1997 Ford Contour Reviews - Page 7 of 9

1997 Ford Contour GL 2.0 Liter Gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Liter Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70281 miles
Most recent distance80298 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

A great performing car with good gas mileage

Faults:

My fuel injectors had to be cleaned due to being dirty from bad gas.

The check engine light comes on every now and then, but my mechanic is looking into it.

General Comments:

This car handles and performs great.

I have tested it out against high performing cars and it blows past them.

Although many of the parts are made cheaply, you can avoid breaking them with simple maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2003

26th Aug 2003, 10:23

I have heard so many horrible reviews, however when I saw yours, it was not surprising. I also own a Ford Contour SE, and it is a 1998 model. I take care of my car, and the car takes care of me. I change the oil every 2000 miles, and get a tune up every 50,000 miles, instead of every 100,000 miles. I wash, and wax the car every 2 weeks. Also I keep the outside of the engine clean.

1997 Ford Contour GL Sport 2.0 liter Zetec from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter Zetec Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

It is a good looking car with decent performance

Faults:

The check engine light came on and the car was running very rough. The dealership thought they had it fixed the first time. The second time I took it in, they kept it for several days, but took care of the problem. It has been long enough ago that I don't remember what was wrong, but I have a very good dealership that I use for service and they found the problem.

Other than the above problem, I have had no major problems with my car.

General Comments:

Overall I have been very pleased with my car. I don't understand all the negative comments about the Contour. I have several friends with Contours and none of us have had any major problems.

If there is any comment I could make, it is that the car could use more power. I unfortunately have a four cylinder, but with the changes I have made to the engine, the car is a decent performer. I just wish more performance parts were available.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2003

1997 Ford Contour UNCERTAIN UNCERTAIN from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission UNCERTAIN Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Chevette

Summary:

This is the biggest lemon that ford has ever built

Faults:

Interior wore extremely poorly.

Water-pump is impossible to change due to the excessively cramped engine compartment, replaced (now) for the second time.

Over-all this car is a major lemon!!!

General Comments:

This car is one of ford's worse vehicles they have ever allowed to come off of their assembly line.

The interior is impossible to keep clean.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd June, 2003

16th Jul 2003, 11:41

You must have bought a crap car then. My car is a prize.

7th Feb 2005, 08:21

Sorry to hear you got the bad apple in the barrel - I've had remarkably few problems with mine overall. Upkeep has been reasonable, fairly comfortable ride, and the only major maintenance issue I'm facing is (you guessed it) the water pump. (Replaced at 80K, probably have to replace again now at about 125K.)

21st Sep 2007, 09:49

If you guys have the V6 engines you may ask your mechanics what exactly is wrong with the water pump. If it is a broken plastic impeller ask to have it replaced with an after market pump that uses a metal impeller.

1997 Ford Contour SE 2.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A very delicate baby, if don't have money better try another Dealer

Faults:

The water pump fail at 52,000 miles.

The Sunroof has been a totally nightmare, there's no mechanic that can fix it.

The interior things are falling in pieces.

The starter as been wrong since I got it.

General Comments:

A good sport car with great engine and power.

Lots of maintenance costs.

If you have patience, bay a car like this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th May, 2003

1997 Ford Contour SE 2.5 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

This car is unreliable, and requires too much maintenace

Faults:

I had to replace the starter at 33000 miles, 60000 miles, and 96000 miles.

Replaced the flywheel at 35000 miles and 96000 miles.

The water pump failed at 70000 miles.

2 of the 3 catalytic converter's failed at 71500 miles.

Rack & Pinion, and lower ball joint replaced at 96000 miles.

Both lower control arms replaced at 98500 miles.

General Comments:

This car is a maintenance nightmare.

What happened to "At Ford quality is job 1".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th November, 2002

5th Dec 2002, 19:16

All these issues seem pretty normal to me for any car.

24th Jan 2003, 11:38

I do understand what your going through. I am recently putting on a new head gasket on a friend of my friend's 97 ford contour, out of all the head gaskets I've seen I've never seen one that had blew out so bad. The new one however is a solid tin one that has four pieces riveted together. Now I'm not a "ford technician," but I've been around and fixed a lot of cars, but this one is a true born lemon!

2nd Apr 2003, 14:43

In the grand scheme of car repairs (and we've had to do plenty of them with 3 drivers in our family), these don't seem to be unusual repairs. I wish I had that kind of "luck" with our vehicles.

23rd Oct 2003, 12:54

I have a 1995 Ford Contour SE

I just replaced the starter and the flywheel went.

I also had to replace the fuse panel, and ignition coil.

I can't afford this car. I just bought this car 1 year ago and have spent over 2000 dollars including repairs and towing.

I Don't think its "pretty Normal" as one persons comment was.

I agree... it is a nightmare. I wish I had never bought this car.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 31 reviews