1997 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1997 Eagle Talon TSi AWD 2.0L 16v DOHC turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L 16v DOHC turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance73000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A high performance rocket

Faults:

Almost nothing. New rotors and brake pads.

O2 sensor.

Headlight housing got water in the driver's side. No big deal, simply took it off, washed it all out, and put it back on very tight.

General Comments:

I love this car!!!

Great performance and great looks. All the ladies love it.

Handles really well in the winter, but I don't drive it in the winter anymore.

Lots of after market support, so making this car even faster is real easy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2001

11th Jul 2002, 20:38

I'm in the process of buying a used TSI and all I've read is good things. However, I'm having a hard time finding performance (aftermarket) parts... got any suggestions?

28th Sep 2002, 13:09

Remember that inside it is exactly the same car as the Mitsubishi Eclipse. GSX=Tsi AWD and GS-T=Tsi. Most, close to all parts for the Eclipse will fit.

18th Feb 2004, 08:43

First of all there are a lot of places to find DSM parts (machv.com, ffwdconnection.com, buschurracing.com, and dsmtuners.com, just to name a few).

Second, EVERY part will flip back and forth, since they are the same car except for the badging and the front and rear clips (lights too).

25th Feb 2005, 19:03

You can find all you need on Ebay for Eagle Talons. Search for Mitsubishi Eclipse stuff.

1997 Eagle Talon TSi 2.0 L DOHC 16v turbo AWD from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 L DOHC 16v turbo AWD Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired24 kilometres
Most recent distance65765 kilometres
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Try a Talon TSi in the snow, it will blow you away

Faults:

The interior of the passenger door plastic kept breaking when left in direct sunlight. It would crack just below the air vent.

The pistons on the front brakes stuck on once and here in Canada it is hard to get parts, which makes it very expensive.

General Comments:

This car is a rocket. It can take so many others off the line, especially in the rain with the all wheel drive.

It also takes the snow really well, I work on a ski hill and drive to work in howling blizzards, but I always make it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2001

2nd Jan 2005, 18:50

Id have to say I do not fully agree with snow handeling. Yes I never get stuck, but I have one heck of a time pointing the car in the direction I want it to go. If you have lots of aftermarket parts on your motor causing more hp like mine does. You are going to need a little bit more weight in the car if you want to be able to steer in the right direction.

1997 Eagle Talon TSI AWD 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

A bargain if you like a car that needs maintenance like a 60s Jaguar

Faults:

Where do I begin?

First the seals around the windows fell off. It took the dealer 2 times to fix that. This happened around 10,000 miles.

Then the button that tells the car the doors are open broke. Also around 10k.

Around 20 k the sunroof started leaking and the bolts holding it to the car started to loosen.

I had to replace the battery at 30k.

Then the clutch started acting really weird (10k also) it took the dealer 7 times and 2 years to fix it properly and only when I did the research, ON MY OWN, to find out what was wrong - fixed *poorly* at 38k. They ripped a vacuum line on the install of a new ENGINE (which was the fix for the funky clutch) and tried to get me to buy new spark plugs+wires to fix it. Then they tried to get me to buy a new turbo when the spark plugs didn't fix the problem. And I again had to tell them what to check to fix it...

PS. They also tried to get me to buy a new transmission and a new clutch and a new pressure plate assembly - all of which would not have fixed my car at all.

At 36k the master and slave cylinders needed to be replaced on the clutch.

And now at 48000 miles my car is RUSTING! Which of course the dealer refuses to fix under the 5 year warrantee.

Also at 48k I need new master and slave cylinders.

Other than that, my car is great.

General Comments:

Very fast, nice looking, upgradable car.

2 words for Chrysler, LAW SUIT!

If you decide to buy one of these cars, make sure you check for crank walk. It's real and it's awful.

Also, just from dealing with Continental Jeep/Eagle - I have never met such (one or the other) incompetent or crooked service technicians and managers in my entire life - ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th June, 2001

26th Jul 2001, 12:50

I was thinking about buying a used talon, a 1998, what sort of problems should I look for in a car?

13th Aug 2001, 15:19

CRANKWALK!!! CHECK FOR CRANKWALK!!!

I am not even joking.

This is a car you could absolutely love or ending up loving to hate.

16th Sep 2001, 13:16

Sounds like you got a lemon. I bought my Talon brand new and have had no major problems with it. Just an O2 sensor, rotors & pads, and that's all. I love my car. Only look for crankwalk in the TSi the ESi you don't need to worry about a crankwalk.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 24 reviews