1993 Dodge Stealth Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1993 Dodge Stealth ES 3.0 DOHC from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carMercury Topaz

Summary:

It so totally rocks!!!

Faults:

The usual replacement of items that wear out.

It was treated roughly at an inspection station and now I have a smoking problem.

General Comments:

This car is quick and even with 200000 on it can still get up and GO!!!

I find it to be very comfortable. I am a petite female and I think that the driver's seat was made for my **** :)

Just driving this car brings a smile to my face.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th October, 2005

1993 Dodge Stealth ES 3.0 DOHC from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles

Summary:

This is a very very awesome car!

Faults:

Transmission was blown when I got it.

Air conditioner doesn't work well.

Rear windshield wiper doesn't work.

General Comments:

The interior is very small, but that's how sports cars are.

I love it and I plan on having it for a long time.

If you know how to use it then it can really get up and go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th August, 2005

1993 Dodge Stealth RT from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired177000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Totally sweet! I LOVE IT!

Faults:

My alternator went out, costly replacement.

Seat worn on drivers side.

Right turn signal does not work when fog lights are on.

Dome light has a mind of its own.

Fuel filter had to be replaced.

Parking break went out right after I got it.

Speedometer does a wavy wacky back and forth thing.

Valve gasket cover leaks oil.

General Comments:

This car is totally sweet. It is super fast and I love it.

Everything else has been great.

No major money problems just make sure you keep it up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2005

7th Mar 2005, 20:00

Fuel filters are regular maintenance. Usually at 100,000 miles, other around 50,000. Does you gas tank go wrong every few hundred miles? I imagine you have "Had to replace gas." Did your windshield go wrong? You probably had to "replace washer fluid." Oh, just wait until you find out what oil is for! The mechanics you take it to when the engine seizes up will tell you a little about engine oil, I bet. Dude... Get a basic car care book or something.

3rd Jun 2005, 14:16

The car is very expensive to maintain tranny's are bad, but it looks good.

23rd Mar 2006, 19:52

I love mine. It can be costly to keep up, but I feel it is worth it. I have had her sense 2004. She has 88000 and has never let me down. But then, I don't let anything go, if she sounds the slightest bit different, I take her to the shop. In return, she treats me very good. I really like it when I am sitting at a red light and I catch the person next to me at the light, in the new car, looking at my girl like she is the best looking thing they have ever saw.

12th Feb 2009, 17:35

For the Stealth owners who "love" their cars and the vehicles have not hit 115k miles yet... be careful when you get around this mileage mark. The Stealths are notorious for breaking down really hard. Have had several over the years and all had to have computers, plugs, harnesses, coils, and numerous other repairs just before they hit 120k miles.

1993 Dodge Stealth ES DOHC from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance195000 miles
Previous carMercury Mercury Topaz

Summary:

It rocks!!!

Faults:

The transmission, throttle, clutch and radiator were replaced in 2002 as a result of hitting something in the road. Not the car's fault. Replaced the drive belt and water pump early 2003. Some minor brake work 2003. Master and slave cylinders replaced 2004. I don't think both were bad, but garage threw out the old parts before I could check them. Harmonic balancer replaced 2004. Dealer says a problem with the A/C caused the damage and that is unhooked now. The driver side window has gotten a little temperamental of late. Other than that this has been an awesome car. Basic maintenance has been for parts that just wear out. We're pushing 200,000 miles here!! Gas mileage has been great, 25 MPG + depending on city/highway. Just starting to use a little oil. No smoking until the inspection station tromped the heck out of the engine repeatedly. No problem with windows fogging. No ticking. Just starting to use a little oil, but may be due to the damage to rings and seals by the inspection station. I will have to check out the stem replacement as the engine actually runs great. Otherwise I'm hoping to replace the engine, make a few minor repairs, take out a few dents and dings and have it repainted early 2005. I love this car!!! It is such a blast to drive. Definitely one of the best purchases I have ever made.

General Comments:

I love this car!!! Fast, fun and handles great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th December, 2004

3rd Oct 2005, 18:03

25 MPG is great gas mileage? Even my '80 Malibu got 28 MPG with a V8!

Then again, the Stealth does look a hell of a lot better...

22nd Jul 2008, 12:10

I have had my dodge stealth for 16 years and have barley changed the oil in it. It has 150,000 miles on it and now I drive it 80 miles a day. I love the car. The only thing I don't like is that I just put 18" rims on it and it has gone from 27 miles to a gallon to 20. Hopefully I can get my old mileage back...

29th Mar 2009, 09:27

You have just thrown your odometer and speedometer off with the new tire size. Your mileage is probably very close to what you got before...

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 21 reviews