1987 Ford Crown Victoria LTD 302 5.0 from North America

Summary:

Toughest car ever made by Ford yet

Faults:

This car has went over 900000 three times and is now on its fourth time around the only thing that I had a problem with was the catalytic converter and the gas tank.

General Comments:

I got this puppy for my 16th birthday from my dad its god a 302 high output in her and I got almost 360 H.P. coming out of her right now I'm pretty hard on this cars engine and it can take quite a beating as well as it can give quite a beating.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2003

22nd Nov 2005, 20:59

Wow!!! I thought the odometer going over twice was dangerous. did you ever have any problems with your differential?

1987 Ford Crown Victoria LX 5.0 from North America

Summary:

Attractive, high performance car

Faults:

Previous owner, my aunt, allowed rust to build up in the radiator. It took three tries to get all the rust out.

Cassette player doesn't work.

General Comments:

The car was barely broken in when my aunt sold it to me. Therefore, it runs like new. The 39000 were actual miles. She only drove it 300 miles from September 2000 to September 2001.

The Crown Vic has great acceleration and rides as smoothly at 75mph as at 45.

I receive complements about her ride and appearance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2002

1987 Ford Crown Victoria LX 5.0L from North America

Summary:

A rip roaring grocery getter

Faults:

Nothing really, I gave it a high performance tune-up when I first got it and kept up on the maintenance.

General Comments:

They have a lot of potential that most people don't know about. They are a great riding car and perform very well for their size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2001

3rd Oct 2002, 19:49

I own a 1987 Ford Ltd Crown Victoria and her review wasn't bad; but the car had a lot of problems for me! I rebuilt the engine, transmission, the brakes. and theres a lot of minor problems with this car; a/c doesn't work back two windows don't work, my radio doesn't work! I just recently put $600.00 into it to replace the gas tank, the radiator, and the return fuel line. there not cheap cars, but they are comfortable!

1987 Ford Crown Victoria LTD 5.0L V8 from North America

Summary:

A powerful, reliable cruiser

Faults:

Left turn signal went out when I installed a new speaker, works sporadically (however manually blinking it still works).

Passenger side rear window motor belt is broken.

General Comments:

I really love my car. I inherited it last October, and it's a beautiful car.

It's awesome to slap in some blues and cruise the streets. Very comfy.

I'm confident in its reliability: my uncle's got one with 250,000 miles on it and it's still ticking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2001

1987 Ford Crown Victoria LX Country Squire V8 302 from North America

Summary:

It was a great car, I miss it a lot

Faults:

Brakes.

Head gasket.

General Comments:

It was my second car, I was 23 when I bought my first one.

I have always like wagons, this was my first.

Before it got wrecked it was in mint condion.

It was gray with wood grain and a red interior.

On my way to work some moron ran a red light and smashed into the side of me.

I just bought another 1987 Country Squire.

Wish me luck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2001

25th Aug 2001, 01:36

I hear ya pal, I had an '86 Crown Victoria 2-door coupe. My sister ended totaling it into the side of a mini-van. I really miss the V-8 power and the sound of it after I took the Y-pipe coming off the headers. I could set off car alarms with that bad-boy!

11th Apr 2003, 14:18

Nice old luxury car. I just bought an 86 from one of my homeboys and I'm fixing it up a little. It looks nice wit 18s, but could use 20s. I have old cracked top though and am going to try to see where I can get it replaced and only 1 of the windows work. After a little work it should be a good car again.

1987 Ford Crown Victoria LTD 5.0 liter V-8 with SEFI from North America

Summary:

Grandma comfort with teenager performance!

Faults:

Transmission needed to be replaced.

The heater core leaked and I had it disconnected to avoid an expensive repair. It cost me $50 to have it disconnected and now I have no heater, which is no problem out here in California.

Failed smog check due to misaligned ignition timing. $60 to readjust + another smog check.

Radio was replaced, but whether or not the old one was broken is unknown.

General Comments:

The car has incredible power! I love the look on other drivers faces after I smoke 'em out of a dead stop!

I got the car for free from my grandmother. After the tranny died, she was going to donate it to charity, but I convinced her to give it to me. I put in a rebuilt tranny for about $1500. No problems after that so far other than the smog check.

I seem to be refueling often, but it might have something to do with my lead foot!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th March, 2001

19th Apr 2001, 22:22

If you really want to smoke people put in a windsor 351 like I did with my 84 vic.

7th Jul 2001, 00:49

To really really smoke them, you need the 351 Windsor like the one in my 90 cop car, with and I mean with, dual Flowmasters and a straight pipe - it's an automatic 20 horses, believe it or not!

A K&N filter wouldn't hurt either! Good luck - Crown Vics rule!

PS They have a computer chip that can increase the performance of your vehicle with the 5.0 engine - check out superchips.com.

9th Apr 2004, 21:50

I can't believe someone charged you $50 to bi-pass the heater... All that has to be done is to remove the heater hoses from the firewall, and just use one of the existing hoses to route the coolant back into the block... Someone made a quick $50.

6th Aug 2004, 18:32

I've got a 351W in a 1977 Ford LTD II... and it hauls serious behind. It won't spin the tires... it just hooks and goes.

26th Sep 2005, 16:30

I've got a Crown Vic 87 and my muffler is like hanging by a thread, making a really throaty sound. Anyone ever have this problem and how much to fix, also I sometimes hear a weird buzzing or humming sound from the back of the car, any clue what that could be?

Gotta Love the LTD.

1987 Ford Crown Victoria LTD LX 5.0 (302 cid) EFI from North America

Summary:

This car is a real sleeper, a stop light terror!

Faults:

Charging system problems, battery, rear drum brake failure, several electrical features have quit working.

General Comments:

Other than aforesaid problems, just maintenance work and customization have been done.

Goes like a wet cat and when driven right handles like a slot car.

Excellent handling on snow covered or slippery roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2001

1987 Ford Crown Victoria LTD 5.0L {302 CID} from North America

Summary:

A good, tough, reliable car with lots of power

Faults:

Upper ball joint failed.

Blower motor eesistor burnt out.

Other than that, only basic maintenance was required.

General Comments:

I love it. It's not quite as comfortable as a 1984 Chrysler Fifth Avenue I had so far as ride quality. However it rides good for a big car, has plenty of power, reasonable fuel mileage, and it's about as reliable as you can get in a car, short of a diesel.

I hope they continue to build these cars in future. 4. 6L or 5.0L doesn't matter, both are tough, reliable, smooth, & powerful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2001

27th May 2002, 12:04

I bought a 1987 Ford Crown Vic police car after the local department dumped it at 124,000 miles. This car has a 5-liter engine (low-output: must've belonged to the Chief, who didn't have to get anywhere in a hurry) and a 4-speed auto transmission. It also has an oil cooler and a transmission cooler, which I suspect is the same as a towing package.

This car now has 224,000 miles on it and is going strong. I rebuilt the transmission at 200,000 miles. The engine is original and is still plenty fast.

10th Nov 2010, 20:28

"I may have to sell the 5 Fords (all 70 or 71's with no problems) I have at the house and go foreign."

If those classic Fords aren't giving you trouble, why sell them??