1998 Ford Contour SE 2.5 V6 DOHC from North America


One Fords BEST Models!


I have had a Couple MAJOR Failures with this Car. I bought it with 60,000 Miles, but I really like the Performance of it with the test Drive at the Dealer. I had to replace the Water Pump at about 80,000 Miles, along with the Temperature Sensor because it got SO hot. I also had to get a New Alternator at about 90,000 Miles. Other piddley things have been like getting a new Battery for using my radio 5 minutes without the engine on.

General Comments:

I personally LOVE this Car. The shear fact that it goes exactly how fast and quick you want it to and handles GREAT makes it something of it's own kind. The size and comfort of it also give it a plus!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2004

1998 Ford Contour GL 2.0L from North America




Although I put very few miles on this vehicle the brakes had to be repaired 5 times, tires replaced twice. It seemed as if it spent more time in the dealership than at my house. The alternator went out, the belts had to be replaced. The speedometer was intermittent. The dealer could not get find out why the dummy lights remained on.

General Comments:

This was my 5th and LAST ford. Having a lemon is one thing, but the company refusing to assist with one of there dealers is another. Every time I looked at this vehicle I could feel my blood pressure rise. I took the loss had it destroyed and bought a Dodge. I will never own another ford or purchase any vehicle affiliated with ford. I no longer let anyone in my family use the F word!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th November, 2003

30th Aug 2004, 21:32

The dummy lights are there to indicate a certain condition which may require some attention. from the pathetic line of reasoning you choose to wander it was more to warn the passengers that YOU wre present than anything else. as for tire wear, it is very important on any vehicle to check and maintain the pressure, as well as to rotate them at each oil change (if you do change your oil).

7th Mar 2005, 13:16

As an owner of a '98 Contour GL, I too can attest to the fact that this car wears through tires faster than any other car my husband and I have owned. My husband is very particular about maintaining our cars, including good quality tires, correct tire pressures, and regular tire rotations. We still needed to replace the tires every 15,000 to 20,000 miles.

12th Aug 2008, 23:19

I would say that the tire wear is acceptable given the small size tire. Remember, smaller times rotate faster than a larger tire at ANY given speed, and commonly wear faster for that reason. They heat up faster, and are weaker when combating road stresses than the larger, but that is inherent with the limitation of size.

True quality is also subjective regardless of brand when talking about compact car tires; less attention, development, design and material, is given to a small commercial tire than what is given for a larger, higher priced vehicle tire, unless you go for a performance rated tire.

1998 Ford Contour SE 2.0 from North America


A low quality car and a high price!


First, the numerous recalls on the car. I have had a total of seven recalls since driving this car. Second, just about everything on the car keeps breaking even after it has been fixed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th September, 2003

9th Sep 2003, 14:43

FYI there are 17 recalls on the '98 Contour. I used to have one. www.alldata.com, then click on recalls and technical info.

22nd Jul 2004, 08:52

Another disappointment on ford contour 1998. I was driving in it and the drivers seat just collapsed, no back support. the dealer is telling me that there has been no recalls, yet all I see about ford contours is recalls all over. is this one of their recall problem?

2nd Mar 2005, 04:21

March 01,2005 I was on my way to work when the driver seat just broke. the back just fell back. When I got to work I look to find the side support on the seat broke.