1991 Dodge Stealth Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1991 Dodge Stealth R/T 3L V6 (non-turbo) from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 3L V6 (non-turbo) Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired51100 miles
Most recent distance189890 miles
Previous carPlymouth Duster

Summary:

Seriously worth checking out

Faults:

Driver's side power window motor had to be replaced at 65,000 miles. Over $300 to repair.

The antennae stopped retracting at 70,000 miles, also $300 to fix.

The air conditioning compressor had to be replaced around 75,000/80,000 miles. More than $1500 to replace.

Both front axles had to be replaced around 120,000 miles.

Overdrive went out around 120,000 miles, but was able to still drive car without it. However, it was highly recommended by mechanic to fix - $1500 to $5000.

Car started smoking at idle around 145,000 miles, but switching to Mobil 1 synthetic oil cured that. However, was advised by mechanic that the valve seals were bad and would still need to be replaced. According to what I read on this, this is common for Mitsubishi (manufacturer who built the Stealth/3000GT).

Driver's side leather seat showed unusual wear and tear, thus continued tearing apart despite all efforts of treatment with leather care products before and after initial tearing.

Getting correct parts was a big problem for the dealer. They constantly ordered the incorrect parts partly due to their errors and by errors in the parts lists for this car. Took 4 tries (and 2 months) to finally get the correct front axles. They constantly ordered the incorrect belts even when I gave them the correct part numbers.

Paint quality was subject, especially on the hood as I had to constantly spot paint it due to chips in the paint.

General Comments:

Despite the problems listed above, I loved this car. I bought it used, but spoke with the previous owner before buying from used car lot. I wouldn't mind owning another one as a second car.

The car always got looks, even from drivers of Corvettes, Porsches, and even Ferraris.

The car was excellent in turns at highway speed and hunkered down on exit ramps and tight turns. Handling and maneuverability was awesome.

I loved the color. Mine was Firestorm Red. The only thing missing was a sunroof.

Mine was the R/T (non-turbo) but it was pretty quick and didn't do bad in the snow because it was front wheel drive, wide, and heavy.

The Dodge dealership was difficult to work with and I had to contact Chrysler a couple of times. It took them 10 days to replace my air conditioner compressor because they again ordered the wrong parts and took advantage of the time since I was out of town on vacation. Had to speak with the owner of the dealership.

Too bad this was a Mitsubishi instead of a full fledged MoPar and too bad the Dodge dealerships were so bad at working on the car. Interestingly, Mitsubishi dealerships refused to work on the Stealth. Although, according to what I read, Mitsubishi designed the mechanics, Dodge designed the outer shell and the interior. By far, the Stealth was much better looking than the 3000GT. But the 3000GT outsold the Stealth. Thusly, the Stealth was dropped a couple of years before the 3000 GT.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2002

9th Dec 2004, 01:28

I fully agree with your comments.

The mechanical failures (and timing) you experienced are consistent with my 1991 R/T. The driver's side window motor had a design flaw (crack on upper pulley) which broke and had to be replaced, replaced the power antenna, and just recently the overdrive stopped working (slips).

All that being said I love the car, the performance and the attention it attracts. I am having trouble parting with it.

In my view there is only one question worth asking and that is would I do it all over again?? With no hesitation - YES!!

22nd Feb 2006, 16:59

Follow up, I wrote earlier the car wouldn't start for several seconds, found out it was the clutch. Had fixed for less than $50. Now that I've had this car for several months, I decided to drop my Cierra off my insurance. I can't drive anything at this point except for my Stealth or I just don't feel right. Awesome car. Love it. It could die tommorrow and it will always be close to my heart.

14th Aug 2006, 08:57

I just bought a 93 Stealth ES pretty much the r/t without the body moldings, but the overdrive went out at 110,000 miles and the previous owner had the entire transmission replaced and it works wonderfully. Also the driver side window motor does need replaced and I'll get right on that.

1991 Dodge Stealth ES 3 Liter DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3 Liter DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired68972 miles
Most recent distance109374 miles
Previous carMitsubishi 3000GT

Summary:

Troublesome car

Faults:

Timing Belt broke at around 73000 miles. Cost: None (The dealer replaced it under special warranty)

Power windows on driver's side stopped working around 77000 miles. Cost: $420.

Radio stopped playing at 84000 miles. Cost: $320.

Pop-up headlights stopped working at 86000 miles. Cost : about $300.

Connecting Rod broke. Cost: Are you kidding? I threw it where it belongs: the junkyard.

General Comments:

I bought this car in '97, to replace my '92 3000GT SL that I wrecked. The 3kGT had a lot of electrical problems, but I loved the performance. Thinking that Dodge might have tuned up the car in its own way, I bought a '91 Stealth ES for $6500 from a used car dealer. Boy, was I in for a surprise. The car had 76k miles on it when I got it, and a month later the timing belt broke, which the dealer replaced it for free. Then, the power window on the driver side stopped working. The Dodge dealer replaced it for $420, which was a nasty dent in the wallet. Then the radio stopped playing cassettes and CDs, so Dodge replaced it for a mean $320, which really bites. To make matters worse, the left headlamps refused to open a few months after, and that costs $300 to replace the whole headlight assembly. For a performance car, the engine is strong, but poorly built. The car never took any heavy acceleration, but the connecting rods broke anyways at about 86k miles. At that point I sent the car to the salvage and got me a 2001 Chevy Camaro SS. Overall, this car really isn't worth the trouble. If you're looking for a sports car, avoid the Stealth at all costs!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th August, 2002

19th Jul 2003, 05:10

Sounds like the previous driver of your car was the problem and not the car. With all of the engine problems you described, I would have to say that the previous owner was a very hard driver or the mileage was incorrect.

31st Aug 2004, 17:02

I now have 110,000 miles on my 91 stealth ES and haven't had any major problems with it. My idle control unit quit on me, but I fixed that myself and the part was $200. Other than how quickly I go through tires I love this car.

24th Aug 2007, 13:40

Timing belts are supposed to be replaced every 60k.

27th Jan 2008, 18:04

Exactly. There's a major maintenance schedule done every 60K miles. including timing belt, water pump, etc... sounds like you got a lemon as the previous owner did not take care of this car.

6th Feb 2008, 10:20

I have a 1991 ES that I bought slightly used in 1992. It is by far the best and most reliable car that I have ever owned. You can look on-line and there are several places that will rebuild the power window for $160. There is also a place in Florida that will fix the computer for $195 (If you live in Fl or Tx, there are two circuits that can melt and cause the car to run real bad). Overall, if you maintain these cars, they are great. I cannot believe how cheap you can buy one... the lines are still beautiful after all these years and mine (red with chrome wheels) gets a lot of looks and comments.

6th Aug 2010, 14:59

I purchased a 1991 Dodge Stealth a couple of months ago with 212,000 on it. I love it, it runs great, still pulls hard, and it gets up and goes. All buttons work, AC is great. Great car.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 22 reviews