2000 Dodge Stratus SE 2.0 from North America


Low performance money pit


The insurance institute lists the Dodge Status as one of the top 10 cars stolen. I now know why. With all the mechanical problems these units have, its cheaper to steal a parts car for all the things that go wrong.

General Comments:

Transmission went out $1800 dollars.

Fuel pump went out $700 dollars.

AC compressor went out $850 dollars

Fan blower switch, 3 of them... dealer states it must be a short somewhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th August, 2003

4th Aug 2006, 20:06

It's not the blower switch it's the blower motor that goes out causing the resistor to burn up. The motor is about $70 from dealer. That was my own findings through my ohm meter!!!

2000 Dodge Stratus ES 2.5 V6 from North America


Nice looking car, but its handling characteristics are too unstable for me


The driver's side front door window frame paint/coating is "wrinkling".

The power windows shimmy and vibrate as they roll up.

The front wheels scrape and bottom out when making hard turns.

The suspension system is junk. The car floats and wanders around the road when handling turns and uneven road surfaces.

General Comments:

The 2.5 V6 engine is smooth, powerful and accelerates quickly.

In a straight line, this car moves. But I don't like driving it in turns because it won't grip the road with any confidence.

The interior is black leather, but it looks and feels cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th June, 2003

2000 Dodge Stratus LX 6 cylinder from North America


A great sporty little sedan


With the exclusion of regular brake wear, I had no problems to speak of. One fuse had to replaced for the power locks and windows, but was inexpensive to solve.

General Comments:

For a smaller size sedan this car was comfortable and fit 2 adults and three children with relative ease.

The Stratus had awesome handling. It stayed glued to the road unlike some of the other sedans I have had.

This car had very good passing power.

My model had the V6 which is not very common in this model, but well worth the extra cost.

Low maintenance and reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2003

2000 Dodge Stratus 2.0 from North America


I would not buy from Chrysler again.


I have a 2000 Dodge Status. I had started having trouble with the gears slipping out. I then took it to a garage where I was told the transmission had been damaged by the differential pin. The pin did not have two metal pieces that was needed to hold it in place. The 2001 status has these two metal pieces. The pin popped out and damaged a lot in the transmission.

General Comments:

This car has a lot of problems concerning the transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th December, 2002

13th May 2006, 12:59

I have one also at 120,000+ miles. It will also "buck" while coming to a stop sign if I break strong. Not enough to leave black marks, but hard breaking.

18th Jul 2008, 09:30

Our 2000 Dodge Stratus has a stutter in the engine. This seems to happen more when it warms up, but has become more frequent in the last month. We've had it on a diagnostic scan, and they said nothing showed up. Any ideas??

2000 Dodge Stratus SE 2.4 DOHC from North America


I should have bought a bike as it would have been far more reliable.


Shortly after I bought this car, the transmission went out. Fortunately, this car was still under dealer warranty, so the four times I had to bring the vehicle to the service department, I did not have to pay for the repairs (or lack thereof).

Next, both rear axles went out (at 40,000 miles) and had to be replaced. It only took three trips to the service department to get this one fixed.

Then the resistor blew in the blower motor. After the third trip in for another resistor, the mechanics finally located an electrical short. However, this problem is currently ongoing, though the blower motor has been replaced.

Next, the front driver's side axle went out (at 45,000 miles) and had to be brought to them twice for replacement and repair.

Also, the brake lines were found to be rubbing on the tires (at 55,000 miles). More importantly, as the wheel weight came around it was actually rubbing a hole into both the left and right side of my brake lines. The dealer took no responsibility and dismissed this problem as a single occurrance.

Finally, at 56,000 miles, my air conditioner is now shutting itself off. Lucky me!

General Comments:

The only positive thing I can say about this car is that the seats were very comfortable.

This car was definitely not a good purchase and it has become very clear that the Chrysler Corporation does not care about customer satisfaction or problem resolution. The 800 customer service line is a joke!

I will never buy a Dodge vehicle again and will work very hard to ensure I warn others before they make the same mistake.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th May, 2002

15th Oct 2002, 18:26

WOW -- do I agree with you!! I have a 99 Stratus and I am having SO many problems with it!! Let's see it's the transmission going out, head gasket blew, wheel bearing - need I say more!! I only wish I bought a bike! I only had it for a year! The Chrysler/Dodge company doesn't even want to hear it - they even told me they know it is a problem, but oh well - my problem!! Guess what -- I will NEVER buy another Dodge product and neither will my family!!!