1991 Dodge Shadow Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1991 Dodge Shadow America 2.2 TBI from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 TBI Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

Dependable transportation - plain and simple

Faults:

Had the transmission replaced in '97, other than that, I've had to do nothing but replace parts for routine maintenance.

General Comments:

Car is extremely dependable, even in the cold weather. If you keep an eye on the car and take care of it, it'll repay you. Very easy to take care of and work on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2001

1991 Dodge Shadow from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 kilometres
Most recent distance172000 kilometres

Summary:

This is the car for you if you want to buy a lemon

Faults:

I have gone through 4 head gaskets,

The heaters in the car are crap.

Noisy ride.

Ticking engine.

Oil leaks.

Major paint peeling.

Exhaust problems.

The radio speakers crackled and sound like crap after 1 year!

General Comments:

This car, although it starts no matter what the temperature is, is a piece of crap!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th January, 2001

28th Apr 2001, 21:21

Although you say this car is a piece of crap, why have you owned it for 10 years, replaced the head gasket that many times without getting rid of it, or have not replaced the crappy factory speakers that ALL car makers install in their cars??? Cars are what YOU make them, not the other way around.

8th May 2001, 11:09

It amazes me that someone buys a car with 14,000 miles on it and puts another 158,000 on it over ten years can complain about it. Replacing a head gasket every 40,000 miles on a little 4 cylinder isn't that bad at all.

1991 Dodge Shadow ES Convertible 2.0L 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

Never a worse car!

Faults:

About two thousand miles into the ownership of the car, I needed a new head gasket.

Then the alarm that was on the car shorted out and ruined my radio.

I have no heat.

No seal in the entire car matches up, thus the car leaks.

My driver's side power window motor broke, I got that fixed, and now the passenger's side motor is broken.

My driver's seat has broken twice, and my A/C is not working!

General Comments:

Thankfully the car is out of production!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st November, 2000

2nd Dec 2000, 16:31

First, no Shadow came with a 2.0L engine.

Second, many of the "problems" that you have sound like they are related to something else. Sounds to me like this car was in an accident that you didn't know about.

Third, it sounds like who ever owned this car before you either did no maintenance or as little as possible (ie. no heat).

All cars are only as good as the maintenance you give them.

28th Feb 2001, 15:42

"About two thousand miles into the ownership of the car I needed a new head gasket." You musta got one out of 10,000.

"Then the alarm that was on the car shorted out and ruined my radio." That's not the cars fault, Shadow's don't come with alarms.

"I have no heat." Change your heater core.. don't you think it's about time at over 150,000kms?

"The top leaks, no seal in the entire car matches up, thus the car leaks." That I can believe.

"My driver's side power window motor broke, got that fixed and now the passenger's side motor is broken." A common problem with most cars.

"My driver's seat has broken twice, and my A/C is not working!" I would be very interested in how you broke the seat, and if you don't run the AC the way it was meant to be run, it will cause serious issues.

19th Jan 2003, 16:06

I have a Dodge Shadow SE 1991. I love my shadow. I am trying to install a new heater core, but don't have any directions. Can you email me directions. My email address is pebbles2@sover.net (yes I am a woman). It does have a AC in it, but it doesn't work. I don't' know if that would help in the installing directions. Thank you.

28th Jan 2007, 19:34

I have a 1991 dodge shadow a week ago the heater was working great and the car wasnt heating up. All of a sudden one day the car started overheating so I turned the heater on and now the heater doesent work. I changed the thermostat. It stopped overheating, but still no heat. WHAT SHOULD I DO.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 21 reviews