2001 Fiat Punto Reviews - Page 10 of 12

2001 Fiat Punto MIA 60S 1.2 (8v) from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 (8v) Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

A bargain which is difficult to better

Faults:

My brake shoes went at 20,000 miles & not the pads.

General Comments:

The Punto is swift & nimble & is good all round.

Only downside is the overly sensitive "city" steering which is for girls only!

It plays havoc if you've got alloys as you sonmetimes get too near the kerb.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2002

2001 Fiat Punto Sporting 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carFiat Tipo

Summary:

A fun stylish small car

Faults:

CD changer packed up at 3 months replaced myself at discount price. Car imported so couldn't be bothered with dealer.

No other problems.

General Comments:

I bought an imported model from car supermarket. Came fully loaded for £8k so what can you say.

Lovely interior with nice italian styling although as usual not up to VW interior trim. But who cares it still works and you see loads of 10 year old Unos so nothing should be serious.

Excellent performance from 1.2 engine and six gears to play with. A nice fun car that won't cost a fortune. Very good stereo probably the best system in a small car (when it works!!).

One caveat do make sure you can live with the ride comfort. The car is very jittery over poor surfaces. I would not see this car as a motorway beast. The ride just becomes too irritating after a few hours. However if like me you do 3 motorway trips a year and spend the rest on local 20 minute hops its great value and much fun to own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2002

2001 Fiat Punto monza 60s 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance4950 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

Little Star

Faults:

Had a slight oil leak from to rocker cover, spoke to a mechanic at the dealership who said this was a common problem and a new rocker cover gasket would solve the problem which in has. Nothing else though.

General Comments:

Going from a 1.6i Orion to a 1.2, you would think this would be a 'comedown' however I have been pleasantly surprised. The engine in this car is very responsive for a 1.2 and miles per gallon compared to my last car is amazing, averaging 48/50 miles per gallon, 40/45 miles per gallon when driving harder.

When ordering the car, the dealer persuded me to go with a higher spec car than the one I was going for (base model). The result was a Punto with the same spec as the sporting edition (apart from the engine!) so it looks the business.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2002

2001 Fiat Punto ELX 1.2 /16v from Greece

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.2 /16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance7300 kilometres
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Best buy in the small hatch 1200-1300cc market

Faults:

We have encountered zero problems until this day, and the car worked great even during a 7 day snow storm with

-10C temperatures.

We never expected such a great performance from an Italian car.

But its true.

General Comments:

We drove the Fabia and Corsa, but none matches the pleasure the Punto cabin provides to its occupants.

The Punto is by far the car that makes a cloudy day shine.

Engine as you all know gives a true 81hp due to new settings, but its still one of the best compared to Clio 1.2 (16v) /Fabia 1.4 (8valves) and Opel Corsa 1.2 (16v).

The car has one and only set back and that's road noise when the surface is off poor quality. Yet on the motor way travelling at 140kms/hour speed the overall noise intruding inside the cabin is very low, so long journeys are no problem.

All controls inside cabin, compared with rivals are superior, seats have no match in anywhere, but the mid-size category.

Car schock absorbing level is almost at a "sport level" and with the right 185/60/13" set of tyres you have a winner on your hands.

We drove the new ibiza 1.2 and even challenged it on the road, Its no match for the 16V 1.2 Punto even the ELX.

The Italians have done a great work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2002

2001 Fiat Punto HGT 1.8 petrol from Poland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60 kilometres
Most recent distance11000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A little beast

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with mine yet and I've already done more than 10000 kilometers in it (unlike my old Cinquecento Sporting, which had the central locks and the clutch break by then).

General Comments:

I love the engine. It has tons of power and torque, and doesn't need to be revved as much to go, unlike my old Civic which was dead until it got to 5000 rpm.

The brakes are great as well (much better than in anything else I've driven).

There are a couple of things that annoy me. One is the ABS/Traction Control system which is too sensitive. There is a button to turn off the traction control, but you can't turn off the ABS unless you take the fuse out. It doesn't help on bumpy Polish roads.

Another is the gearbox. It works perfectly well but I don't understand why Fiat has a 6 speed in the Sporting and a 5 speed in the HGT. Wouldn't it be more logical the other way around? Especially as the ratios are too short anyway and at high speeds on highways it could use a 6th gear to lower fuel consumption. The engine has enough torque for that.

Fuel? It is true it uses tons if you push it (12 litres per 100 kilometers), but I managed 5 litres per 100 kilometers at acceptable speeds on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th October, 2001

30th Nov 2004, 05:30

I have read your survey, but would like to add a comment on a previous survey I have read.I have just had a cam belt break at 41,000 miles please get yours checked as I have heard this is a common fault in the HGT.

15th Jun 2010, 17:25

The HGT is the best car ever made. It beats all other hatches hands down, without the slightest difficulty.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 48 reviews