1995 Ford Contour Reviews - Page 17 of 17

1995 Ford Contour SE 2.5 DOHC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 DOHC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired24625 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

A fun-to-drive car that people don't know about

Faults:

1. Warped rear brake rotors (twice in 20K miles).

2. Failed cooling fan assembly.

3. Valve job/head gasket at 45,000 miles (related to the overheating).

4. Highest speed on the fan not working.

General Comments:

Dealer service has been deplorable; none of the work needed has been covered under the Ford ESP extended warranty I purchased, although the valve/head gasket job is being covered under a warranty extension, due to the low mileage on the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th September, 2000

1995 Ford Contour GL 2.0L I4 Zetec from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0L I4 Zetec Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired84500 miles
Most recent distance88700 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

A solid little car

Faults:

The cooling fan had to be replaced fairly quickly after I bought the car. Also, I had to have the brake rotors resurfaced. However, my dealer paid these costs since they happened soon after I bought the car. Since those repairs, I have had no problems with the car.

General Comments:

It's not very exciting, and the acceleration isn't great with the 4 cylinder engine, but I do get 22-25 MPG in a hilly city with lots of stop lights.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2000

30th May 2001, 16:10

I just bought a 95 Contour with the 2.0 4 cylinder with 100,000 and I wouldn't trade it for nothing. It's not the fastest, but it is quick. The gas mileage is great (20-26).

The only problems I'm having are brakes and front struts. Besides that I love it, Car and Driver don't know what they are saying. They rated it at 4/10. I own one and I give it 8/10.

1995 Ford Contour GL 2.0 L from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Acclaim

Summary:

I have been pleased with it

Faults:

Standard transmission sensor replaced 11/99.

Front wheel bearings replaced 06/2000.

Front struts replaced 03/99.

General Comments:

I have been generally pleased with the vehicle. Although, some things that have gone wrong with the car, they occurred after the warranty had expired. I think they need to extend their warranties, since this is the 4th car that I have had in recent years, and things only go wrong AFTER the warranty has expired. Why is that?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2000

24th May 2006, 21:53

Because of good old murphy, and his laws :-)

26th May 2006, 16:00

I love mine, and I hate it... but mostly I just want to get rid of it!!

1995 Ford Contour LS 2.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

For us, it was not worth our hard earned money

Faults:

O2 sensor has failed 4 times.

EVR and EGP have both failed twice.

Have had three rotors replaced.

Exhaust system from manifold back failed one month prior to the recall for same.

Water pump failed by breaking into pieces causing the head gasket to blow.

Parking brake freezes in cold weather (32 degrees and below).

Trunk release failed.

Gas cover release sticks.

General Comments:

Many of the parts for the Contour are not available except directly from the factory. This makes repairs very expensive and time consuming due to waiting for parts to be shipped. We have put $6500 into repairs on this car. I realise we have a lot of miles on it, however 90% of those miles are highway miles. I do understand there will be some mechanical problems, but the O2 sensor 4 times?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th June, 2000

20th Jan 2001, 01:03

1996 Ford Contour SE

Overheating problem.

Bad water pump.

Several bad thermostats.

Blown head gaskets caused from the overheating problem.

Parking brake freezes.

Gas door sticks.

Trunk release failed.

Auto door locks do not work.

Key chain remote does not work.

The Ford Contour is definitely not worth the money they are asking for. Since we purchased it we have had nothing but problems. Still does not work...

20th Jun 2002, 21:15

I am concerned about my O2 sensor now. I have a bad feeling it is on it's way out. The car really is nice, but it looks like I should try to find a deal on BULK O2 sensors. I probably would not have gotten that car if it had not been a handmedown from my uncle.

21st Nov 2003, 19:06

1995 Ford Contour SE. We purchased this car for our daughter in March of 2001 and have had nothing, but problems with it. From the second week we had it, until now (11/03) we have: Replaced 4 fuel pumps, 6 water pumps and put in a new engine. (The 4th water pump that went bad damaged the engine).That was in June of 2003. It's now Nov. of 2003 and we still are replacing water pumps every other month. It's frustrating! It's a good looking car, but is not reliable, I would not recommend it to anyone.

6th Sep 2010, 21:44

My 1995 Ford Contour rolled 200k the other day.

The 2.5l V6 is mated to a five-speed standard transmission, and the drivetrain has been nothing but golden. No new motor, no transmission work, no nothing. I bent a half-axle about a year ago, but that was my fault. Regular check-ups helped keep the car in condition. I have not had to replace four water pumps, nor six water pumps.

If you take care of your car, she will take care of you.

Average review marks: 5.8 / 10, based on 66 reviews