2003 Fiat Stilo Reviews - Page 2 of 6

2003 Fiat Stilo Active Aircon 1.6 from Italy

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carFiat Marea

Summary:

Good value for money

Faults:

Engine management and warning light came on when traveling at 80 mph.

Passenger seat springs very noisy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th April, 2009

2003 Fiat Stilo Dynamic 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40800 miles
Most recent distance47150 miles

Summary:

An underestimated gem of a car!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with this car since I bought it 2nd hand almost 10 months ago. Not a thing. Nada. Zip. Nil.

General Comments:

It's been a dream to own and drive - reliable, good looking, very responsive, smooth ride, comfortable to be in after a long drive, and economical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2008

2003 Fiat Stilo Dynamic Multiwagon 1.9 JTD turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9 JTD turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

I am a bit neutral on Fiats; don't know if I would buy another one

Faults:

I first bought this car in March 2003, and literally 2 days later the piece of plastic on the front of the passenger side roof rail broke off. The clip on the car had broken, requiring a whole new rail, which was luckily done under the warranty.

The tyre's wore excessively; a new front set every 10-15000 miles, which being 16 inch aren't cheap.

In the three years we had it, the turbo on car went twice, and we also had about 4 clutches put in, and about 2 gearboxes; one went on a dual carriage way with no drive. We also had to have a flywheel put in for some reason, and I think we had to have a cam belt put in.

The radio wasn't very good quality, and when we first got it the LCD display on the climate control system bled quite often. The car would stall, and on the computer it would say alternator fail.

General Comments:

The fuel was pretty good at 45-50 miles per gallon, and the car pulled quite well. Also the car accelerated quite well, and the engine is now being used by Vauxhall; this means it's good reliable engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th December, 2007

18th Dec 2007, 13:30

Sounds like your car was rubbish mate!

6th Oct 2011, 04:08

You were lucky. I had a nasty plastic clip on the roof lining of my 500 break, (probably due to the very jiggly ride), and Fiat refused to honour their warranty.

Be very of buying a Fiat, their customer service is rubbish.

2003 Fiat Stilo 3 door Active 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Don't Know
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired22860 miles
Most recent distance24645 miles
Previous carFiat Bravo

Summary:

A very nice car which I would recommend

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I like the design of the car. Nice lines and rear light cluster.

Really nice interior. Feels quite luxurious. On board computer supplies a host of information a lot of which, if I'm honest, I would seldom use. Loads of storage spaces and rear interior roof light.

1.2 engine is a little underpowered in acceleration, but will still easily top 100 mph - apparently!

No problems so far with reliability. Only had the car a short time so fingers cross.

Economical and cheap on insurance and tax (due to low emissions etc).

Good driving position. Can move steering wheel either towards or away from you as well as up or down.

Visibility not so good when reversing. Rear side panels seem to block out quite a bit.

Great sound system. Fiat really do seem to have mastered this feature.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2007

2003 Fiat Stilo active aircon 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Over all a good car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong yet in the six months that we ave it its been very reliable.

General Comments:

The car has loads of room inside for me and I am a big lad it handles good holds the road goning into bends it just lacks power for overtaken, but overall a good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2007

2003 Fiat Stilo dynamic 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles

Summary:

Well worth having

Faults:

ABS failure light coming on at random at start up. easily sorted by turning ignition off then on.

Main dealer servicing a joke and a rip off- £350 for an oil change and a rub over with a greasy rag!

General Comments:

A much maligned car that is really very good and has proved to be totally reliable in the 20,000 miles I've done in it.

Torquey, economical engine that is quick enough to embarrass most warm hatches.

Don't listen to the critics, all manufactures make cars where the odd one has faults. Owned 2 Stilos, both reliable and comfortable. Admittedly resale values are low but they are cheap to buy.

Would definitely have another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2007

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 23 reviews