1985 Ford Crown Victoria Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1985 Ford Crown Victoria 4.9 302 V8 from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.9 302 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles

Summary:

Nice 1st car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This was my 1st car, an 85 Crown Vic. Was forced into getting it so wasn't too happy til I finally got plates.

Performance was OK for a V8, the throttle body injection was annoying. And the faster I went, the more gas that came out.

The seats were comfy though, everything worked except the rear turn signal, which was just a burnt out bulb.

I only had the car for 5 months, after which it was stolen. The police found it a month later half stripped. During those 5 months, the only service trip was for a CD install.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2009

6th Dec 2009, 20:26

Sorry to hear your box got stolen. Are you looking for another Crown Vic to replace it?

1985 Ford Crown Victoria Police Car 5.8L from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

Workhorse of a car, great year for Ford engines

Faults:

Since I owned it, nothing has gone wrong. Any problems I had were few and easy to fix, and were with the car before I fixed them. May not want this car for weather below 50 degrees though, the engine idles very high in cold. Plus of course the 11 mpg city is the only real downer.

General Comments:

I've owned a '91 Vic, and 2 '85 Vics... all 5.8L former police cars. These engines are the most reliable I've owned. Easy to handle, steer, etc. It belonged to the Arizona Dept. of Public Safety, and even 20 some years later, drove like a champ. Very fast, and very quiet (AZ muffler) and the body was almost mint.

Sadly, it was totalled by a DUI case. Hated to see it go. It would have made it well over 200k easy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2009

1985 Ford Crown Victoria 302 ci from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 302 ci Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance65126 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Faults:

When I bought the car, I put in a 3 inch chrome air filter, new wires, plugs, cap, rotor, oil change, tranny fluid change, rear end fluid change.

The car has been great; no problems for the year I've owned it.

General Comments:

It's an awesome car!! Comfort at its best!! And it's got a 302 good power, and it's not a gas guzzler.

A great all around car! It was the last of the real cars, with real metal, before all this plastic junk came out!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2007

1985 Ford Crown Victoria from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1984
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Previous carToyota Cressida

Summary:

Piece of crap car!!! Avoid the trouble!

Faults:

Numerous things have gone wrong with this beast.

General Comments:

This car is such a bucket. I have had multiple Toyota's & never had as many problems as I've had with this. For starters it is the biggest gas hogs ever. Sometimes it doesn't like to start, & most of the time when you turn toward the right it dies. This has proven very scary when trying to get on the freeway. I've almost been run off the road twice because of this.

Oh, & good luck getting it to pass a smog check.

In short, I ABSOLUTELY would tell anyone NOT to buy one of these. Nothing but a 2 TON headache!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th April, 2007

13th Apr 2007, 21:09

You bought a 22 year old, rusted out POS beater and what did you expect?

14th Apr 2007, 10:08

Hello, the car is 23 years old... probably needs some maintenance. It is a large car, so you will use some gas. If you are going to call a car junk, be more specific.

5th Oct 2007, 08:23

If you think your Ford is such a piece of crap at 23 years old, try owning a 23 year old Toyota!!! Now that would be a miracle because you won't find a 23 year old Toyota still on the road, because it's got so many problems that people give up on them, and the cost of fixing a Toyota as opposed to a Ford is double.

The Crown Vic will run forever if it has not been abused, so if the one you have is giving you trouble it's because it has been abused by somebody.

You can run that car over 300k miles with very little cost if taken care of.

The Toyota will not go 300k miles without a substantial amount of costly expense.

So I'm not so sure that I believe that you have had all of those problems with that car as that car is bullet proof. Don't give up on Fords as they are the best American made car on the road.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 17 reviews