2002 Fiat Stilo Reviews

2002 Fiat Stilo 1.6 from Norway

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Distance when acquired84500 kilometres
Most recent distance96000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo S80

Summary:

So far so good =)

Faults:

One coil broke the other day, £70 for a new one, 20 minute job, did it myself =)

Slight corrosion on front wings (bottom, stone chip).

Passenger door central lock defect.

Airbag light goes on/off of course =)

General Comments:

It's an old car with low mileage; air con, timing belt and front suspension were fixed prior to my take over.

Not much corrosion and it always starts.

It was a cheap car, but it's comfortable and offers very flexible solutions with seats and luggage space

Not too fast, but decent enough power. I mainly use it for long journeys.

Feel free to ask for tips =)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2013

11th Mar 2014, 20:52

Hi, I would like to buy a Fiat Stilo 1.6 16v Dynamic 3 door (year 2002) with 100,500 miles for 650 pounds. The problem is that the engine light appears on the dashboard, not flashing and not beeping. This "little problem" could be a big, big problem? What would you do? I need advice ASAP. Thanks, Maria.

2002 Fiat Stilo Active 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles

Summary:

Give me another

Faults:

Car is serviced as per manufacturer schedule and not always by the dealer, and apart from usual consumables, not a lot has gone wrong with the car. I would definitely have another, but I would be reluctant to let go off this car, it just goes and goes.

The only niggle is the airbag failure light comes on now and again, and it is a fault on the sensor and nothing to do with a failure of the airbag system itself.

General Comments:

With the car being only 1242cc, it is not blistering, but is quite adequate for what I use it for. Work and back, doing the shopping, carrying the family, and it is large enough for the drum kit, which is a six piece with all the hardware, and is still able enough to carry four people, or even five at a push.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2009

2002 Fiat Stilo Dynamic 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carFiat Seicento

Summary:

Don't knock it, it's a much better car than it is made out to be!

Faults:

Slight leaking from the gearbox.

General Comments:

I bought this car for my girlfriend, and it is extremely comfortable and performs really well.

It has been nothing but reliable, none of the usual problems that are reported regarding airbags, warning lights, battery, coil pack or ECU.

It is well equipped and sensibly laid out inside; everything from the handy driver's arm rest to the roof mounted interior light controls, the buttons for which are even lit up when the lights are on. The last time I saw this was on my Audi A8. Lexus don't even do this!

The materials used for the dash, seats and door panels are wearing very well, and still look like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2009

2002 Fiat Stilo Dynamic 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

I love it... I hate it

Faults:

ASR and ESP failure comes up when I brake.

Faulty fog light bulb connector.

Airbag warning, which has gone!

Air-con has not worked since I got it.

General Comments:

I want to like this car, but it's getting difficult.

I have the 5 door, it's so big inside, and compared with my Fiesta is extremely comfortable.

I have the 1.8 litre petrol; it's nicely quick, and economical, I managed to get 495 miles from one tank!

It has so much equipment, its great parking sensors, on board computer, air conditioned glove box. The music system is excellent.

I am happy I did not buy a Focus/Astra, as my Stilo offers so much more. It's just a shame it's not reliable.

And my dealer is appalling.

Although it has faults, I would buy another Fiat! Maybe the new Bravo!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2008

14th Aug 2008, 12:00

You have hit the nail on the head. I have had a few Fiats-they have a lot of positives, but you need to get them cheap to reflect the numerous problems you will encounter.

2002 Fiat Stilo Abarth 2.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles

Faults:

The oil light comes on all the time. The engine oil has been grained by the garage, and the problem is still there?

Been to the garage 3 times; still not fixed, and the garage have charged me every time..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th May, 2008

2nd Jun 2008, 09:01

Change the oil pressure switch.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 29 reviews