2002 Fiat Stilo Reviews - Page 4 of 7

2002 Fiat Stilo dynamic 1.6 from Greece

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance42000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Good Value for Money given

Faults:

Airbag unit plug below seat doesn't do contact well popping the air bag warning every so often seems to be common.

Seat Material wearing out quickly.

Overhead coil on top of spark plug broke down early 30,000 klm.

Weird suspension noise in front.

General Comments:

Even though I was plagued with various problems I really love the car it definetly gives you the impression you gave more money than you paid. THe car when travelling on the highway is amazing very comfortable and stable. The only slight thing was the noise the car made at high speeds that I have the amazing sky window version so I guess we can't have everything in life :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th January, 2005

2002 Fiat Stilo 1.6 Active 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 25

Summary:

Nice drive shame about the build quality

Faults:

Petrol filler flap fell off in my hand.

Car engine fault warning light on and loss of power had to return to the dealership.

Car not very well made tends to be cheap and fall to pieces easily.

General Comments:

I'm happy with the comfort I love driving the car unfortunately its just not reliable enough when it comes to the engine, and bits falling off it! Also costs of servicing are very high.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th January, 2005

2002 Fiat Stilo MW Dynamic 1.9 JTD from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 JTD Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance31800 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Before you put a deposit for another car, check the Stilo. A true bargain!!!

Faults:

Wiper rubber blades needed replacing from new (not really Fiats' fault)

General Comments:

Simply the best car my money could buy, but got a lot more than I bargained for.

It is very quick for a diesel and I know because I used to have a Type-R!!

It just gobbles up rough surfaces and potholes. The quality of the car is exceptional. Very solid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2004

2002 Fiat Stilo Sport 16V 1.2 from Portugal

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 kilometres
Most recent distance65000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Excellent, nothing else to say!

Faults:

At 3000 kilometers the brakes began to do plenty of noise, the problem was never solved by Fiat.

General Comments:

The motor 1.2 16V makes miracles.

Has plenty of room in the front and in the back.

Very silent even in bad roads, except brakes.

This car drives and handles superbly, great stability in curve.

The electric direction is excellent.

Low fuel consumption in highway.

A lot of equipment, safety equipment is great.

Excellent price/quality relation.

Better in everything when compared with my Golf IV 1.6, mainly in the reliability and build materials, I really don't know why people criticize fiat so much.

There is not doubt that nobody makes cars as the Italians.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2004

16th Jul 2005, 08:48

He said AS the Italians noy BETTER than the Italians - and he is right about that!!

2002 Fiat Stilo active 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6854 miles
Most recent distance13154 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Is this a lada in disguise?

Faults:

Electronic power steering failed while car in motion.

Sky window let water into car through side seals.

Radio aerial on car not connected so couldn't pick up radio stations.

The cars main computer kept crashing cutting all power to car, (took 5 visits to garage to diagnose and replace)

General Comments:

The car handles very well and gives good power distribution through the gears.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st March, 2004

11th Apr 2004, 12:10

I know someone who has experienced almost identical problems on their Active.

Word of advice: Carry a tarpaulin round with you for when the sky-roof refuses to budge when wide open in the rain! it's very common.

My friend has a 53-plate car and the service manager intimated to him that the later cars are actually worse, fit and finish are almost at VW standards, but the mechanical reliability is absolutely shocking.

26th May 2004, 10:25

The stilo would be an excellent car if mechanical reliability was better. I have covered 9000 miles so far and the car has been back to the dealers no less than 7 times. 3 times was for the trip computer giving false messages which has still not been resolved. I love the way the car looks and have got used to the soft driving style the car prefers.

22nd Jun 2004, 17:54

If you really want to compare the fiat reliability check all the surveys about the VW golf 4 and the beetles.

You will see all by your self that Fiat is faraway better than the VW!!!

1st Jul 2004, 06:42

Very well said. I sat in one of these at the recent motor show as I have always had an eye for something different. The quality is very impressive and definately as good as VW. I will be putting one of these on my short list when I next buy.

28th Nov 2006, 09:39

The car has some good points, but is totally let down by the poor quality electrical parts that are fitted, which are very expensive to replace. It is almost as if there are built in faults. Miss a service on time and the car develops an engine fault. We will never buy another.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 29 reviews