1992 Ford Escort CLX 16v 1.8 16v from Spain


A great Fast-Fun-Ford!!


Everything is OK.

General Comments:

When I first got this car, I thought it wasn't the best deal. After one month, I have to say I am really surprised.

It's extremely fast, comfortable and I have a lot of fun driving it.

I am very happy with it and of course, my next car will be a Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2001

1992 Ford Escort LX 1.9 from North America


Sometimes a bargain... sometimes


The transmission died less than a month after I got the car.

General Comments:

Great fuel economy.

Generally reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd June, 2001

1992 Ford Escort Ghia 1.6 from UK and Ireland


Too many faults for my liking


Within 2 weeks of purchase, needed a new anti roll bar.

Steering is bumpy / jerky and not very accurate when turning - understeer always a problem.

Passenger seat comes loose and is noisy.

Dim lights work when they feel like it - dodgy switch.

Very noisy tappet sound when starting from cold, noisy engine at full stop.

Clutch pedal sometimes has a lot of play near the top and you have to double clutch to get in gear.

General Comments:

Total waste of money. I would have thought that I would have learned this by now when it comes to Escorts, but this one being my third, I can promise that I will never buy another Ford for as long as live.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th May, 2001

29th Oct 2001, 22:00

I hear ya man, I have hated Ford all my life just because of their crappy cars. Blow'em all to pieces! They're better off that way!

2nd Mar 2002, 10:30

Get your facts right - myself and friends/family have owned fords for years and they are great cars - right that was my bit!

17th Oct 2004, 01:54

If you hate Ford Escort's so much, why buy 3? I've had 2 Ford's, a Fiesta and my current Escort. Both of which have been rock solid dependable cars!

1992 Ford Escort GT 1.8 DOHC Mazda from North America


Extremely fast


Timing belt snapped after I did my first inspection on it! Replaced timing belts and all other belts with the water pump.

Compressor went bad recently and replaced that... not expensive.

Other than that my usual oil change at 2000 miles... I do it sooner since it has so many miles and it still runs great!

General Comments:

Car handles great. I bought the car with high mileage, but I think the engine is still original. It can smoke people at the lights and sometimes new faster cars like the Mustang and souped up Hondas. A real sleeper car.

Also had police strobes and real police siren put into it because I'm cool. Pull people over and give them the finger. HA! Just having fun! Heavy tint on car with scanners and antennas. Email me for pics! allstaryoot@yahoo.com

I also work for the United States Customs so I'm allowed to have it, but other than that the car is extremly reliable and still going strong at 178,900 miles!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2001

26th Nov 2006, 15:16

I have 92 GT as well,and yes, it is fast! 5 speed manual 1.8 L DOC 16V, who would have thought this little car has so much power?! This little thing keeps going and going although I torture the engine and transmission everyday driving it like a racer! Good handling too!


26th Nov 2006, 20:52

Anyone stupid enough to pull over for some old beater Escort... deserves the finger!

1992 Ford Escort LX from North America


A high performance bargain


Not a lot of things. Mainly rust would grow fast, but I live in Canada and we have terrible winters.

The car's direction often had to be aligned.

Weak heating system. Shook and rattled a lot while driving, but again, bad Canadian roads!

General Comments:

Highly reliable!!! Never failed to start in the 2 years I've had it.

Would recommend it to anyone, but as always, pre-buy inspection is never a luxury! Extremely economical overall, but then again I've never had to repair it too much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2001

17th Jun 2002, 20:47


I was wondering how you managed to find your Escort Cossie in Canada? I have been looking everywhere for one! it is my ultimate dreams car, and not everyone would have one, which is great! anywho, if you could give me any help it would be greatly appreciated.


Josh Shultz