1998 Ford Contour Reviews - Page 28 of 29

1998 Ford Contour SE 2.5L DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5L DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19200 miles
Most recent distance47153 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Could have been a good car, needs more power - 3.0 Duratec would be great

Faults:

Air conditioner was leaking coolant.

Dual fans both failed.

Engine made a funny smell (fixed).

Doors squeak.

Driver's side window (power) no longer works correctly.

Front armrest bent (flimsy).

General Comments:

I will never buy another Ford again, this car has been nothing but problems since I bought it in "99".

Although it has a good amount of power, it doesn't even compare with the power of my sister's Monte Carlo SE.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd September, 2000

15th May 2001, 23:20

Is there a recall on the ford Contour transmission, is it true they only last for 60.000 miles?

20th Sep 2001, 14:20

I own a 1998 SE contour and the transmission went out at 141 miles.

22nd May 2002, 20:54

Hello I own a 1998 Ford Contour SE and the main problems I am having is that the dash board keeps cracking in different places. I have installed an after-market stereo and there is a lot of rattle from the poorly constructed door panels. Also when a bug hits my car it dents, looking at my car brings a whole new meaning to the name contour.

17th Oct 2002, 18:04

We bought a '98 Contour GL and immediately noticed shaking in the front end. We kept taking it in while under warranty and were told it was fine. We're constantly aligning it, etc. The speakers in the doors squeaked, and just after the warranty was up the dash started cracking and one of the vents fell out when we turned the air on. The engine just broke a rod (we're about 136,000 miles now) and the automatic transmission selector isn't shifting well. Our mechanic informed us that most of the Contours they work on need the transmission replaced. After this I'm getting another Toyota!

1998 Ford Contour SVT 2.5L duratech from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5L duratech Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired22800 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

The best performance car for one who needs a lot of space

Faults:

Blown thermostat and water pump, blown transmission, massive power steering leak.

General Comments:

The guy who owned the car before me must have really beat it. Once I got everything fixed on it, it has been great. The faster you go the more it seems to stick to the road. Great in the corners. The perfect sleeper car, I once raced a mid 80's Trans Am and gave it a real good run for its money. The kid looked over at me in wonder and amazement trying to figure out what I was driving.

The trunk space is adequate. The 10 way power driver seat is comfortable once you finally get it set right. I work on cars a lot and can diagnose problems quickly, so I was pretty angry with the original dealer when I told them I had a specfic problem with the car. They told me they would tell me the problem. So I found a new dealer and they have been great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2000

1998 Ford Contour SE Sport 2.5 V6 24V from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 24V Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired28800 miles
Most recent distance28800 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A stealthy quick car that surprises all riders

Faults:

NOTHING!!!! I love my Contour!!

General Comments:

I love my Contour. It has been a wonderful car, comfortable on long trips and across town. Very agile and quick it handles like a BMW at 1/2 the cost. Ford does need to offer a real upgraded stereo, I placed mine with a pioneer. The car itself has been a treat to own and drive and I'm sorry that Ford has decided to discontinue it and not build a replacement for this size of vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2000

7th Oct 2003, 18:05

I agree with you completely!! I love my contour with all my heart!! it is a great car. I had to replace my stereo with a Sony. all in all I love this car and hope it lasts for a long while yet.

1998 Ford Contour SE Sport 2.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 2.5L
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

A/C cycles too often (every 20-30 secs.) which causes a jerk in the engine.

Driver seat is not locking correctly in track.

Took car in for repairs but they could not find any problems with either item.

General Comments:

Overall a good, fun to drive car.

HP good but could use a little more torque.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th October, 1999

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 112 reviews