1997 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1997 Eagle Talon TSi 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

Better handling and performance then most cars costing 2-4 times more

Faults:

Not many problems with this car, only normal wear and tear.

A little preventative maintanence really reduces problems.

General Comments:

The oil has always been changed at 3000 mile intervals using Mobil 1 synthetic oil and Mobil 1 oil filters.

Also a turbo timer was installed right after the car was purchased.

This car is not driven in the winter (salt eats cars).

Always kept clean and waxed on the exterior (Mothers 3 step wax at least twice a year).

It has always been kept vacuumed and Armour-alled inside.

The engine compartment is spotless, thanks to proper care cleaning and lots of Armour-all.

This car has been mistaken for a brand-new car even recently.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2001

1997 Eagle Talon TSi 2.0L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0L turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

Great car for the cost

Faults:

When I bought it, I noticed that both of the radiator hoses were leaking, but that is a simple and cheap repair.

The clutch master cylinder is going out, which is $95 for the part.

General Comments:

The car is fun to drive and the seats are comfortable.

For a sports car the road noise is low.

With the back seats down the trunk is roomy.

Great performance for the cost.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2000

1997 Eagle Talon ESi 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Scottsdale

Summary:

It's an awesome car

Faults:

Had a problem with the reverse lights switch. Other than that, no problems.

General Comments:

The Talon has been the best car I have owned. It's sporty, very nice looking, and has some get up and go. I would have never believed you could get that much speed out of a little four cylinder engine.

However, I would not recommend this car for people over six foot tall, it's a little cramped as far as space is concerned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2000

1997 Eagle Talon ESI from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

A sporty and fun vehicle to drive

Faults:

I have had a few problems with the regulators on the windows.

General Comments:

It has been and still is a great vehicle, besides the fact that it has a back seat that is so small it is barely usable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th July, 2000

1997 Eagle Talon TSi AWD 4G63 - 210 HP from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4G63 - 210 HP Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance38000 kilometres
Previous carMazda MX6

Summary:

Fast turbo, awesome AWD handling, and beautiful looks too

Faults:

Slight coolant leak; Faulty radio transistor caused speaker pop; Tires worn down, but hey, they're high performance, what do you expect?

General Comments:

The last generation of domestic turbo all-wheel-drive vehicles available in Canada/U.S.. Looking at the performance value per dollar, you cannot beat this car, it is amazing. It has a very sharp look that typically draws interest from the opposite sex, so that doesn't hurt either.

Yes, Chrysler sold the vehicle, but it's the twin brother of the Eclipse, both manufactured by Mitsubishi in Illinois. The last model year of the Talon was '98, and the last turbo AWD Eclipse was made for the '99 year. Since then the Eclipse has been all redesigned, and gone to a completely boring and unoriginal V6 configuration. Hence, the end of an era.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2000

29th Jun 2001, 16:34

Wait until the crank shaft bearing goes and the dealer pretends you need a new clutch and not a new engine. Believe me - you have a 98% chance of experiencing crank walk before you hit 65k on the odometer. You will sing a different song then.

22nd Mar 2004, 13:44

Crankwalk happens in all cars, and is extremely rare in Talons & Eclipses. The problem is blown out of proportion right now. I have a 1996 eagle talon TSi and have had no problems with it (Except a dead water pump.) I know several other Talon owners and they share the same experience as me.

However, Eagle and Mitsubishi dealers are less than good. I sent my car in for the timing belt replacement, and they put my engine back together wrong. After a call to Chrysler, the engine was repaired... Free.

1997 Eagle Talon ESI 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 2.0
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

Factory CD Player went bad. Took two times at the Dealer to balance tires.

General Comments:

Great car. Many mechanics tell me that it was a good thing to buy the non-turbo, and I agree, the car is very reliable and mated with the five speed it beats the 99 V6 Mustang and Camero to the 1/4 mile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th January, 1999

28th Nov 2000, 12:47

I have the same exact car.. it's such an awesome car. No problems at all!!

3rd Apr 2001, 17:41

Just wait until the timing belt breaks. Then everything quits. Most cars, when the belt breaks, the engine just stops, then you go replace the chain. The engine in these Talons, when the belt breaks it puts the valves up through the head. In other words destroying the engine. Also depending on the area it's located it can take 6 months to get parts, and it is a very labor intensive machine to work on.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 24 reviews