2002 Dodge Ram Pickup Reviews - Page 5 of 6

2002 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT 4.7 Gas from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7 Gas Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carNissan Stanza

Summary:

This truck gives Dodge a bad name

Faults:

Brakes have been a constant problem. The rotors warped at 20000 miles and were turned by the dealer at my expense. Dodge only covers brakes for 12000 miles. The rotors were warped within 20000 miles after turning. This seems to be a common problem with Chrysler products. Other Ram owners have experienced the same brake problem, as have friends that own Jeep Grand Cherokees. I have contacted the factory, only to be told it is due to "driving style". The truck is used to commute to work on a four lane highway. I do not tow or haul heavy loads. If you own one of these trucks, try to avoid freeway off ramps since using the brakes to slow down constitutes severe "driving style".

There are also numerous fluid leaks. I have repaired them as they surface, but it seems there is always another to take its place.

General Comments:

I purchased the truck because it was roomy and comfortable.

However, with the 4.7 engine, it is seriously underpowered, and, at 15 miles per gallon, thirsty.

The seats have not held up at all. The drivers seat has broken down and will need to be disassembled and rebuilt.

There are many body rattles, and the doors seal poorly.

I will never again buy a Chrysler product. My next truck will be Japanese.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2004

2nd Oct 2004, 15:16

Warped rotors are generally a sign of overtorqued lug nuts. An even money bet says the fault lies with the last place that rotated the tires. Torque should be no greater than 130 ft/lbs (115 is probably better) but most impact wrenches easily put out 200 or more ft/lbs.

4th Jul 2005, 07:57

I have a 2002 Ram 1500 Quad Cab 4X2. Other than consuming way too much gas, it is an awesome truck.

22nd Oct 2009, 11:50

I also have 02 Ram with the 4.7. It has 103K on it, and runs like new. Love the power, love the reliability and it never left me stranded. No more GM products for me.

I don't like replacing GM transmissions every 50K.

2002 Dodge Ram Pickup Sport 4.7L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carJaguar XJR

Summary:

Hard working, good looking, eye catching BIG Truck

Faults:

Recall for blower relay.

General Comments:

I traded my Jaguar XJR for this truck. I have a love/hate relationship with the looks (I call it BIG UGLY), but am delighted with it overall. I have leather which has proved durable and 20" wheels - tires are about $160 each, also Chrome running boards and bed rails - both Mo-par. I get lots of comments on the looks.

I test drove both engines and found the 4.7 to have a little better pick up and way better gas mileage. I average almost 15Mpg with lots or town and lots of highway driving.

The interior is comfortable and well thought out. All controls are in easy reach.

My wife (5' even) and myself (6'even) both drive it with no problems.

We have the four door extended cab and the rear doors open almost 90 degrees making for easy access. There is also a great fold down tray in the back (this was an option) that provides a strong flat surface. There is plenty of storage on the doors and the center arm rest which folds up to form a bench seat in the front. There is yet more storage under the center seat and under the rear seats.

The heat and air work well and the truck does not 'fog up' inside.

It travels well and has an excellent ride for a truck. The exhaust note is another attention getter.

The 4x4 works well and shifts easily - I done this at speeds up to almost 50. The limited shift diff. works well - I have gone up steep (and I mean steep) hills with 18" of snow without slipping once.

Down sides? Only two things so far. There is no light for the cup holds. I retro fitted one quite easily - there even appears to be 'cut outs' for the light to shine through to the ash tray and holders.

Secondly, and this may only be because of the Jag which had EXCEPTIONAL headlights, the lights do not light as far and as brightly as I would like. I have replaced the stock lights with new after market bulbs for some improvement.

Overall the truck seems well designed and well built.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2004

3rd Oct 2004, 21:08

No light in the cup holder?? Looks like you've been driving a Jaguar for too long...it's a TRUCK --no offense.

27th Feb 2006, 19:57

Haha I can't say that I blame the guy, its gotta be QUITE the difference going from a Jag XJR to a Dodge truck. You start to miss the little creature comforts after a while ;-)

18th Mar 2006, 14:46

I've got the 2004 model 4.7 and its in the dealership once a month for electrical repairs so stay with your 2002!.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 21 reviews