, and he's had to go and buy the service manual for it. Too many little things go on it, like the cheap door handles which break too easily and then are costly to replace.

If you don't want headaches get another car.

1999 Dodge Neon R/T 2.0 DOHC from North America


Fun little car for the price


No problems.

General Comments:

This car has been flawless and hasn't been back to the dealer since purchased.

Very nimble car that likes to rev.

A bit buzzy at interstate speeds (75 MPH) for long periods of time.

Rather bland styling, but has a surprising amount of interior room.

Very responsive car with the right gear work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2001

1999 Dodge Neon R/T 2.0 from North America


A baby Viper


The check engine light came on at about 38,000 miles, but the on-board diagnostics allowed me to figure out the problem myself. I replaced the spark-plugs and wires, and she runs perfect. A monkey could have done the work, I spent $10.00.

No other problems, and this car is raced about one weekend a month in the SCCA.

General Comments:

I know that there are some Neons out there with problems, but mine has been great. I did a Carfax report and found out it was a rental. Even at that, the car performs flawlessly. I run this car HARD and she keeps performing great. I like it so much I am looking for one for my girlfriend.

Stock the car was fast. With the aftermarket parts available it is faster than almost all the hopped up Hondas around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2001

15th Mar 2001, 15:19

I totally agree with you. I do realize that there are some people that do have a lot of problems, but like you I have not had any problems. I have a 1997 Sport Sedan, and it loves to rev. I just wish I had a place to stretch its legs. Even without adding any after market parts, you have a cheaper car than any Honda or Acura, and you start out with more horsepower. I am going to add some aftermarket parts to my car, and then disappoint many Civic and Integra owners.

1999 Dodge Neon Sport from North America


Highline Neon, what a nightmare!!!


Back seats came off!

Fog lights went out!

Windows leak water and air!

Ram on hood came off!

Clear coat looks all swirled.

Horn stopped working!

Head gasket blew out!

Engine light keeps coming on!

Also the smell that ends up in the car is awful!!!

General Comments:

The car itself is a cute, but the problems that I have encountered just should not happen with a new car... I'm afraid to drive it!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th January, 2001

1999 Dodge Neon R/T 2.0 DOHC from North America


@ 3500 miles, check engine light. Code corresponded to an EGR system failure. Cleared the code by disconnecting the battery. Check engine light and code did not reoccur.

@ 10000 miles, driver's power window began making a pop/squeaking noise going down.

@ 15000 miles, sunroof makes light 'pop' when opening.

General Comments:

This car has been relatively trouble-free and is a blast to drive. It handles/corners quite well and is pretty quick. The shifter is slightly notchy and the lever is a bit on the long side. The original equipment Goodyear Eagle RS-A's have worn pretty well (now at 24000 miles) and have pretty good grip in the wet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 1999