1997 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 2 of 6

1997 Eagle Talon Tsi FWD 2.0L Turbocharged Inline-4 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0L Turbocharged Inline-4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired52800 miles
Most recent distance99999999 miles

Summary:

Fast, Cheap thrills!!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong thus far.

It's only fault is its thirst for premium.

General Comments:

Bought for $5,500 with only 52,800 miles on it.

Was purchased from the original owner, I still have the window sticker.

It is a rare (according to my research) FWD Tsi model.

Unique Wildberry color.

Great power above 2,000-2,500rpm (will chirp tires in 2nd gear, and I have an Automatic!!!

Awesome transmission

Handles well in all conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th August, 2005

1997 Eagle Talon TS 2.0 Non turbo from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Non turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

It's fast and very sharp looking

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with my car.I think it's a nice little car,and so far very dependable.

General Comments:

I think that the Eagle Talon, is a very nice car. It has very good handling. The car has a sharp look, it looks like it would coast a lot, but they're an affordable price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2005

1997 Eagle Talon from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance148000 kilometres
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

My car is the bomb

Faults:

The cruise control stopped working.

The tail lights burnt out.

When I open the door it scratches against the side of the care.

There is a ticking in the motor and i can't figure out what it is please help me out.

General Comments:

I love my care it looks great and the ladies love it.

The car seriously rips, I can beat all my friends easy, I haven't lost yet!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2005

1997 Eagle Talon Base 2.0L from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

The standard by which I judge most other cars

Faults:

The head gasket failed at around 142,000 miles. Replaced it myself with a couple friends, and rebuilt the block with high performance, forged internals to increase the compression ratio.

General Comments:

Much like the non turbo Mitsubishi Eclipse models, the non turbo Talon cars are a great entry level sports car. In stock form, they can be highly reliable and economical. There is a growing aftermarket for these cars, and they can be made to be extremely powerful and quick for a vehicle with basically a Dodge Neon engine in them.

If you are considering a NA Talon or Eclipse, you should know that there are resources available for owners such as www.2gnt.com, where other owners exchange information about modifications, maintenance and repairs. A very worthwhile car with few faults that I can think of. I have been very satisfied with the car for more than 8 years now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th December, 2004

3rd Jan 2009, 00:28

I disagree with the above commenter to no end. The Yugo is in no way on the same level as the Talon, which, being a close relative of the Mitsubishi Eclipse, is a far better car. There is a long, long list of cars that are better than the Yugo, my friend, and the Eagle Talon is one of them.

1997 Eagle Talon ESI Non-turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Non-turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Reliable and Sporty (1/4 less than Eclipse!)

Faults:

Only one thing. I had to replace the thermostat. Cost: $8.50.

Mitsubishi produced the finest engine ever to enter a Chrysler product!!!

General Comments:

In all the car is pleasant to drive. It's not gonna win many races... except with other 4cyl ma-bey. But, it really is fun to drive. The stick shifts fairly smooth and the car handles extremely well.

For myself the car is comfortable for about 1 hour. Then I have to get out and stand a bit. That's why a gave it a knock on comfort.

This is hands down one of the most reliable cars on the road. I'm not extremely hard on a car, but 1 1/2 years and I've had not a single day where my car won't start or runs poorly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th January, 2004

28th Sep 2004, 06:58

Your so called Mitsubishi engine in your car is actually a 4g63 (2.0 DOHC Non Turbo) made by Chrysler. It is similar to what was used in the Dodge and Plymouth Neon. The Car itself is more Mitsubishi than that engine is, and was assembled in Illinois along with the Mitsubishi Eclipse, Dodge Stratus coupe, and Plymouth Avenger.

9th May 2005, 15:04

Actually, the non-turbo engine is the Chrysler 420A. The 4g63 is the turbo engine made by Mitsubishi.

3rd Apr 2009, 14:40

It may be a Chrysler engine, but it is Mitsubishi inspired, due to the long relationship between the 2 companies.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 24 reviews