1993 Dodge Stealth RT 3.0L from North America


A terrific, fun ride on the pricey-upkeep side


Transmission rebuild at 94,000.

Seats wore badly after 60K. Invest in covers!

Burns oil moderately - past 100K - as expected.

Power window motors and regulators gave out. An expensive fix.

Stock stereo gave out early on. Speakers, antenna, and CD changer.

General Comments:

This is a very smooth and comfortable ride for a sports car, equal too many luxury models! Great suspension design.

She can be a little temperamental, like most sports cars, and is not the car for you if you're on a budget since the upkeep can come as a shock to some.

If this is a concern, go for the starter ES model with less options.

Most of the problems I've had with this car are to be expected in a higher mileage vehicle, such as replacing the timing belt, fuel injectors, and power accessories. If you keep up with the maintenance, she will treat you well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2003

8th Jul 2005, 12:08

Yeah I own a 1993 dodge stealth. I love that car, but it is too expensive to keep it nice and running. I already had to rebuild the engine. replaced the tires and I am getting the starter fixed as well. it's a good car over all the only thing that I have a problem with is, the windows keep getting fogged and the passenger side window doesn't go down, but other than that, the car is awesome.

1993 Dodge Stealth Base 3.0 SOHC from North America


A great car, speed, looks and fun to drive


The brakes were bad when I bought the car and I had to replace them shortly after.

It also downshifts hard back into first when braking for stop signs/red lights, only when hot.

General Comments:

I love this car! It was the best purchase I ever made. It has no serious problems and I wished they still made them.

I also wish, that I could find more body kits and performance parts for my car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2002

15th Mar 2004, 12:54

Sadly, if it's the Dodge Stealth base then most parts you find from Mitsu won't work, as the base Mitsu 3k is the same as the Stealth ES. Had the DOHC engine. I don't really know exactly what the difference is, but I have a Stealth Base, and I was really disappointed when I found this out.

1993 Dodge Stealth ES 3.0 24v DOHC from North America


Great for out running police


I have changed the oil every 3,000 miles, but I keep hearing a ticking sound. I don't have a clue what it is? If someone has the same thing, please get back to me.

Dents on the top of the trunk. I heard that is one of the flaws though.

General Comments:

This car is not fast but it is quick. It handles great. Too bad I have to sell it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2001

9th Sep 2001, 15:43

What type of gas do you use?

You should always use premium 91 or higher octane gas at the pump.

If you use regular gas, that might be the problem. Other than that, I have a 92' Stealth, and at idle I can hear a very faint ticking noise, but it's like that on all the cars I've owned.

1993 Dodge Stealth ES 3.0 DOHC from North America


Superb styling in a rice rocket


Both interior side window seals tore near the front and would pop up and out of the door when I raised the windows. Both were replaced within the first year. The driver's side has failed again at 75,000 miles.

When the A/C unit is in recirculate mode, water must accumulate somewhere, because it begins to have a mildew odor. Problem is bad enough that I cannot use the recirculate mode.

Throttle body needed work at 40,000 miles, $175.

Had some rear suspension work done at 65,000 miles.

Brake pads and rotors turned at 75,000 miles.

At 65,000 miles I noted oil consumption, now it is quite bad, at about a quart each 1500 miles. Dealer says it is valve stem seals, which will cost $1300. I am told this is common in this engine. They call it a 'smoker' because it smokes badly at idle. Anyone else have this problem?

General Comments:

Great little performance car, even though I now drive it like an old Corolla. Sometimes I still make it jump.

I plan to keep it a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th June, 2001

14th Jul 2001, 16:22

Owner of a 1992 stealth. Have the same problem with "smoking". Has 174,000 miles and still runs well. To help prevent the car from smoking I use the smoke treatment and a heavier weight in oil until I also get the valve stem seals replaced. Other than that, the car has been excellent and would own another one!