1984 Ford Crown Victoria LTD 351 Windsor from North America

Summary:

This car weighs twice as much as your Honda, but can leave it at the light choking on rubber!

Faults:

The brake lines rusted out.

The fuel line busted.

General Comments:

This car is enormous.

People are very surprised when they see me burn the tires right of the wheel. I once did a burnout in this car that took a chunk out of the pavement.

The interior is the same as the day it rolled off the line...Beautiful!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2008

12th Jan 2008, 19:54

Another immature clown that needs to "burn rubber" in order to impress other human beings.

14th Jan 2008, 00:36

Your car will leave a 1984 Honda at the light, but not a new one. I used to own a 1984 Crown Vic. Tough cars, durable? Yes. Speedy? Snappy maybe by 1984 standards and deathly slow today. Most big cars have the illusion of being fast because of such a soft ride. I'm assuming you have the police package being that it's a 351. Unless you have a modified car from the late 60's or early 70's your car probably tops out around 200HP if you're lucky and maybe 280 lb/ft of Torque.

13th Nov 2008, 09:14

How can people not to love the 84 Crown Vic? I own one and would never trade it for anything. The body and motor may be big, but we do not have to have light weight cars to go fast, because we have momentum behind our cars, and why not spin the tires; that's part of the fun owning a car.

4th Aug 2012, 09:43

My 73 LTD 460 has recently been rebuilt. It will chew up anything at the light. By the time the rubber smoke clears, you won't even know where I went.

6th Aug 2012, 15:49

We used to have an '84 Grand Marquis, very similar car, and it wasn't 'fast'. It performed very adequately, but no one in our family had any desire to get up to any boy-racer antics, so of course there was no need. The car was exceedingly comfortable, durable, and reliable - slightly more comfortable than our big GM cars, though with a touch less confident handling, and definitely a bit more expensive to keep going.

1984 Ford Crown Victoria from North America

Summary:

My cop friends tell me, the only thing I can't pass is a gas station!

Faults:

Most of the hoses 2 years ago, and something about the distributor, it cost me some more money.

General Comments:

I live in California.

2 years ago, after I spent 600 dollars, I was worried about getting it smogged. It smogged 2 years ago.

I think I changed the oil twice in the last 2 years...

I smogged it this year (with no co-payment to a garage).

It smogged even better than after I spent 600 bucks 2 years ago!

I am keeping this car for another 2 years!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2005

15th Feb 2005, 03:52

Please change your oil, now!

1984 Ford Crown Victoria police 351w from North America

Summary:

A mind altering experience

Faults:

The distributor disintegrated on my way home.

Heater core started leaking real bad, real fast.

Ignition switch fell apart, car would just quit. Spent two years finding that one.

General Comments:

With souped up drive train and stock suspension, this thing has run down everything I've felt like catching.

Speedometer goes to 240 kph (140mph) and I can bury the needle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2004

6th Aug 2005, 23:42

July 2005 update - 408" stroker, suspension modified. With about 500hp now, it runs high 12's and still carries 400lbs of firewood!

1984 Ford Crown Victoria LX 302 V8 from North America

Summary:

Tire-smoking pimp car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with my car. One day, I was driving it and smoke started coming out of the hood. I don't know, but it never happened again. It will whip cookies pretty well. I enjoy the power from the 160HP 302. I actually beat a Chevy Corvette in a drag race.

General Comments:

My car gets 10 miles to the gallon in winter which I am pretty mad at because I never pass a gas station. The 2-tone is awesome and all my friend think it is the best looking car ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2004

1984 Ford Crown Victoria LTD 302 from North America

Summary:

A solidly built product of workmanship!

Faults:

When purchased, the car overheated. A new radiator solved that problem. Basic fluid changes and new tires helped. Slight stalling and idling ensued, but was solved by a basic tune up, i.e. rotor cap, wires and plugs. It now runs great.

General Comments:

It starts right up and goes, but the engine at idle while at a traffic light is so silent, no vibration, you have to turn down the radio to hear a hum. It floats down the bumpiest roads, and the steering is buttery. The interior is class and comfort, with power seats that can be adjusted to suit the most particular driver, very cushy too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th November, 2003