1998 Ford Contour SE 2.5 from North America


Overall, this was a lemon!


My motor mount went out.

The check engine light will not go off.

The transmission case cracked.

I have had two alternators in the last year.

I had a power steering leak at 75000 miles that cost me $800.

The air conditioner only works through the defroster.

The speakers in the back seat don't work.

The back door hinges are rusty.

General Comments:

This car drives great.

But, I wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2004

26th May 2004, 19:41

"The back door hinges are rusty"?!

I have a Mondeo and has the same problem. But before getting rusty they start to make noise and ask for some grease.

Did you do that? If you didn't why do you complain?

1998 Ford Contour SE Sport 2.5 V6 from North America


Fun to drive sport sedan


My IAC valve clogged at 65,000 miles, then again at 90,000 miles.

O2 sensor needed replacement at 90,000 miles.

Oil pan gasket has developed a leak - currently needs replacing.

General Comments:

This is a great driving car - I have the 5-speed manual version. Can't beat the handling.

Engine does not have great torque, but it really screams at upper RPM's.

Seats are pretty comfortable, and driving position is good - outward visibility good as well.

Road noise is too high though - wish Ford had done a better job sound-deadening it. Windows don't seem to seal that great either.

Gas mileage is just OK - usually get 24-25 mpg on the highway.

Wish the interior was nicer - too plasticky.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2004

1998 Ford Contour GL 2.0 zetec from North America


To me it's a OK car!


The timing belt had to be replaced.

There were lots of recalls on many things.

General Comments:

Other than that the car had been great it has 107,000 and still runs like new. I have always taken care of it changed the oil keep it tuned up and that has seemed to keep it running great. people just don't get it just because it's a ford doesn't mean its junk... all you have to do is take care of a car and it will last you. it doesn't matter what make or model it is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2004

1998 Ford Contour GL 2.0L Zetec from North America


First time Ford, Last time Ford


Both front Wheel Bearings finished.

Timing belt "clip" broke on highway thus killing the car.

Right Coil spring defective.

Exhaust pipe fell off the manifold. (including Catalytic converter)

Rad hose blew (somehow) and leaked on transmission damaging it permanently. shifter is now extremely stiff.

Air bag light flashes telling me my airbags will not deploy. Dealer charing me 800$ to fix.

General Comments:

The Ride is Great.

The seats are comfortable.

Great weight to power ratio.

Every day the car has a new sound. Is that good or Bad?

Very little leg room in the back.

I shift better than the automatic trans (even new).

Stereo sounds just horrible.

Received car for free... and oddly enough everything broke down after.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th April, 2004

21st Apr 2004, 16:57

I have a 98 contour gl... sounds like you may need to take better care of your contour.. mine has the 2.0 zetec in it and I love it. I have always taken care of it and the only problems I have had is recalls... just some advice keep your oil changed at all times and tune up like your suppose to and of course flush and fill... you will find if you take care of your car's they last longer even if it's a contour or not...

1998 Ford Contour GL 2.0 LLiter from North America


A good value for your money


The Drum brakes are starting to wear irregularly making the car move around when braking.

It sounds like something is loose when the engine is cold.

The temperature gauge doesn't work anymore. Mysteriously died.

The headlamps turned dull yellow.

General Comments:

Overall this car is decent. The ride is OK.

This car gets a good 24mpg mixed driving.

Hasn't caused any major problems yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2004

1998 Ford Contour GL Zetec 4 cylinder from North America


Has to replace the automatic transmission at 50,000 miles. Parts and labor (replacement was a used transmission from a wreck) was over $2,100. I would avoid buying a Ford Escape, which uses the same auto trans for this reason.

General Comments:

Other than transmission replacement, car has been perfect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd April, 2004