2000 Dodge Stratus ES 2.4 from North America


Too much trouble


When I purchased the car from the dealership the radio speakers went out, in 2004 the transmission cylinods had to be replaced,2005 replaced water pump which is so hard to do...

General Comments:

Never again...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th December, 2005

7th Apr 2007, 23:55

I hope you're kidding...

2000 Dodge Stratus ES 2.5 V6 Autostick from North America




When I first bought the car, the front right headlight had condensation. Dealer quickly found a clogged drainage hole in the headlight, and fixed it.

Also, the trunk did not open with a key. Dealer also found dried grease, and took apart the lock and cleaned it. Works like new.

General Comments:

I absolutely love this car. It certainly isn't a Viper, but this car gets up and goes when I need it to. The leather interior is very comfortable, and the power features (Locks, windows, sunroof, and seat) are very convenient, and handily located.

Also, the premium stock sound system in the car is great. I was planning on putting an aftermarket sound system in, but have decided to leave as is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2004

2000 Dodge Stratus SE 2.4L from North America


A nice, decent, inexpensive vehicle


Most recent, the transmission needed to be replaced at 55,000 miles.

O2 sensor went bad at 50,000 miles.

Luckily both problems where covered under the extended warranty that I bought through Chrysler.

General Comments:

I love my Stratus. I was a little disappointed when the transmission went bad so early, although from what I understand it's a somewhat common problem.

The car handles great in all driving conditions.

If I treat it right, I can get 32MPG doing 75MPH on the highway, with the air on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2004

18th Feb 2006, 15:19

A new trans at only 55000 miles??? How can a company make a business out of building a tranny that only lasts 50,000 miles, unless you live and drive in San Francisco or New York City, maybe?

55000 miles!!

10th Apr 2006, 14:14

I also drive a 2000 Dodge Stratus. It has nearly 100,000 miles on it and I have had NO problems with it. This car has taken me from Oklahoma to California and back again several times. NO PROBLEMS! I LOVE MY CAR. the only reason I'm even considering getting rid of it is because I am having another child and cannot fit 3 kids comfortably in the back seat! Dodge Durango Here I Come!!!

2000 Dodge Stratus SE 2.4L from North America


Buy one today!


My ex-wife wrecked it twice. A lot of body damage was done. She also did no routine maintenance.

I took the wrecked car back and put it back into shape.

I have never experienced a problem.

The engine looks and runs brand new.

It cold starts in the West Virginia winter with NO problems.

It handles like a charm.

General Comments:

I have no problem with this car.

I will always keep a Dodge in my driveway!

It looks good and drives very good (nothing is excellent)!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2004

2000 Dodge Stratus SE 2.4 from North America


Overall, it's a nice looking car that performs better than expected, and is very reliable


I have had NO (zero) problems with this car in four years. The only parts I've replaced are normal wear items, such as brakes, wipers, tires, fluids and filters.

General Comments:

Though the car has a somewhat dated appearance since the model was updated in 2001, I find it is still a very attractive automobile.

Performance and handling is better than you would expect for a 4 cylinder "family sedan" type of car.

Older versions (1995-99) have problems with head gaskets. This seems to have finally been corrected in the 2000 model year.

All versions with the automatic transmission will have problems if you don't use the correct transmission fluid. It is MANDATORY to use the correct fluid in these transmissions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2003

18th Apr 2004, 18:39

I have had my Dodge Stratus for about 2 years. This year I had to replace the Transmission Solenoid pack due to leaking which I was told is a common problem with this model year.

I have also had to replace the front wheel bearings.

My car has 76,000 miles on it.