1993 Dodge Stealth Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1993 Dodge Stealth ES 3.0 24 valve from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 24 valve Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Best used car for the money!

Faults:

Very little. part of the exhaust system developed a leak and had to be replaced.

A couple of electric switches went bad.

General Comments:

This is a great car overall and a bargain used, especially the non-turbo 24 valve version (ES or RT) which is still quick (222 h.p) and much cheaper to maintain. Avoid the base version though, as it is lethargic with only 164 h.p.

Plenty of room in the back seat for my young kids. Stealth is a better choice than 3000gt if you have kids because the back window is much larger, though still small.

Only complaint is that the car demands premium gas, though mpg is good considering it's a heavy, fast car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2004

1993 Dodge Stealth Base SOHC 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission SOHC 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65900 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carNissan 200SX

Summary:

A princess, beautiful, but temperamental at times

Faults:

Rear wiper switch broke the day I got the car.

Both power windows regulators died shortly after purchase.

Glove compartment hinges broke.

All speakers blew.

Water pump leaked.

Radiator fan motor burned out at 80,000.

Valve stem seals started leaking around 90,000 miles. I'd get a nice cloud of smoke at startup and after idling for awhile.

Computer blew at 110,000 miles due to leaking capacitors.

General Comments:

This car was more or less reliable, but not without its share of problems as I listed above. The only time it left me stranded was when the computer died. I would not recommend this car for someone on a budget who just needs a daily driver. Parts tended to be very expensive. The main caveat I would say for someone buying a Stealth or 3000GT is do not get lazy on the maintenance because this car will make you regret it.

It was however a beautiful car with a wonderful exhaust note. It would turn heads wherever I went. The suspension was excellent. It was soft enough to be a nice road trip cruiser while still being able to turn on a dime staying low, flat, and controllable the whole time. Power was pretty low though from both the single and dual cam naturally aspirated engines. The only real performer of the bunch was the Stealth RT Turbo/3000GT VR4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd July, 2004

2nd Aug 2004, 15:18

I bought a 93 Stealth about a month ago. It has 142,000 miles on it. The day I bought it, it got hot (I didn't let it overheat). That cost me $75 for the thermostat at cost. One week later the passenger window regulator broke, $263 at cost. Brakes and rotors are gone and I am replacing them now. Today the driver window regulator broke (second one in a month). I have to agree, I love the car and it is a performer, but it's costing me.

1993 Dodge Stealth ES 3.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance103486 miles

Summary:

Wonderful car, will buy another

Faults:

Bought the car from the 1st owner who was a woman. Not much has gone wrong with the car. Starter had to be rebuilt at 98,000 miles.

Brakes and rotors were changed at 95,000.

Small crack on the front bumper from the previous owner. Covered with a LeBra so no need to fix.

General Comments:

This car is the best. I love it. Very fun to drive and attracts a lot of attention. Car is in perfect condition except for the crack on the front. Wonderful exterior and clean inside. It is a pleasure!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2004

1993 Dodge Stealth Base 3.0 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance141000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Laser

Summary:

High Performance Sports Car

Faults:

Needed to replace the timing belt, which is a must for this car every 60,000 miles or else!

Both power window motors died within a month of purchase.

General Comments:

This car handles like a dream.

Small interior, but I love sports cars.

Excellent styling cues!

Very comfortable ride, I drive almost 1000 miles a week or more so it better be.

I recommend this car for any one who has the need for speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2003

1993 Dodge Stealth LS 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles

Summary:

High Maintenance Money Taker

General Comments:

Hi.

I read what you wrote about your Stealth in February of this year. I bought my '93 Stealth ES a year and a half ago. The first thing that went was the Electronic Control Unit or ECU a month after I got the car. $1200 and a year later I got her back and needed new stickers for my license plates. (that was the most awful feeling) I suppose it had something to do with buying a 94' 3000GT before that I owned for 3 months and put two clutches in. The funny thing is that I haven't driven a clutch since drivers ed like a zillion years ago. I drove that car about 5 minutes in the 3 months. The rest of the time it spend back and forth from the dealer 3 hours away. They sent me home with a 99' Dodge Stratus. (Never buy anything from Woodhouse in Blair Nebraska) Pass this along. After the ECU, I've developed oil consumption, "smoking" and ticking. I don't know what to do... I'm addicted to the car, but am afraid of how much the next repair will be... plus, the dodge dealership in my area has never seen a stealth until mine. I was lucky they could fix it the first time. I don't know whether to sell our stick it out. Any advise i'll take to heart.

Thanks.

Jloontjer@hotmail.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th June, 2003

15th Jan 2004, 05:51

Maybe you should take your car to a mitsubishi dealership. The engine in a dodge stealth is mitsubishi. The only part on that car dodge made is the body.

23rd Nov 2004, 15:17

Well I too have a love for my dodge stealth that at times has hurt my pocket book. Unfortunately for you, you have a big problem on your hands. The ticking and smoke is well how do I say this lightly. Dropped or leaking valve guides. I can tell you it is this without a doubt and without seeing it because it is the fate of all the mitsubishi v6 dohc 3.0's. I just replaced my heads myself. It cost me with all the manufacture suggested replacement parts about 1,100 dollars, but if you take it to dodge or Mitsubishi they will charge you in the range of 2 to 3 thousand. Another option is to have them rebuilt. My advise is wait until the smoke is unbearable which in my case was 220,000 miles. Make sure you keep the oil topped off. And when the time comes drop a new engine in her if you aren't to exhausted.

13th Oct 2006, 11:58

The ticking is a problem of ALL Mitsubishi cars. I own a Galant, Eclipse GSX, both 98's. My brother had a 2001 Diamante and a Montero. I am now planning on buying a 3000gt. Like the other guy said, the ticking is the lifters. I don't know about the smoke. Most pre 94-99 3000GT and Stealths have ecu problems. I'm addicted to Mitsubishi, why, I don't know. But regardless of the problems that are fixable, they have reliable and FAST cars. Good luck and I think you should keep it and work through the issues. Can't be all bad or no one would own one. Good Luck.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 21 reviews