2005 Ford Escape Reviews

2005 Ford Escape XLT 3.0 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Very reliable and dependable!

Faults:

A wheel bearing had to be replaced.

General Comments:

This is a great car!! I am very pleased with it so far! Quick pick up. Roomy for a small SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2011

2005 Ford Escape XLT 2.3 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired351000 kilometres
Most recent distance362000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Reliable transportation

Faults:

Valve cover gasket.

General Comments:

I bought this vehicle used with high kilometres for use as a second vehicle/beater. After doing some needed repairs like suspension and front end, I started using it for a daily driver. I find it very reliable and good on fuel to boot (about 35 mpg imperial).

For a vehicle with this many km's, it rides and handles great. The 2.3 litre 4 cylinder is a little lacking in power, but is acceptable when paired with the 5 speed manual trans.

Seating is comfortable, cargo space is great, especially with the fold flat rear seats. The ride is a bit truck like, but I prefer that anyway.

All in all, it is a reliable and convenient vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2011

2005 Ford Escape 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Extremely satisfied with this vehicle

Faults:

Alarm sensitivity issues, no big deal.

Fuel filler tube kept choking up, replaced under warranty.

First set of brakes wore in only 15,000.

A radiator hose blew at 20,000. No big deal.

General Comments:

This vehicle has been very dependable and a nice ride.

I measure MPG every tankful, over 5 years averages 17.5 MPG.

Virtually problem free vehicle.

Good pep, plenty of room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2011

30th Jun 2013, 17:02

6/28/13 - Back again to comment about my 2005 Ford Escape. We are now at 54,000. I continue to maintain this car meticulously. Nothing has gone wrong since the items mentioned in my last report. I did put 4 new tires on it. Coming up on its 55,000 mile service and keeping up with meticulous records. No issues to speak of. So far, this car has been an excellent purchase.

2005 Ford Escape Hybrid 4 cylinder hybrid from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder hybrid Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

Incredible value and reliable

Faults:

Battery (for engine starter) failed after 95,000 miles.

Tail light burned out.

General Comments:

I am the original owner of a 2005 Ford Escape Hybrid, and can honestly say this is the best vehicle I have ever owned. After 98,000 miles, I have had only two component failures: A burned out tail light, and a bad starting battery. I expected the battery to give out after 5 years or so, so that was no surprise.

A word of warning to the rest of you though... You may not know this, but there is a separate cooling system in the cargo area at the rear of the vehicle, which contains an air filter. This air filter must be changed before it plugs up or you will burn up your battery and/or regulator. My understanding is that the regulator repair is over $1,000, and if you toast your battery, you might as well buy a Prius, because at last check, it was over $10,000. If you own a Hybrid, you need to check this filter now! It is located on the left side of the rear cargo area inside a small panel. Open this up, take out the filter cover, and pull out the filter. If you haven't done this yet, it's probably filthy like mine was. I heard about this from a guy who had an identical model that wasn't so fortunate to have been told about this filter. He smoked his regulator. Good luck!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2010

2005 Ford Escape XL from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres

Summary:

A piece of expensive CRAP!

Faults:

Great little SUV when I got it two years ago, but this summer has cost me over $4000 in repairs, and it left me stranded again!

Where to start... at the beginning of the summer, my catalytic converter went... $2000 later, got all the spark plugs done at the same time.

Fast forward 1 month. Left our whole family stranded in the middle of a forestry trunk road. Towing $300. Computer went in it, all the coils and got the spark plug replaced again.. $1600 that time.

Fast forward 2 weeks... catalytic converter, same one, has apparently gone again. Hopefully the warranty will cover this one, but I still have to tow it home. After this, I'm selling the beast and getting a good old beater! Never again!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th September, 2010

27th Aug 2011, 09:33

I'm not a big Ford fan, but however it looks like all you need is a reliable mechanic/shop. It cannot be the same converter two times, and you were definitely needed coils OR computer, NOT coil AND computer. Just find a better shop to get your car serviced.

20th Dec 2013, 16:07

I agree with the other comment. Also Consumer Reports rates the Ford Escape above average for most of its line.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 23 reviews