1998 Ford Contour GL from North America


New unreliable car that brakes about every 3month


The timing belt failed at 83,000 miles. Serpantine belt failed at 88,000 miles. And now, the tensioner that hold the timing belt fell off and damaged everything around it totaling the repair over $2,000.

General Comments:

It' comfortable to seat in it. that's about it. Can't gain speed fast on a freeway. Dash board light go on and off by iself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th May, 2003

1998 Ford Contour SE 5.0 from North America


When I had purchased this vechicle was in unbelievable condition and. The paint job was spectacular, it shined like mirror. It was only 2 years later I was at my local car wash and all of the sudden I started seeing paint flaking off in 3 inch squared strip's. I freaked and looked, it had taken off a 6x2 feet.Yes, I said feet! The cheapest place I could find to do the work was $350.

General Comments:

Paint job sucks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th May, 2003

1998 Ford Contour svt 2.5L DOHC duratec V6 from North America


Very high performance at a very fair price


A plastic shifter fork on the transmission broke and needed to be replaced.

Shifting into third gear hard grinds a little.

The transmission does not feel strong.

General Comments:

A blast to drive, around town and on the highway.

Blows most imports away.

Good gas mileage and high performance handling.

Factory body kit makes car look very nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2003

21st Aug 2003, 10:43

I found that the grinding problem shifting into third is a common one. I had an extended warranty that fixed mine. The bill would have been around $2000.

13th Jan 2004, 15:04

Is the grinding caused by a bad synchro? I had a high-mileage Honda Accord with a bad 5th gear synchro, and instead of getting it fixed, I just double-clutched it every time to prevent it from wearing any more. I realize this is less convenient for 3rd gear than for my seldom-used 5th gear, but you may want to try it if you're concerned about the repair cost.

1998 Ford Contour SE standard from North America


A hunk of junk


Tires had to be replaced at 15,000 miles.

Brakes and rotor out at 25,000 miles.

Has had 3 serpentine belts on and 2 tensioner pulleys on in less than 5 yrs.

Had brakes done again at 50,000 miles

Check engine light stays on.

O2 sensor out at 70,000 miles

Too many recalls

Mass airflow sensor out at 77,000 miles and left me stranded on side of road.

General Comments:

Not a good reliable car. Will not last until I pay it off.

I am a single mother and don't have extra money to continuously keep making repairs. They quit making these cars-that speaks volumes.

Dealership won't even give me pay off for trade-in cause they know it is a piece of crap and don't even want to buy it back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th April, 2003

5th Oct 2004, 05:17

This is my second comment on a review, but again I have to say, operator error? being ASE certified I will tell you most times when breaks wear out "early" its the drivers fault. secondly as for the tires, if you take care of them they will take care of you, make sure your air pressure is right and that you rotate them when you change the oil and they will last! (also lead feet tend to eat tires)

7th Nov 2004, 16:37

Well, I would have to agree with the poster. This car is junk. My wife has one and I do all the maintenance on it, so I know its done right. I too, am a mechanic and I can tell you this car eats tires bad. If this car is a hair out of alignment, say bye bye to tires. Also, in the winter if the car is a hair out of alignment, the rear end of the car wants to swing out from under you. Explain that to me... Now I just got back from a ride in the tow truck because we were going to my brother in laws new house... Driving down the road and boom, there goes the tranny. FORD CONTOUR SUCKS BASS... We will never buy another FORD again.

9th Mar 2005, 10:31

I own a 98 contour SE and I got it with 70,000 miles. I put new tires on it when I purchased it and they now need replacing. The brakes were recently replaced when I got the car and I drive a lot of highway miles, but the brakes still are doing fine. The car now has 125,000, and I had to replace the O2 sensor at about 85,000 and the timing belt at about 105,000. The car has been otherwise extremely reliable.