1998 Ford Contour Reviews - Page 27 of 29

1998 Ford Contour SE 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carFord F250

Summary:

It is very poor quality at any price

Faults:

Transmission failed at 141 miles.

Several recalls.

Brakes and rotors had to be replaced at 23000 miles.

Exhaust system fell off at 23000 miles.

Alternator went bad at 23000 miles.

Now dealer claims there is a short in the circuit for the radio speakers and the door locks. Because this circuit runs through the whole car, after spending 8 hours with no success, they claim it may take another 8 hours to locate.

We are presently waiting on parts to come in for a recall on the blower fan resistor, which could catch fire. Our dealer said this would probably doing us a favor, if it did then Ford would be responsible.

General Comments:

I am tired of hearing the service center say we don't build the Contour, we just have to fix them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th September, 2001

31st Aug 2004, 14:10

I have a 1998 Ford contour that was built on 4/29/1997 that also has the same defective wiring harness. Ford will not fix this vehicle, eventhough the harness used has the same defects as in the earlier production models. Does anyone know of a database that can be accessed to locate other owners of early model year 1998 Contours? I expect that all of these owners are also having problems.

29th Jan 2005, 12:24

Sorry you all were victims of a lemon. Every manufacturer produces a few pieces of junk. My 98 Contour runs like a dream. I went through the recalls mentioned above while under warranty. The free repairs were gladly appreciated.

I am NOT mechanically inclined. Gas, oil and car washes are and have been my only expenses.

I was devastated when Ford decided not to continue to build the Contour and gave its design features to the Taurus.

It would have been the only car I would have driven for LIFE!!!

1998 Ford Contour SE 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

A very comfortable car, but too high in maintenance

Faults:

Power steering fluid leak.

Broken trunk latch.

Cargo liner warped and loose.

Fuel flapper broken causing slow fueling ability.

Recall for the headlight and airbag mounting brackets to be replaced, they were damaged or faulty.

Recall for damaged or faulty hood latch replacement.

Sun visor fabric torn and wrinkled.

Speedometer cover flap fell off of the dash.

Recall to install rear crash sensors, originally never equipped on the car.

Recall for damaged or faulty rear mounted brake pressure control reduction valves.

Replaced the horn electrical assembly. Horn was not operable.

Airbag mounting assembly pad had to be repaired, re-secured.

Interior dome light cover has always been loose, eventually falling off completely, had to be replaced.

Weather stripping and insulation fell off allowing water and moisture to build up inside the trunk.

Most critical concern is the frequent engine failure in all weather conditions.

Ford Motor Company are not responding to engine failure concerns.

General Comments:

Comfort level is very satisfying.

Power and handling are very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th April, 2001

6th Jul 2001, 04:06

Pretty much agree with the survey. I will never buy a new ford vehicle again. I haven't had that many problems with my car. I bought the car in July of '98 and in October '98 the sunroof motor went out. then two months later the horn went out too. since then I haven't had any major problems with the car.

1998 Ford Contour SVT 2.5L HO V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5L HO V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance60325 miles
Previous carMercury Mystique

Summary:

The best performance bargain in a four door!

Faults:

Only two things really:

Brake rotors and IAC (warranty).

Selling the car, and going through the withdrawl.

General Comments:

THE BEST PERFORMANCE BARGAIN IN A FOUR DOOR!

I loved this car!

200HP, German chassis, exclusivity.

I could toss that car through the twisties, and back out to the highway in no time flat. For a $20k car the performance was outstanding! In stock form I took it to the track, and blasted out 3 back to back times of 15.7 in the 1/4 mile. I'd say that is right there with Fords claim, and I'm not a professional driver. Should you get a chance to buy one, BUY IT!

I want mine back, and am searching for a new one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2001

20th Jan 2002, 00:07

Argh, I must express myself.. The car was designed in the UK.. Not Germany :)

3rd Jan 2003, 11:00

If you are looking for another SVT Contour, I have one for sale.

1998.5 Ford Contour

Silver

67000km

Mods: 17"CSA rims on 225 45 17z Kumho Ecsta Performance Tires, pioneer head unit and 4 3-way 6x8 pioneer speakers in all doors, Eibach progressive lowering springs, exhaust work.

If interested, you can contact me at xsquisit00@hotmail.com.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 112 reviews