1985 Ford Crown Victoria Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1985 Ford Crown Victoria 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles

Summary:

A very dependable powerhouse

Faults:

Nothing mechanically has failed,or is going out.

The Interior is coming apart where the seat fabric is sewed down.

General Comments:

Fires right up in all weather.

Very roomy.

Huge back seat.

Rides like a dream.

Steers easy as cheese.

Very quick and powerful.

Completely stock engine topped out at 140 MPH.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2002

4th Mar 2003, 11:03

I wonder if my crown Vic will do 140mph? How did you get the reading for your top speed? Is yours the CFI?

1985 Ford Crown Victoria LTD 390 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 390 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired350000 kilometres
Most recent distance380000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Pony

Summary:

Too bad the new ones aren't as good

Faults:

The front end was loose when I first bought it. Like the previous owners did brake stands all the time.

General Comments:

The fastest car I have ever driven. It makes people look twice when they see the rear bumper pulling away. The old has even surprised a 'Vette off the line.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2002

10th Aug 2008, 22:40

390 under the hood? Sounds far from stock...

1985 Ford Crown Victoria Ltd 302 cid from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 302 cid Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A surprising and Reliable package

Faults:

After many years of Tucson sun, the heater core return hose gave out.

No big deal.

General Comments:

This car is awesome. I get great performance and reliability along side good fuel economy for a V-8.

This car is surprisingly quick for it's weight. The car is "Built Ford Tough" and provides turnkey performance everyday. It has never been rebuilt and is incredibly simple to work on.

I have always loved Ford and have fallen in love with this comfortable and quick boat.

I have driven it from Tucson, Arizona to Boise, Idaho pulling a 5x8 U-haul trailer mostly up-hill loaded with weight and had not one problem keeping it at 65 m.p.h. all the way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2002

1985 Ford Crown Victoria 5.0L 302 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0L 302 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100752 miles
Most recent distance100922 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

A sleeper shocker

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

REALLY impressed. This big ol' boat actually outruns my Firebird (305, Holley, Flowmaster). Not by much, but imagine my shock when my wife started pulling away from me with a big ol' grin.

Fuel mileage sucks when launching.

Got it free in showroom condition. Kinda went oh boy, but now I'm really amazed. I drive it more than my Firebird.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2001

19th May 2002, 15:21

My 1985 Ford Crown Victoria LTD is a great car. It has almost 200,000 miles and runs like brand new. This car is basically original. The only problem I have had with it is that my automatic headlight switch doesn't work all the time. But, overall, this car isn't a racer, but a very good, dependable, smooth riding car that a lot of these new car people are missing out on.

24th Dec 2002, 09:14

I needed a big 2-door car due to my disability and the big three doesn't make big or even mid-size 2-door cars anymore except the Chevy Monte Carlo. I bought a 1985 Crown Vic 2-door with 17,000 miles on it last year (2001). Rides nice and looks new, but having constant problems with the fuel system - (CFI), the Throttle Body Fuel Injection. After I bought the car from a vintage car dealer (paid too much) I found out that the Central Fuel Injection (CFI) was a two-year Ford experiment that failed. Poor gas mileage and poor performance in the 20 to 50 mile per hour range. I can't find a mechanic that knows enough about it to fix it. I wish I had done more investigating. I never would have bought this beast. It's on the auction block next year.

27th Jan 2003, 10:15

In regards to the last comment... the CFI system did suck... if you have a little money aside... switch over to a carburator system... cheap to repair and easy for most mechanics to fix... going to EFI would be too expensive... I own two big cars an 85' Crown Vic and an 84' Grand Marquis... I don't have any problems even with extreme cold weather like -38...good luck to ya.

30th Jan 2014, 14:21

The CFI system is not bad. It is easy to diagnose and find out the problem. CFI was Ford's first attempt at EFI; it is a throttle body system similar to GM's.

CFI is actually better than carburetors. Also it was around from 1980, starting out on Lincolns until I am not sure what year, but late 1980s at least.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 17 reviews