1998 Ford Crown Victoria Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1998 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor 4.6L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance97586 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

Great car for a great price

Faults:

The lighting behind the temperature controls has been out since about a month since I had it, and seems to be on the same fuse as the lighter adapter, which is also out. I haven't needed the lighting or the adapter, so it hasn't been fixed, but would be simple. I don't blame Ford for this... it probably occurred when the police equipment was being removed.

Had to have Ford reprogram the computer around 90,000 miles due to the timing program getting problems.

Inner door panel of driver door is cracking at the back end level with the handle.

Panel containing controls in driver door pops out slightly and needs to be pushed in on entry. Possibly mechanic damage from when the rear window controls were reconnected.

Cup holder vibrates badly while braking hard if a heavy cup is not in it while in the "out" position.

General Comments:

This car is the most satisfying car I've ever owned.

Despite the faults above (which appear to be a singular quirk. The other 1998 Police Interceptor I owned didn't have driver door problems), it's very reliable, and with short downtime to fix what did happen.

Gets decent mileage for a V-8.

Handles great at unreasonable speeds.

Stock speakers are pretty decent.

The cup holder positioning isn't perfect, and the vibration can be annoying when braking hard.

Very safe from my experience in high speed front-end crashes.

Traction control system can be annoying when starting from a stop on gravel roads.

Air conditioner is great in the Texas heat.

Runs very quietly.

Good top speed, good acceleration when already in motion (i.e. for passing)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2002

26th Mar 2008, 16:52

You must have some badly warped rotors or something. I haven't ever had absolutely any vibration during any kind of braking.

1998 Ford Crown Victoria LX from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired24300 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles

Summary:

A very good luxury car without the luxury price

Faults:

My car tends to have less shock absorption in the neighborhoods with slow speed limits. (35-50 miles per hour) Pot-holes are NOT a very smooth ride.

My car is very costly gas-wise. The miles per gallon on the car are not what the dealer implied they would be, and it takes a lot of money to keep her running.

General Comments:

This is my very first car. I requested a Crown Victoria because it is a very big, safe, well-handling car. On the freeway and in the city, it is a very smooth ride.

My Crown Victoria is a very attractive sedan and gets a lot of looks. The column-mounted transmission is very comfortable and leaves plenty of room for guests.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2002

21st Mar 2006, 21:34

I agree with the above poster. The Crown Victoria actually gets outstanding gas mileage for what it is: one of the largest cars on the road, with a V8. They're rated at 18mpg city/25 highway, which in my experience is pretty accurate. Check around on fueleconomy.gov, and you'll notice those mpg figures compare favorably with many smaller cars, including some compacts.

3rd Jul 2009, 18:31

I have owned Crown Victorias and Grand Marquis since I started driving. I presently own a 98 Grand Marquis. After I removed the single exhaust and replaced with duals and no mufflers, it's a little loud but sounds good. My mileage on the freeway is 32 mpg. This also added 10hp. and 15ft.lbs. of torque. All you have to do is not step hard on the gas.

1998 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired230 miles
Most recent distance51300 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

If treated well, these cars are very reliable

Faults:

Intake manifold, which was under recall, began leaking. This has been a problem with all of our Crown Victorias, from 1996 models to 2001 models.

The transmission shifts good and hard, but had to be rebuilt at 37,000 miles. No problems with it since.

The rear shocks had to be replaced with air shocks. The standard shocks just could not handle the extra weight of the gear that I carry.

Two ignition coils have been replaced on the car. They got engine coolant in them when the intake manifold cracked and began leaking.

One other defect is the wiring harness to the engine cooling fan becomes brittle and the negative wire separates at the connector. This has been a big problem with all of our 1998 Crown Victorias.

General Comments:

The car handles extremely well and can take turns at unreasonable speeds.

Although not extremely quick off the line, it does have good top end speed.

The air conditioner is also extremely good. It has left condensation on the inside of the windows in the middle of the summer while at idle down here in Texas.

Except for the problems stated above, the car has been reliable and a good performer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2001

5th Feb 2003, 13:50

I own a 91 and the car is a tank I love it the only thing that went wrong in the two years I have had it is a alternator, other than that it has just been tire's from leaving down rubber.

16th Apr 2003, 19:40

I have a 1996 Crown Victoria. The wiring harness mentioned above went bad on mine too, at 71,000 miles and the manifold cracked at same mileage. Air conditioning major repair at 50,000 miles. New brake rotors needed at 62,000 miles and needed a fan clutch at 63,000 miles. We like the car, its room and handling, but feel its labor/maintenance intensive. I can't believe the manifold is made out of plastic and have been told that this 96 is not under recall.

8th Jun 2003, 00:48

I have a 96 Grand Marquis. While driving on the highway I noticed white smoke behind me. I found the intake maniford had cracked. A mechanic told me Ford had a recall on them, but when I picked it up I was told the recall had expired on the 96 models. I thought the price was terrible for a piece of plastic.

1998 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance66700 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

A really strong and fast car!

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

A REAL sleeper, no one would know until you pass them and they see the Police Interceptor emblem on the trunk lid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2000

18th May 2001, 00:48

I bought a 1995 Crown Vic Police Interceptor April 1998 it had 70,100 miles on it.

It now has 142,000 and is still running smooth. The following were the only things replaced on it:

1. oil cooler unit

2. main radiator hose

3. alternator

4. battery

5. tune-up

It still has the same "pep" as it did the day I bought it from the state of Utah. It was an ex highway patrol car.

I am now looking to buy a new 2002 Interceptor when they come out.

I have been very happy with my 95, but its time to get the new body style.

Chris H. (Salt Lake City, Utah)

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 16 reviews