2002 Dodge Ram Pickup Reviews - Page 3 of 6

2002 Dodge Ram Pickup Ram 1500 4.7 V8 gasoline from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.7 V8 gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

I will never sell this truck

Faults:

After I bought I had to take it to the dealer a week later cause some one had scratches in a parking lot some where, and the dealer told me they would repair the scrath for free, other than that all that has gone wrong is the battery in one of my door unlockers went dead so the dealer gave me a new battery for free.

General Comments:

I love this truck, it has lots of power, I can actually beat my dads Hemi in a race, but his Hemi is a 2500 so it's a little heavier. I hope this truck does as good as my last dodge cause it had about 250000 miles on it when I traded it in for this truck. The cab is huge there is lots of storage like behind the seats in the center console and under the middle seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2005

2002 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT 4.7 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

It will do until I can afford another Ford

Faults:

Lost rear end at 82,00 miles Luckily I had a 100,000 mile warranty on that and I did all the services as required.

Faulty switch for air conditioner at 49,000 miles fixed for free at dealership.

Upper ball joints had to be replaced at 67,000 miles I had to pay for that even though Durango and Dakota were recalled for the exact same thing.

Ride is getting quite noisy as I am adding the miles. I never had this problem with a Ford.

General Comments:

I really enjoyed the truck new, but quickly became disenchanted as the vehicle aged.

I wish Dodge made a truck as pretty as this that was as reliable as a Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th April, 2005

27th Aug 2005, 02:41

Save your money, and get yourself a GMC Duramax Diesel. It is well worth your money, Trust Me I have One.

Go GMC!

30th Nov 2005, 21:11

I have a question for the pick-up owner:how economical is the vehicle? I have a thing for the trucks, they look nice, but if I wanna get one I wanna know how much it will guzzle the gas. Also is it easy to maintain and find parts for?

2002 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 4.7L V8 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.7L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles

Summary:

The truck looks good on the outside, but poor workmanship on the inside

Faults:

Check engine light came on approximately five times in less than two years. Check engine light was for faulty gas cap (twice), transmission timing issue, faulty rear brake light. Other problems include faulty rear shock, rear axle U-joint loose causing major vibration, emergency brake cable freezing which caused the entire rear brake system to be replaced costing over $800. The front sway bars are now loose which includes loose links and dry bushings. This will be an additional $400.

General Comments:

The truck looks better then the workmanship that went into building it. I have had a lot of minor headache problems with the truck and once the warranty ran out, the major headache problems occurred.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th March, 2005

26th Apr 2005, 10:14

My 5.9L has been to the shop around 10 times for the check engine light alone. Took them 4 trips over two months to figure out it was the gas filler neck. Now it's on again! I have just about had it with this truck.

7th Jul 2005, 18:55

I think there was a recall on the brake cable... I check the Dodge website every few months and bring the truck in if there is a recall to avoid a problem.

13th Dec 2006, 05:59

I also have a 2001 Dodge 1500. Get used to the cracked dash... all my friends with this truck have it once the truck is about 4-6 years old. It is a Dodge trademark dash that should be covered in a recall. Face it, they just used some real cheap plastic for the dash top. This truck's other trade mark is the famous check engine light. I've been driving my truck with this light on for about a year. It runs great and all levels are normal. The light is probably a bad evap hose or minor leak in a vac line. Other truck owners told me the light was just part of being a dodge truck and they don't worry about it, ha ha. Mark from Virginia Beach.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 21 reviews