2002 Dodge Ram Pickup Reviews - Page 6 of 6

2002 Dodge Ram Pickup Ram 2500 SLT 4x4 5.9 24v turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.9 24v turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

The best truck on the market today

Faults:

Transfer case went out at 15000 miles, no oil in it from factory. Brakes at 64000 miles.

General Comments:

There isn't another truck out there that can handle the abuse that this truck can take. I will keep buying them as long as they make them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2004

2002 Dodge Ram Pickup Sport 5.9 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.9 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

Uses to much gas

Faults:

The transmission bobbled badly, when shifting into 3'rd gear. The Dealer replaced the Valve body, Which seemed to take care of this problem. Now the transmission bobbles when shifting into overdrive.

General Comments:

The dealer said, that's just the way the 2500 transmission shifts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th October, 2003

2002 Dodge Ram Pickup LS 4.7 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance14500 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

The gas mileage is 10 mpg city / 15 mpg hwy.

The front rotors have been replaced three times. The brake pads are worn out again. The truck shakes.

The dealer only puts 4 1/2 quarts of oil in during an oil change not 6 as required.

General Comments:

Large roomy truck with no power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th October, 2003

22nd Jan 2004, 14:24

I agree. I have an 02 Ram 1500. The 5.9 yields no performance and is very thirsty (10 mpg). I have no gears in this truck. At 70 miles per hour, I do not even hit 2000 RPMs. I think 373s would only yield worse gas mileage yet.

2nd Oct 2004, 15:19

I have 67,000 miles on the factory pads and rotors and get 20 mpg with the 4.7 l V-8 (in a 4x4). It sounds like driving style may be a contributing factor.

14th Jan 2005, 12:58

I have a 2002 Dodge Ram with the 225 V6, get 16 city and 21 highway, better than the rated amount for this truck. I have 50,000 miles on my truck and have had no problems. I am just now replacing the front pads, and they could last a little longer. I agree that the operator's driving habits, cheap parts, or sloppy repair work by technitians may be the cause. I feel that it is a great truck for the money.

21st Apr 2005, 09:00

I Have an 02 ram with the 4.7 liter and I have not had any problems with it, it gets 17 miles per a gallon. I think you should just try going to a different dealer to have any repairs done, try to find a fivstar dealer.

2002 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 Sport 4.7 liter gas from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7 liter gas Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 kilometres
Most recent distance24342 kilometres
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

No where near as good as a Ford F150

Faults:

"Check Engine" light has come on 7 times in the first year of ownership. I only have 24,000 KM on the truck.

Truck pulls to the right all the time. Dealer says "no Problem"

Metal trays under the back seat always rattle.

Truck is terrible on fuel! It uses almost twice as much as my 1999 Ford.

I am unable to get a snow tire package for my 20 inch wheels and the original tires are dangerous in the snow.

The sides of the leather seats are "shedding" no explanation from the dealer.

General Comments:

Truck pulls my 18 foot boat like it's not even there, but is terrible on fuel.

Dodge should have included seat heaters with the leather seat package.

Best stereo (Infinnity package) I have ever had in a vehicle.

Truck does bounce around on the road with the big tires and wheel package.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th February, 2003

2002 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT 4.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance7831 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Don't buy a Ram 4.7

Faults:

Main issue; Rough idle, will not idle consistently.

Trash in the heater A/C blower motor.

Bad Goodyear tires.

Harsh 2nd to 3rd up-shift sometimes.

Creaking/popping plastic door panels.

General Comments:

Dealer installed an updated program in the computer to address the dying problem. Corrected. Says rough idle was due to performance cam. A lie. Then said all 4.7's idle rough. A lie. Tech that installed the new program in the computer said it was to raise and hold idle at 700rpm. Idle varies from 500 to 700rpm with no load. It will not hold steady at 700. Now they say it's NOT supposed to hold at 700. Now dealer says I should ignore the rough idle and just enjoy the truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th December, 2002

20th Dec 2003, 04:32

Should have kept the Chevy!!!

2002 Dodge Ram Pickup Quad Cab Sport 4.7L Magnum V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.7L Magnum V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired34 miles
Most recent distance1710 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Exactly what I wanted in a truck

Faults:

The windshield washer motor stopped working at 560 miles. I wiggled the connection and it started working again.

General Comments:

It is a truck.

It likes the gas, but I did not buy it for the fuel economy.

The ride is very comfortable (for a truck).

The interior has plenty of storage.

The seats are very versatile.

The engine and transmission are smooth.

The engine pulls strong, even with a full load.

There is plenty of room for the entire family.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2002

21st Nov 2012, 19:10

I bought my 2002 Dodge Ram 4x4 gas in 2004 with 25,000. The truck is very nice and comfortable, I have changed the brake calipers to all the wheels, and replaced the dashboard and lastly the ball joints. The only thing that is actually killing me is the amount of fuel it burns at 11 to 12 MPG, and lately is been running heavy, like holding back. (?)

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 21 reviews