1995 Ford Contour Reviews - Page 14 of 17

1995 Ford Contour GL from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

A Money Pit

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 44000 miles.

Transmission Clutch Pack had bad weld and needed to be replaced ($1,200)

Cup Holders Broke.

Seat Headrest broke.

General Comments:

Comfortable and good looking first car, but way too many problems.

SLOW...SLOW...SLOW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd April, 2003

1995 Ford Contour GL V4 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

It's alright, I would like a new, better, and faster car

Faults:

The spark plugs went out, so it wouldn't start. We had to get those fixed. Then the cigarette lighter thing doesn't work, so we have to fix the fuse for that. I'm not sure what fuse I have to renew, because the car didn't come with an owners manual.

The first week I had the car we went 15 minutes away and we got a flat tire.

There isn't a ashtray in it. It wasn't there when we bought the car though.

General Comments:

The car is good on gas mileage.

I just got the spark plugs changed, but now the car jerks back and forth sometimes, and the check engine light comes on.

The seats are kind of uncomfortable, but that is OK. They are high up, and I like it so they are low down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th February, 2003

12th Aug 2004, 12:53

Just had the Power steering pump, plugs and wires done in mine. It is rather expensive cause of the

(top manifold) "Plenum". The car needs double platinum plugs and very good heavy wires. cost $700

Platinum plugs... if not handled well and installed carefully, it will make the car run poor.!!

1995 Ford Contour GL 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Good car for the money

Faults:

The right rear brake cylinder went bad. It had a minor fluid leak. The bearings in th A/C pump went bad.

General Comments:

I only paid $2000 for it with a trade in of my old Dakota. I got it from a Dodge dealer. The brakes are the only problem Iv had. I have never taken it to a ford dealer so I don't know how well they handle problems with the car. Its only been to private shops and I have had no problems with there service. I had to buy a belt that would by-pass the a/c pump because I don't have the money to replace it. Overall it's a very good car. I wouldn't worry about it if I went on a long road trip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2003

8th Jul 2007, 04:00

I got my car for $300 from a guy who got it at a repo auction. It's my first car and it run's great. I have been having problems with my radiator lately and it'll be 1300 to fix, but I think it's worth it, it's the only problem I've had so far.

1995 Ford Contour V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles

Summary:

I hate it!

Faults:

-The under hood wire harness was replaced during the first week I had the car. Luckily it was covered under a recall ($2500)

-I had to replace the Electronic Gas Replacement valve at 80000 miles ($224)

-Now the rear lights won't turn off! I have yet to find out how much this will cost.

General Comments:

I love the V6 and when this car is good, it's really good.

I would NEVER buy a Contour again because the car has been nothing but trouble. I can't wait to get rid of the stupid thing and replace it with something more RELIABLE.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th January, 2003

22nd Mar 2004, 14:54

My Contour has 170,000 and I have tried to kill it. It will not DIE... Great car good acceleration.

26th May 2004, 22:56

I have owned a 95 contour since new. In the begging it made me regret that I traded my Probe GT for this thing. Nine years later and 205,000 miles (same engine and clutch) I still have problems, but can't seem to dump this car. I am planning a complete rebuild of it in the near future.

1995 Ford Contour GL 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres
Previous carGMC Skyhawk

Summary:

Garbage

Faults:

I have had many, many problems since I have owned it. I have probably spent more money on it in repairs than what the car is worth. I have replaced 2 different type of sensors, which I don't recall the name of, but my husband would know. The rear view mirror continuously falls off. The ignition has been replaced. I had to replace the head gasket in the last year. Just 6 months ago the starter went and that was a cheap venture, $1253.00! When I received the car back I then had transmission problems, it made 2 more trips to the dealer before the problem was ironed out. Now it has to be serviced again because the car jumps while driving and there is smoke coming from the engine.

General Comments:

I would not recommend this car to anyone.

I own a Buick Sky hawk since 1988, and I still have it, but I have not spent half as much money on the GM in the past 15 years like I have on the Contour in the last 3!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th November, 2002

20th Jan 2003, 10:29

I am considering purchasing one of these for my daughter, so your comments are helpful. I expected the head gasket problem - it appears this plagues most of the smaller cars these days. However, I suggest you find a different place to service your vehicle - your problems appear more service-related than car-related.

Take care, and good luck!

Average review marks: 5.8 / 10, based on 66 reviews