Fiat Strada Reviews

1982 Fiat Strada 65CL 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles
Previous carMorris Marina

Summary:

Unremarkable, but user friendly

Faults:

Starter motor failed at 110000 miles.

Radiator fan switch failed at 120000 miles.

General Comments:

Remarkably reliable; apart from servicing the car and replacing worn out brakes and tyres, I spent £42.74 on repairs.

Surprisingly brisk for its engine size, and good fuel consumption (35mpg) as well.

Adequately comfortable; no better or worse than similar cars, although noisy at speed.

Ride and handling was acceptable, but not outstanding.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th July, 2011

2005 Fiat Strada EX 1.8 from Guatemala

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual

Summary:

Good car, handy, cheap

Faults:

I have a problem sometimes when starting the car.

It just won't start! The gas pump works, everything seems fine, but it just won't start.

After no less than a 30 minutes wait, it starts again just like that.

The window's controls blink during and after this problem happens, and won't go up properly.

Suddenly and for no reason they go back to normal after another 30 minutes approx.

Any ideas what can be wrong?

Thanks!

General Comments:

Besides that... it is a nice little pickup.

Comfortable, nice mileage everything is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th January, 2008

1981 Fiat Strada 75 CL 1.5 F.I. from North America

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1981
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 1.5 F.I. Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance198000 miles
Previous carDatsun 620

Summary:

The Strada was a cute, reliable fun car

Faults:

Replaced brake discs with every other set of pads.

Clutch wore out at 110,000 miles.

Clutch cable snapped at 120,000 miles.

Heater control cable bracket broke every year.

The Headliner dissolved after 5 years.

The Metallic paint was dull by age 5.

We bent a rim in a pothole.

General Comments:

With factory-recommended service (oil change every 7,500 miles) it was as reliable as an electric motor. It never burned oil or failed to start (all due to Fuel injection?). Even with kids, the comfortable cloth seats did not wear out (annual cleaning helped). It leaned like a sailboat, but stuck to the road. The mileage was okay (28 mpg). 75hp and very tall gearing called for lower gears for long distances. Noisy and small, it was also inexpensive, reliable, and fun to drive! I miss it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2006

1979 Fiat Strada Custom 1.5L SOHC from North America

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1980
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5L SOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired300 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres

Summary:

A small fish in a big pond

Faults:

The car is rusting very badly.

Also, it has trouble starting in the extreme cold.

General Comments:

I own a 1979 4 door Custom Strada in orange. I used to own a fiat dealership in Toronto, and bought this demo as soon as the Strada came out. Today I am probably the only person who owns a Strada in all of Canada. This car didn't succeed in North America, because it is designed for Europe and not for the North American climate. In fact, in Italy this car was produced until 1988, and is still in circulation.

In my opinion, the body should have been treated to withstand our North American winters, as well as make an engine with a little more kick than the one they came out with. I still start my Strada every now and then, but it is in no shape to drive, I'm actually embarrassed to, ha, ha.

Please email me at f_modena_1982@hotmail.com, if you still own a Fiat Strada in North America, I would love to see some pics.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd September, 2005

23rd Sep 2005, 11:21

I would be surprised if you get even one email. Even when they were being sold here new they were a rare sight on the road. It's a shame the build quality was so bad, it was an interesting, unique car. I haven't seen any used ones for sale for more than 15 years...

1988 Fiat Strada super 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carLancia Kappa

Summary:

High performance bargain

Faults:

The water in the window washer froze last night! that's about it.

General Comments:

Fun! fun! fun!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2003

1979 Fiat Strada 65CL 5-door 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1979
Most recent year of ownership1981
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Cheap - and very nasty indeed

Faults:

Earth lead snapped due to vibration.

Fusebox failed due to overheating.

Several light switches failed.

Speedometer sender unit failed several times.

Window regulators rusted away.

Windscreen washer bottle fractured due to vibration, and was renewed three times.

Synchromesh on third gear was poor from new.

No vacuum advance capsule so 28mpg, considered very poor.

Extreme bore:stroke ratio meant engine lacked bottom-end torque.

Seats too flat for comfort.

Rust started to appear at 2 years old, 55000 miles.

General Comments:

Poorly assembled and very poorly painted.

Good use of space under the bonnet.

Wheels have no centre hole, which makes balancing difficult (not many tyre depots can fit with the wheels onto their machinery).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th April, 2002

1980 Fiat Strada 1.5 liter gas 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1980
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 liter gas 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance100530 miles
Previous carRenault LeCar

Summary:

Super reliable economy

Faults:

Other than the usual maintenance, and wearing out of moving parts, nothing major has gone wrong.

Replaced the clutch at 81,000 miles.

General Comments:

This Strada has served me so well, I intend to keep it until it turns to dust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th April, 2002

15th Jan 2004, 23:14

Has it turned to rust, I mean, dust, yet?

19th Jan 2004, 20:33

I remember looking at Fiat Stradas at a dealer in the early 80's and noticing that they were ALREADY starting to rust while sitting there with their window stickers still attached.

24th Sep 2004, 14:25

I bought one of those Brand New for 8k, sold it for junk 2years later $1500.00 I learned an important lesson. ALWAYS DRIVE A TRUCK!

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 7 reviews