2003 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 5 of 8

2003 Dodge Neon SXT from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Not the best decision!!

Faults:

Well I have had to replace two of the motor mounts and now I have to change the bottom one cause it has caused the moter and transmisson to shake vigorously. One of the rims keeps loosing the seal and my tire guy says chrome does that!! And now the oil sensor went bad lucky the week after I got it inspected!!!

General Comments:

I liked the car at first but now I would rather trade it in. It drives very bad!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st March, 2008

2003 Dodge Neon SXT 2.0L from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Neons are the best!

Faults:

Nothing went wrong so far with the car.

General Comments:

The car is very reliable. Cheap on gas. Has a very good style - exterior and interior. Its very comfortable, quiet and quick. This is my first car (I'm 16 yrs old) and from the time I got it till now I just love it. I can say that is better than the accord or any other four cylinder compact car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2008

13th Aug 2009, 14:56

Hope you have a warranty man, cause at 62,000km my transmission and radiator blew up. Thank God it was under warranty. Hope you have one. It's a nice car, but only if you have a warranty.

2003 Dodge Neon SXT 2.0 DOHC from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles

Summary:

Piece of junk!!!

Faults:

Transmission went out a 50,000 miles.

Rear brakes failed at 65,000 miles.

Stock tire need to be replaced at 25,000 miles.

Fog light went out at 30,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is a piece of junk. The transmission went out at 51,000 miles, and need to be fully restored, along with the clutch. Thank god it was still under powertrain warranty, otherwise it would have cost me $3,000 to fix the transmission and clutch.

The rear brakes locked up at 65,000 miles due to a leak. $700 dollars later, they were fixed.

Road noise in this car is terrible, and even the new manual transmission is very rough. Shifts like it should have 200,000 miles on it.

If you like to have money in your wallet, don't buy this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th February, 2008

2003 Dodge Neon SXT 2.0 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carBuick Electra

Summary:

Good

Faults:

October 2007, the automatic transmission (4 speed) fluid is draining into the radiator and spilling out of the overflow tank.

Is the water also leaking into the transmission? I have a new radiator to install, but must the transmission be flushed as well?

General Comments:

Has been a dependable car, no other problems except normal maintenance items.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th November, 2007

6th Nov 2007, 08:42

YES!!! Flush your system thoroughly as trans fluid will cause issues in your cooling system. Also, flush your transmission as well as antifreeze in it will cause even more issues!

15th Aug 2009, 17:03

That's what happened to me, but my transmission blew; thank god it was under warranty.

2003 Dodge Neon R/T 2.0L from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

No major problems, would recommend

Faults:

-The brake rotors warp easily; just braking hard once or twice will cause steering wheel vibration. This is a common problem for many Dodge and Chrysler vehicles.

-The front wheel bearings needed replacement at 50000 km, but only because I lowered the car 2.5".

General Comments:

Considering this thing only has 150 hp, it pulls really nice. The power band is mid to upper rpm range. The huge wheel gap makes it look a bit like an off road vehicle, but this is easily fixed with lowering springs. Handling is pretty decent stock and this car will handle like it's on rails with sway bars and springs. The quality of the second generation neon is much better than the first generation. The interior is a bit cramped in the back like any sport compact, but the front is really comfortable; the seats are very well designed. My only complaints are how you must be very careful not to brake too hard or the rotors will warp, and it takes more gas than most 4 cylinder engines of this size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2007

2003 Dodge Neon sxt from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

OK

Faults:

Transmission - first major repair on vehicle was at about 68000 miles. The factory said it was the transmission fluid pump. They fixed under warranty. It broke down again the next day after repair. They fixed it again saying it was a dirty filter. Then I drove it for almost 10000 more miles. It went out again with the very same symptoms. The fluid is a full, bright red and clear. No forward or reverse. I can't wait to hear what they have to say this time. I was planning to buy a new car again in 5-6 months, but now?

Headlights- constant problem from day 1. The headlights "blink" when air condition compressor kicks in, when any elec window or sun roof is activated. They said that "it was engineered that way" It is bothering me every time I drive at night. It never caused a problem.

General Comments:

People like the styling of the car and often tell me so. But if it doesn't go -it's no good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th May, 2007

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 29 reviews