1992 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 6 of 13

1992 Eagle Talon TSi AWD 2.0 16v DOHC turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v DOHC turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

I bought the car for $2500 in November of 2002 with no second gear, and by December I had completely destroyed the transmission.

Water pump went out two weeks after the new transmission was in.

General Comments:

If cheap speed is what you are looking for then here it is. These cars are fast four cylinders! having the turbo is great for racing at any speed or just passing that semi on the freeway. All Wheel Drive is awesome, nobody can out launch this car. Rev it to red-line, dump the clutch, and all grip no slip. so if your into import tuning, forget all the stuff you saw in Fast and the Furious. Honda's are nothing to these D.S.M.s (Diamond Star Motors).

But these car are not for families at all the back seats shouldn't be called seats, maybe luggage spots. The back seats are small and uncomfortable, The front seats are fine without rear passengers.

My point: this car is made for one thing only... being fast!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2003

13th Jun 2004, 11:40

I agree with you talons are just to go fast and to look awesome and nobody can out jump the AWD TSI talons are just awesome car to race in.

1992 Eagle Talon GT from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

An expensive fun to drive cheaply made toy

Faults:

Heads and gaskets blew at 117,000 miles.

Timing and cam shaft belt blew at 117,000 miles.

Motor mounts went at 117,000 miles. OEM only cost over $500 alone.

Breaks went at 115,000 miles.

Tire rods went at 115,000 miles.

CV shafts went at 113,000 miles.

Cam shafts had to be replaced at 117,000 miles.

Several other things had to be replaced too many to list.

General Comments:

This car is great fun to drive.

It also handles very well.

Would never buy one again, but it's been fun while it lasted.

Really good looking car, I've had a plenty of complements on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th July, 2003

1992 Eagle Talon Tsi Fwd 2.0 Liter turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Liter turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles

Summary:

Low cost driving fun

Faults:

Timing belt needs too much attention.

Several oil leaks since date of purchase.

Transmission synchronizers are poorly made.

Back seats are a joke.

General Comments:

Accelerates like a sports car should.

Plenty of power from the turbo.

I will never make fun of a four cylinder again.

A simple performance spring change made it handle like an Indy car.

The car is well balanced and has plenty of potential to be a high performance beast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th June, 2003

1992 Eagle Talon 2.0L Non Turbo 2.0L Non turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L Non turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

High performance that requires routine maintenance

Faults:

Burns oil. After rebuilding the engine and driving it for 1700 miles, it started to burn oil while idling. Only while idling.

General Comments:

Car runs strong like nothing is wrong, only the oil burning while idling is causing me some grief. I have found at least 5 other owners that had the same problem with this engine, both Non Turbos and Turbos. I don't believe it is a turbo problem.

Car handles like a champ. I have owned 4 and now I am down to 3. I am currently rebuilding the engine in a Turbo AWD.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2003

22nd Oct 2003, 10:20

Removed the silencer from the intake? Mine started blowing blue smoke right after I took that sucker out... wonder if that has anything to do with it?

6th Sep 2004, 22:53

Nah, I pulled the silencer out of the intake tube in my '92NT, but haven't seen blue smoke in the exhaust. I have since added a K&N air filter (FIPK, not the replacement for the stock filter that fits in the air can), and the only problem I had after that was a toasted Mass Airflow Sensor--I think I over oiled the K&N and gummed up the sensor.

1992 Eagle Talon 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired162000 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles

Summary:

Cheap quickness

Faults:

Massive oil leak when I first got the car, due to a cracked valve cover.

Clutch went at the same time.

Rear brakes went.Replaced pads calipers and rotors.

Started overheating pretty bad. Replaced two heater hoses.

Windows are a little bit sticky.

General Comments:

I love my car regardless of all that has gone wrong.

Talons have a lot of room for audio improvements.

Performance wise, I am very pleased. The Talon is a genuine Honda smoker.

If you take good care of a Talon, a Talon will take very good care of you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2003

6th May 2004, 06:41

I agree with you all the way. I have a 1992 Eagle Talon Tsi and I feel that it is a very well built car. I will soon be acquiring a 1992 ES. It is the same with all vehicles, you have to take of them or they will fall apart. The Eagle Talon is a sports car that can be built up and smoke V8s, it is a very unique car to me.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 58 reviews