2001 Fiat Punto Reviews - Page 8 of 12

2001 Fiat Punto Sporting 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance16500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

The nicest car in it's range

General Comments:

The Punto's sporty 16V engine makes it very quick off the lights.

The side skirts and spoiler which come as standard, make it look very cool.

The bucket seats and sports steering wheel give the interior a really nice finish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2003

2001 Fiat Punto Mia 3dr 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carDaihatsu Cuore

Summary:

Under-rated small car for keen drivers

Faults:

Door retainer has repeatedly come loose.

Braking problems incorrectly repaired twice.

General Comments:

Punto is a big big car inside with easily enough room for a 6' driver and room to spare in the back, too. It's wide and that along with deep windows makes it feel like a grown-up car.

It's noisy and a bit slow on the motorway, the engine is willing enough, but just doesn't have the horses. On the backroads though the car is good fun with responsive steering and excellent handling, although at the expense of a bobbly ride at times.

Our car is sparsely equipped with manual windows and no central locking, but it was cheap. It does have an airbag and Fiats excellent 'two speed' power steering system.

The car feels particularly well made and is easily the best made Fiat I have ever owned - and I have owned a few. Doors and hatch still close with a satisfying thunk and although some interior plastics look a bit low-rent it has all stayed put very well.

I would recommend the more powerful engines to our 60bhp unit, but otherwise go ahead, there are few other roomy small hatches this much fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2003

2001 Fiat Punto ELX 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1980 miles
Most recent distance11896 miles
Previous carPeugeot 206

Summary:

A economical, quick, comfortable and reliable motor that always puts a smile

Faults:

The car has suffered no faults at all.

General Comments:

It is a fantastic car for a 1.2. It goes very fast for a capacity of this size.

However, if there is a hill it dies at low revs, but change down a gear and the car makes a rasp and it's up to speed and goes like a 1.6 litre engine.

Also it has features that you expect in larger cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2003

2001 Fiat Punto 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles

Summary:

You get what you pay for I guess

Faults:

Erratic windscreen wipers - not wiping smoothly or too fast or too slow.

Bolts and screws missing on interior panels.

Jerky ride on cold starts.

General Comments:

We fell in love with the style and comfort of the newest Punto, but after only a week or so of driving, we were shocked at the rather shoddy workmanship and dubious engine fault.

The passenger door made a horrendous screeching, cracking noise every time you opened it... since disappeared, but only because several bolts had dropped off from the inside.

The car is very jerky during a cold start when pulling away and I was simply told by the dealership that I had to wait several minutes after starting the engine before driving off...ridiculous!

Finally, various other screws and bolts missing on interior panels makes for a rather slapdash feel to the car quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th April, 2003

6th May 2003, 06:09

What Car magazine readers voted the Punto into last place in terms of owner satisfaction in their survey (May 2003). Reasons were poor build, too many problems, and poor service from dealers - all of which I can confirm 110% (see my 2001 Punto's review 'Pants')

Thing was that when this car 1st came out, all the magazines raved about it - Used Car Buyer comments on the new Punto "at least now there are no rattles" - HA! I wish they could make their minds up, but no worry, 8 weeks to go and it will be sold. Ye-haaaa!!!

2001 Fiat Punto Sporting 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance17500 miles
Previous carFord Capri

Summary:

Stylish, economic, sporty!

Faults:

Rust on a spot weld behind tailgate hinge, repaired under warranty.

Rubber hose on Air Con unit replaced under warranty after argument at garage (this is a known fault and a different design is put on).

Gear cable adjusted.

General Comments:

Despite the problems above, all fixed under warranty, here is a little review of my car:

What a little gem! I was on the look out for a small, economical yet sporty car and was having trouble finding one. But when my friend turned up in his new Punto Sporting, I just had to have one.

The exterior styling is sharp and fresh, with mine coming in a clean looking and cool as ice "Astral Blue". The small changes to the exterior of the standard 3dr Punto (small rear wing, small side skirts, excellent alloys all sharpen up the European edge of the car.

The interior is very impressive. The sports seats look very smart, not over the top, and are very comfortable and supportive to match, with height, tilt, slide and lumber adjustments. The interior is of a very high quality finish, ahead of most other cars I looked at (fiesta, corsa, fabia, clio). The on board computer is excellent, and helps you keep driving as economical as possible if that's what you want.

I've had it up to 68mpg, OUTSTANDING, although 50 around town is more like the norm.

I was wary of getting a fiat because of past quality issues, but this is excellent, very well put together and very solid, with 8 yr anti corrosion.

The power from the 1247 cc 16v motor and six speed transmission is excellent, great acceleration and cruising is very comfortable.

The car is very safe, with high levels of grip and ABS as standard.

There is a button which reduces engine power and makes the steering unbelievably light, excellent for parking and the city.

The sound system is pretty special too with a sub woofer and 6 cabin speakers as standard, as does remote central locking. Mine also has Air Con.

I would definately buy another, well done Fiat!

I paid £6500 for a 19month old model with 15000 miles, from Fiat dealer with remainder of 3yr warranty and AA cover and road tax.

Early depreciation makes it a good buy after 18months, as this car is £12000 new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2003

27th Mar 2003, 15:54

I have had loads more problems with my punto sporting, of which there are too many to list.

But my main problem is after driving the car for a few miles, then left to idle the gearbox starts to rattle which is most annoying. my dealer said that this is a common fault with the 6 speed gearbox in the sporting, which they consider to be acceptable and are refusing to put right.

HENCE I WILL NOT BE BUYING ONE AGAIN!!!

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 48 reviews