1991 Dodge Spirit Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1991 Dodge Spirit 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired300000 kilometres
Most recent distance360976 kilometres
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

Good, cheap reliable car

Faults:

Front passenger power window no longer works.

Power locks don't work properly.

Sometimes, while driving, there is a slight hitching. The car doesn't quit, it's just obnoxious, and mechanics seem puzzled as to what's causing it.

General Comments:

This car has great pick-up, especially since it has over 360 000 kilometers on the original motor and transmission.

It's also great on gas, easy on oil, and parts are resonably priced.

The car is very roomy and reasonably comfy.

It has no problem turning over during the winter months (even in minus 25 degree Celsius weather!).

On the downside, the paint on the roof tends to peel a fair bit.

The engine is quite loud.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2003

16th Apr 2006, 05:38

I have a 91 Spirit, and when I read your review, it was like ready about my own car! (Although, mine now has about 450 000 km). As for the problem you're having, I had the same one. I changed the air filter and put some combustion chamber conditioner through it, and it never did it again.

1991 Dodge Spirit Basic 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired153000 miles
Most recent distance182000 miles
Previous carDodge Spirit

Summary:

A very very good car

Faults:

Timing belt broke at 179000 miles.

General Comments:

The best used car I ever bought. This 2.5 has out performed and been more reliable than my 3.0 v6 1990 spirit. The only thing that has ever went wrong is my timing belt broke and it took me 3hrs to tear down and fix. I had the car back on the road with no problems. with almost 200000 miles the transmission still is like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2003

1991 Dodge Spirit ? from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission ? Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired153000 kilometres
Most recent distance155000 kilometres
Previous carFord Bronco II

Summary:

Good old Dodge - Mopar or No car

Faults:

Battery went dead after leaving lights on for 2 minutes.

Driver side window is really stiff.

When slowing down, car shakes, possibly from anti lock break system.

Won't start without revving the engine after sitting for only a day.

General Comments:

Decent car, plain, but sharp looking. It's really roomy with lots of leg room and trunk space with good security feature like a trunk release on the inside and child protection locks and airbags.

Have had trouble starting, my advice, never leave your lights on!

It goes through gas quite quickly for a smaller car.

Smooth ride, although handling is something left to be desired, really low to the ground, almost too low.

I got a good deal $2500 canadian dollars plus 4 Blizzac.

Great reliable car that gets me to school and around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th December, 2002

1991 Dodge Spirit 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

One big paper weight!

Faults:

The side passenger window does not roll down without popping off the track.

The idle on the car constantly goes up past 3000 RPM when it is idling.

There is a very strong gas smell when the car is idling.

The air conditioner stopped working.

Good luck trying to keep the hubcaps on this car.

The fuel filter has needed to be replaced 5 times.

General Comments:

This is one of the worst vehicles that I have ever owned. I would never recommend this car to someone who I liked.

The car is slow, it has very little pickup.

Driving this car for long distances is not very comfortable.

The stereo system in this car is horrible. The back speakers are 5.25, so it isn't possible to even get a well rounded sound.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd January, 2002

16th May 2002, 18:20

My wife's friend is currently unable to drive her car due to transmission problems. So, I am searching for RECALL or LEMON issues concerning a 1995 Dodge Spirit (3spd/V6 3.0), especially anything to do with transmission problems. Have you any information that might help or any websites that might help (I've been to the NTSB and have all the tech notices).

Thank You.

1991 Dodge Spirit LS 3.0 V6 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles

Summary:

At $2500 never-driven, this car is the best buy for anybody just learning to drive and on a budget

Faults:

Leaks oil.

Cooling fan is broken (but being replaced).

Over-heats often.

Steering wheel is sticky, seemingly from sitting in the sun.

General Comments:

The car has some of the best acceleration I've experienced and handles extremely well.

Its interior is rather spacious and comfortable.

Gets fantastic gas-mileage, making it worth the cost of refilling the oil monthly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2001

27th Oct 2001, 09:47

Uh, well, first off, Dodge didn't make an "LS" model of Spirit... you most likely have the base model. Second, no turbo was ever offered with the 3.0L V6, it is naturally aspirated. Turbos were only offered with the 2.2L and 2.5L I4 engines. :-)

30th May 2002, 21:25

When you replace the fan your car will probably stop over-heating.

1991 Dodge Spirit LE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission V6
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10

Faults:

Stalls for no reason; Fuel line broke.

General Comments:

123,000 miles and going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

19th May 2001, 15:50

I can not drive my 91 Dodge Spirit on the highway without it jerking or hesitating.

22nd Aug 2001, 21:14

The stalling could be the TPS - Throttle Plate Sensor. It is fairly common on these Spirit's for it to fail. It is an easy and cheap fix, as I have done it myself. The TPS is located near the gas intake on top of the engine. My Spirits jerks too and I believe it is the tranny. I have over 340,000 kms on mine and still the original engine/tranny, so I'm not that worried about it. It has served me well, and still going strong with lots of power out of a 4-banger. If anyone wants to contact me, email me at integra252@yahoo.com.

23rd Aug 2001, 13:54

Sold my Spirit, but had logged 256,000 miles on it. During the last months I owned it, I could not turn off the heater or else the car would turn off.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 15 reviews