2003 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 8 of 8

2003 Dodge Neon STX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance26540 miles
Previous carDodge D150

Summary:

You get what you pay for

Faults:

At 20000 miles the check engine light came on. Was told that it was my intake oxygen sensor.

Had it replaced. Light still on and still running rich.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2004

2003 Dodge Neon SE 2.0 Litre SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Litre SOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance17560 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

Reliable, Sporty and Comfortable

Faults:

I had a very bad accident on Easter in 2003. I got stuck between two vehicles with not enough room to stop and ended up rear-ending someone that was parked in the middle of the interstate at 60 miles per hour. It basically tore the left front of the vehicle off. I had to go out into the interstate to retrieve my left front wheel. I had it repaired and my alignment check every three months after and it has not budged. I work in the automotive industry, more specifically, vehicle repair including tires, alignments and so forth. Kind of a specialist in this matter and I am completely satisfied with the Neon. I was able to walk from the accident and know that the vehicle has not demonstrated any signs of problems 10,000 miles later.

General Comments:

The car is sporty with good acceleration and very comfortable on long distance trips. I am 6'2" and 230 lbs. and I fit with comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2004

21st Sep 2004, 19:18

Thank you so much for your review. I have been thinking about buying an '03 Dodge Neon SE. Your review helped me to make up my mind. Like you I am also tall and I will be taking it on a really long trip. I will defintely purchase it. Once again thank you!

30th Sep 2004, 22:39

There is one review for a reason. The car just isn't old enough. Give it time and this years Neon will flood with poor reviews too.

2003 Dodge Neon SXT 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance6900 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Good car for the price

Faults:

As of right now, nothing.

General Comments:

I've had three Neons: 1997, 2000 and now a 2003.

The head gasket was replaced twice on the 97, but other than that it was a great running car. I had no problems with the 2000.

The 2003 is great so far, but it's tpo soon to tell. The key is take good care of it and it will treat you good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2003

2003 Dodge Neon SXT 2.0, 132 HP from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0, 132 HP Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired56 miles
Most recent distance6200 miles
Previous carPlymouth Acclaim

Summary:

A cookie cutter, push them out the door...fast

Faults:

New front rotors installed at 5200 miles.

New power steering pump required at 6000 miles. Also at this time the radiator was tightened and the windshield molding put back in place.

General Comments:

The front seat is narrow and has a straight bar across the top, right at shoulder blade level. Wide front pillars interfer with vision, they create large blind spots.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st May, 2003

21st Jan 2004, 20:51

How well did you take care of your car in this short time that you have had it? The better you maintain your car the better it runs the better for everything.

I have heard it lots of time and now I see it, if you want to abuse your car or not keep it well-maintained you should buy a Honda or a Toyota those last forever. Or you can go with the GM products such as Oldsmobile or Buick, I have had both an Oldsmobile Cutlass Ciera and a Buick Regal. I am very busy and so it helps because they don't need constant maintenance.

13th Apr 2004, 09:37

Ah, brake rotors normally last more than 5200 miles even under HEAVY abuse. And the power steering pump and windshield have nothing to do with maintenance.

This isn't my car, I would choose to "take life by the horns". However I just wanted to point out that there was probably nothing this person could have done to prevent these problems. They are obviously factory defects. And unfortunately these vehicles, and manufacture, are known for quality problems.

31st Oct 2010, 21:54

My neon has had many issues. If you own one, I hope you have mechanical abilities. Mine had only 53k miles and needed a motor mount, ball joints, rotors and now needs rear bearings. It's designed to be cheap. Just throw in higher quality parts. I could see this being the next junkyard car. I consider it a beater, although it's in excellent cosmetic condition.

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 29 reviews