1998 Ford Crown Victoria Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1998 Ford Crown Victoria LX 4.6 V8 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired86224 miles
Most recent distance114652 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

I love this car more than anyone, or anything!

Faults:

Not one single thing. Only replaced tires.

General Comments:

Well it's about time I right a review! I've been visiting this site and leaving comments since 2004, so here goes.

I have always loved the the styling and construction of larger vehicles, so the Crown Vic came as a natural. My previous cars were a 1987 Chrysler Fifth Avenue that I purchased in December 2005, and a 1985 Chevy Suburban 3/4 ton that I purchased in July 2007.

My current vehicles include a 91' Mercedes 300E (wish I had never purchased it) and a 95' Grand Marquis, and of course my favorite: my beautiful Vic.

Ever since I was 14 (I'm 21 now) I've always wanted a Crown Vic, or any of the Panther cars, so in September 2008 I finally purchased one.

Mine was always garage kept by an older couple and washed and waxed religiously, hence the reason as to why the gorgeous black paint frame rails etc. are flawless. And I reside in NorthEast Ohio.

Now here are my main favorites about this type of vehicle.

(1) Body-on-frame construction, superior to uni-body junk for safety and durability. I was involved in a collision in my Marquis with a 2008 Malibu. I drove away with a dented fender, while the Malibu was totalled.

(2) Solid axle just like a truck and very durable, can hop a little on uneven bumps though.

(3) A-arm front suspension just like a truck.

(4) Styling, oh man do I love the long and lean look and the tail lights have a mean look to them. Why are cars getting so fat, stubby, and chunky nowadays.

(5) I think the column shifter looks so much classier than a floor unit, and it makes for six passenger seating.

(6) The styling of the car in general. Like how the dash has all manner of elegant curves and such.

Now for the V8. Yes it could put out more power for its size, but don't ever question its reliability. I've been in many taxis with 300-400,000 miles average, and they ran flawlessly. It puts out gobs of torque at low rpm however, and I've shamed many Toyotas and Hondas, and that V8 sounds like heaven when working too. Deep and burly, not like the above blenders.

When you're starting out in first gear, the transmission makes that wonderful whine that Caprices, Delta 88's and pretty much all heavy-duty transmissions do.

I plan on getting Flowmasters and maybe some police rims (I love that black, clean look), and I might get a front end from the 98'-02' Grand Marquis, as I love how they have that smiling, happy look. The Crown Vic kinda looks sad.

Also these cars can tow some major poundage too. My Grand Marquis is listed to tow 5,000, while my Vic manual says 2,000. I guess the accountants took over in the later years.

Anyway, I hope to hear from you other Panther owners, and you can guarantee that I'll never part from my Crown Vic. Global warming is a hoax, and screw gas mileage!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2010

8th Aug 2010, 05:20

You're going to put a Grand Marq front end on a CV?

Seems like it would be a whole lot easier and cheaper to have just bought a Grand Ma to begin with..

23rd Sep 2010, 21:31

I have always wanted a Crown Vic since I was ten. I'm twenty-five now, and I am getting ready to get my fourth one in the coming weeks. Mine was totaled in an accident a little over a month ago. These cars are great, solid, safe and reliable (besides the 2000's).

1998 Ford Crown Victoria Interceptor 4.6 gas from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.6 gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

The fuel cutoff switch came on and stalled the car. I found out on the 1998 models this is common. The fix was simple; just pop the trunk and push in the red button (on drivers side) and reset. It started right back up after that.

Other than that, no problems so far with 11000 miles logged.

General Comments:

I have drove this car to NY, TX, FL and Al with no problems. I bought it out of Ga. It was an administrative car, and had never seen police use; it is very rare to find one like this with no hole cutouts, no spotlight, nothing ever on the dash. It even has carpet with leatherette interior. Even all the door locks were intact. I have owned 4 of these cars, and this by far is the nicest. I found this one with only 54,000 miles!

I do prefer the 2003 and up models, because of the upgrades such as suspension, more HP and more comfortable seating. If you are looking for one of these, you can't go wrong with the 2003 and up; really they are all good cars, I just prefer the upgrade on the years mentioned earlier.

Mine just happened to be such a rare find with low mileage and never being abused, that I had to have it. I get offers of people wanting to buy it all the time, and even compliments if you can believe it.

The respect and the reliability of these cars is 2nd to none. I catch people all the time putting their seatbelt on, or if they are speeding, suddenly slowing down and afraid to pass; even the cops wave at you. I have yet to get a ticket in mine, and I do have a little bit of a lead foot. LOL.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2010

22nd Mar 2010, 18:49

I recommend getting a 2004 and up if you want the suspension/power upgrades. If possible, avoid the 2000-2003 with the timing chain tensioner problem ($$$).

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 16 reviews