1995 Ford Contour Reviews - Page 15 of 17

1995 Ford Contour LX 2.0 16v Zetec from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Zetec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

: love the contour, I have beaten quite a few cars with it,it's a shock for me overall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2002

1995 Ford Contour SE 2.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carFord Festiva

Summary:

It was the biggest mistake I ever made and I feel sorry for whoever buys it

Faults:

The a/c freon leaked out.

I was told it was a manifold line.

The brake rotors warped.

The front suspension clunked.

The transmission shifted hard into lock-up in third gear.

There were mysterious moaning noises from under the hood and cooling fan.

The engine smelled of leaking oil.

The engine had a leaking intake manifold causing oil to leak.

The car had water leaks from the windshield and cowl.

The right front power window kept going out.

The chrome strips on the bumpers peeled.

General Comments:

I got it for $3900 a year and a half ago. It was beautiful. Then I found out why it was so cheap. It was one of the worst cars I have owned. I think it should have stayed in Europe as the Mondeo. Ford was right to quit sending this one to America. It had potential. I wish I had my Festiva back. That car was a Mazda. It was built by Kia. I may buy a Ford again. I will never even want to look at another Contour.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd October, 2002

15th Oct 2002, 00:17

Ford Contours aren't junk. Every Car has a sour one, like apples. You just picked a sour one. And Ford makes Mazda! Not Kia.

3rd Feb 2003, 10:55

I have a 1995 contour that has had one problem after another. It always runs hot, the bushings always need to replaced, motor mounts are shot. The sad thing is when it is running okay its reallt a smooth ride. In hindsight I would never buy a ford again.

FORD-fix or repair daily...

1995 Ford Contour GL 2.5 DOHC Duratec V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 DOHC Duratec V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

It is a good car and has good gas mileage, but it is expensive to upgrade your performance

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong is I had to buy a new battery.

Cooler fan and brakes were replaced before I bought the car.

General Comments:

This is an all around great car. It accelerates quickly and runs great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2002

1995 Ford Contour 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carDodge Monaco

Summary:

Not bad, but wouldn't buy again

Faults:

Cracked intake manifold, head gaskets and valve (s).

Radio speakers both went out.

CV Boot.

General Comments:

Ran pretty good for me overall until I hit the $2,300 problem that caused me to have to scrap the car. Head gasket problems are not uncommon in this car.

What's up with the flimsy cupholder. Terrible design on it that will cause many a drink to spill.

Terrible road noise.

Worst headlights I've ever seen.

Rides decently for a smaller car. Good shocks.

Comfortable seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th January, 2002

12th Jun 2002, 09:32

I have had trouble with the transmission for 2 years now. Plus the wiring harness assembly, air conditioning went out at least 4 times. And regarding the cup holders, both of mine broke and cannot be replaced due to the fact that they simply don't produce them any longer. Never again!

1995 Ford Contour GL 2.5 Liter V6 24v DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Liter V6 24v DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance70100 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

A piece of junk!

Faults:

Everything. This car is a disaster.

The radio went out.

About all the light bulbs went out.

Had to get an oxygen sensor.

The car had to be rewired.

The spark plugs had to be replaced.

The computer had to be reset 5 times.

The transmission had to be replaced.

The torque converter had to be replaced.

There's probably more, but I cannot remember all of the problems!

General Comments:

This car is a decent looking car that is a piece of junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th May, 2001

21st Jun 2001, 09:14

Buyer beware. This car was purchased with 65K on the clock... it must have been neglected. There are many many many other Duratec Contours that run much longer without the problems.

5th Jul 2001, 04:13

I also have one of the junk contours. I have had the springs on front and back break. Engine runs hot most of the time. Transmission sensor made my car go into reverse going down the road. I wish I could get rid of my car also but when you try to trade it in the dealers pretty much laugh.

Average review marks: 5.8 / 10, based on 66 reviews