1998 Ford Contour Reviews - Page 23 of 29

1998 Ford Contour SE 2.5 V6 duratec from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 duratec Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance61600 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

I got a good deal for it. Only $3,000.00

Faults:

My water pump sprung a leak once at 60,000 miles, so I replaced it with another one from Auto-Zone, but that one sprung a leak also at 61,000 miles.

The brake system (rotors and brake pads) died on me 3 weeks after I bought the car.

Needed to clean the fuel injector.

General Comments:

This car is awesome.

It is faster then most people thought it'd be.

I was able to beat a 1994 Acura Integra GS-R on the 1/4 mile.

It can go from 0-60 in 7.9 seconds.

I did the 1/4 mile with it in 15.3 seconds.

I took it up to the mountains, and it handles like a beauty. I was able to do a 180 turn going 55mph without the tires squeaking with minimum body roll. Braking is very smooth and yet it can be powerful (Better then my Accord). All in all the struts and springs are very sporty; it handles the mountain passes way better then my Accord.

Very reliable in the snow. With all wheel braking I was able to stop on an icy road without swerving like most cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2002

14th Dec 2004, 15:10

Bought my Ford Contour SE 4 months ago... so far it hasn't had any problems... I think I got a great deal on it. The Ford dealership wanted to charge me $9000 C.D. but I found it for $4000 from a private owner... the braking system is great.. I actually feel nice when I drive on the highway... it speeds smoothly and very fast for good price...wouldn't trade it in for a Honda!!

23rd Nov 2006, 15:19

I just bought one for $1500 and I love it!!!

1998 Ford Contour from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

One of the worst cars ever made!

Faults:

Within 30 days of purchase, I went to purchase new tires, and was told the rims looked like the car had been nose dived in a crash.

The dome light fell with no warning and the dealer said, that several cars had the same problem.

Rust began to appear on the inside of the roof and then under the seats.

The floor board is always wet under the floor mats.

Calipers needed replaced within 2 months of purchase.

Transmission quit with no warning at 75,000 miles.

Alternator needed replaced at 86,000 miles.

The check engine light will not turn off and the battery light continually comes on.

Oxygen sensor is causing the car to stall out with no warning.

General Comments:

This is the most comfortable car to drive and handles very well!

It also gets great gas mileage on long trips.

Overall, I was a fool to think a Ford would be a good family car, my Subaru never gave me any problems, never broke down and was reliable! It's time to quit spending more on the repairs than on my monthly payments...It's over!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd October, 2002

1st Nov 2002, 12:32

Sounds like this vehicle was flooded at one point. Is the title clean? If the floor is always wet, it is probably because the A/C drain is blocked.

1998 Ford Contour SE 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

A waste of time and resources to build, own and dispose of

Faults:

Driver's side window will not roll down.

Passenger side window is grinding and will only roll 1/2 way down.

Knock sensor in motor went bad.

Transmission is spewing fluid out through the dipstick tube.

Driver's side seat will barely move on the rails even after Ford serviced it.

Check engine light always comes on (this is because there is always something wrong).

Switch for AC does not work in third position.

There is a short in the fuse box somewhere causing the blower motor to go on and off intermittently.

There has been a recall for the air bag sensors.

General Comments:

This car is a lemon from the word go. I have read multiple comments from other owners and they mirror the experience I have had with this car.

This car reminds me of why Chrysler almost went out of business way back. The quality is below poor. America is the greatest nation on this planet, but you would not know it by the Ford Contour.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th September, 2002

2nd Nov 2002, 05:42

I have owned a 98 contour since new. It now has 120,000 miles on it with no major problems at all. Check engine light came on about 2 months ago. Turned out all it needed was a new fuel filter sorry about the problems.

15th Apr 2003, 07:05

Hi there. I have a 98.5 SE, 4 cyl. auto. The only major problem I had with mine was rebuilding the tranny because the torque converter went out at around 95,000 miles. I think this was due to the fact my car was used as a rental vehicle before we got it. Got the car fixed and have had no major problems since. All these problems you people are listing has never happened to me, thank God. Sorry to hear about your problems.

12th Mar 2004, 17:31

The tranny oil problem with oil coming out of the dip stick tube was a problem we had when buying a car at a county auction. It was a 98 Ford Contour with 2.0 4 cyl engine. It turned out that the 1/4 inch rubber breathing tube coming from the transmission had the end of it pushed onto a bolt by the battery, and was building up pressure in the tranny which caused the fluid to overflow out the dipstick tube. The rubber breather tube is supposed to be left open to keep the tranny from building pressure.

We replaced the rubber seal at the bottom of the dip stick tube also because it was worn and leaking there also. You can get a seal from NAPA or Carquest.

3rd Mar 2008, 15:28

The problems I have had are too many to mention in this box.

This 1998 Contour was purchased new by my father and was always well taken care of. A short time after inheriting this vehicle, the problems began. Window roll up problems, plastic knobs falling off, timing belt, seat adjustment difficulty, and I could keep going and going.

The point I want to make is that it is so obvious that the quality of this vehicle is simply poor. Ford Motor Company has created another fan of non American vehicles. I used to feel bad for the American car companies that were struggling to keep up with the overseas competition. They have done this to themselves. Congratulations.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 112 reviews