1998 Ford Contour SE 4 cylinder from North America


Costs too much to keep on the road


Water pump went out at 26,000 miles.

AC compressor locked up at 50,000 miles, snapped the belt which in turn ripped into one of the CV boots.

Motor mount broke (can you believe that?) at 60,000 miles and caused power steering hose to snap.

Had to replace window motor, latches, cables, etc. in drivers door and needed new wheel bearings at 65,000 miles.

At 95,000 miles the timing belt broke, leaving me stranded once again, and cost $400 to fix.

Other "minor" fixes such as new rotors twice, new fan blower, numerous recalls. This car also lets in a lot of dust (the trunk is full of it) and road noise, and the speakers short out often.

General Comments:

This car starts up without fail (except for the timing belt problem), but the rest of the car is crap.

I'm getting a lot of sympathy from the people at the Ford Service Center, but what I'd really like is to not spend more on repairs than the monthly car payment.

Now, the transmission is "slipping" which probably means another big bill for me.

Think I'll get rid of it once and for all. If I didn't need the trade-in I would love to push it off a cliff and watch it explode.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd May, 2002

1998 Ford Contour SE 2.9 from North America


A peice of ****!


This car has been a complete nightmare. I have had so many problems with it. The transmission bumps when it changes gears. The car will not start some times just makes a buzz like noise and I get stuck in parking lots until it wants to start. The gas thing dose not measure right. I will never buy another Ford again. The worst part is Ford will do nothing about it.

General Comments:

Do not buy Ford!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th May, 2002

25th May 2002, 07:46

Remember that Ford stands for Fix Or Repair Daily!

23rd Jun 2002, 17:03

I just bought a '98 Ford Contour LX and it runs excellent. It came with the 2.0L "Zetec" 4 cylinder with the optional air conditioning and bucket seats. I love this car, a nice roomy 5-seater with a cheap on gas 4 cylinder is great for the average Joe. It still has lots of power even with the air conditioning on. I was going 155km/h at 3000rpm. Now that's pretty good for a crappy little 4 cylinder.

1998 Ford Contour SE from North America


A comfortable lemon


The Alternator has failed three times, it was only fixed for good once the car broke down just outside Detroit.

The Air Conditioning has failed twice in the last 12 months.

The Battery that was in the car when I bought it was faulty.

The fuel injectors failed causing the check engine light to come up.

The Wheel bearings needed to be replaced.

The heating/AC resistor needed to be replaced.

There was a leak from the transmission.

Fuel spillage was recalled.

Recall for the addition of coil springs protectors.

General Comments:

The car itself is very comfortable and handles well especially during long road trips... when its working.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th April, 2002

25th Nov 2002, 00:17

I must say, I love this website, and will find myself here often while I search for the car that will carry me through the rest of college and a little farther.

I was looking at a Contour, only 70k miles, 4 grand... After reading these reviews, it is easy to tell it's no old school Saab 900! That was my last car, and I wish I had treated it better.

1998 Ford Contour SE 4 cylinder from North America


We are kicking ourselves for trying to cut corners by buying a cheaper domestic car - never again


There have been 9 recalls on this car to this point.

The floater in the fuel tank doesn't work properly, meaning it registers full even when the tank is empty and you can't put gas in the car.

The transmission crashed at 77,000 kilometers and the shop I took it to said "everything that could be wrong was wrong" with it.

The rear defroster stopped working.

The tires were bald at 50,000 kilometers.

The steering wheel leather is chipping and flaking off.

General Comments:

Most of the repairs have been inconvenient, but relatively inexpensive.

The main problem with this car is that the transmission gave out completely with only 77,000 kilometers on the car. Supposedly, there are lots of problems with the Contour transmission.

Repairs at 3 different shops were estimated at more than C$4000. The dealership offered no assistance or suggestions at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th October, 2001

9th Jun 2002, 19:19

Vehicle VIN 1FALP6535VK132106 Suffered catastrophic transmission failure at 110,000 Miles, Transmission must be replaced as of today 05-09-02.

11th Dec 2002, 22:25

I also am having problems with my 98 ford contour transmission. It just started slipping in 1st to 2nd gear. had it checked out and it needs new transmission. I really don't understand why everything about this car and the parts, labor has to be so expensive. I will never in my life own another ford. Ohio