1993 Ford Escort Reviews

1993 Ford Escort LX 1.9 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance11006 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

The best car I've ever had or know of; very reliable

Faults:

Driver's seat belt wore out.

Transmission was replaced, but only after teaching (5) five teenagers how to drive a manual.

General Comments:

A wonder car that I have used hard as a work truck. She still continues to go on strong. But not the most smooth ride; you do feel all the potholes in the roads, even the very small ones.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2011

2nd Jan 2011, 20:06

In 1993 a handicapped friend asked my advice in buying a reliable new car. He had had very bad experience with his Japanese import. Due to his handicap, it was imperative that he have a very dependable car. I recommended the Escort based on our flawless experience with Ford (over 300,000 miles out of one with virtually no engine or transmission problems). He bought the Escort, and drove it for 8 totally trouble free years until it was totalled in 2001. It was a very reliable car. To replace it, I recommended either the Escort ZX-2 or a Dodge Neon. He opted for the Neon, and it has also been totally flawless thus far. I still think he should have bought another Escort, however.

2nd Jun 2013, 22:54

Totally agree, mine has stayed with my family since 97, and it's still fun to drive, very cheap to repair and has a strong engine. It doesn't feel like a 88 HP engine!

1993 Ford Escort LX 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles

Summary:

Dependable

Faults:

Usual wear and tear; nothing significant.

General Comments:

I bought my Escort off the lot. It has always been maintained well. The air conditioning is still cold, the heat is still hot! I can't believe this car still acts like it did 17 years ago. Everything works. AND, it handles better than our truck in the snow!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2010

1993 Ford Escort GT 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Previous carSAAB 9000

Summary:

One of Ford's best efforts

Faults:

Alternator.

Air conditioning.

General Comments:

I read Car Survey often as I like buying and experiencing used cars. The Escort I bought a couple years ago has really been one of the best cars I've owned. Some of the comments may seem to go "over the top" but it really is a great little car. The Mazda 1.8 is a stellar engine that over achieves and is ultra reliable with great high revving power. It is a non-interference motor, so serious damage will never occur should the belt let go. It handles great and stops very well too.

My cars air conditioning never worked from the time I bought it (for $800 with only 105,000 kilometers)... Sure this may seem like a car too old to review, as very few are still on the road, but it was one of Fords better efforts and should be recognized as such. I now have 190,000 on it and it's still going strong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th June, 2010

1993 Ford Escort LXE Wagon 1.9 SOHC from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.9 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired181000 miles
Most recent distance184000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

Excellent cheap transportation

Faults:

Coolant level light came on - Hmmm, cleaned the contacts.

Some light surface rust (It's Ohio.. Lucky it's not rotted away)

Radiator fan relay stopped working... - Hard wired it to the ignition so it kicks on.

The rear hatch shocks are starting to not hold it up.

General Comments:

So far with the miles it has on it.. I am not unhappy with the vehicle. Purchased it cheap, and it is actually a quiet car. Runs much better than most 16 year old cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2009

1993 Ford Escort LX Inline 4 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership1993
Engine and transmission Inline 4 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10 miles
Previous carDodge Challenger

Summary:

Only 10 miles on the odometer and it had already broken down. What do you think my opinion was?

Faults:

Broke down 10 miles away from the dealer I bought it from. Hadn't even owned it an hour.

General Comments:

I bought this vehicle a long time ago, but when I found this site I wanted to warn people of this horrible vehicle.

I bought the car BRAND NEW from the Ford dealership in my town. When I ordered the first one, there was a chip in the paint, so I asked the dealership to touch it up. When I came back the next day, there was paint EVERYWHERE. On the windows, hubcaps, lights, mirrors, everything, covered in black paint speckles. So I ordered ANOTHER one that the dealer paid for because of their horrid paint touch-up on the last one.

When that one I arrived, I signed the paperwork and drove off the lot. About 8 miles down the road, my "CHECK ENGINE" light came on, so I turned around to head back to the dealer.

As I drove back, it began to jerk and lurch, and then it finally died directly in front of a Honda dealership. The Honda dealership offered to give me a FREE tow back to the Ford dealership. They didn't even hint towards me buying a car from them. But I told them that I'd like to make a trade-in. So the salesman helped me push my shiny new Ford into the lot where I preceded to buy a used Honda Civic.

You can choose to believe this or not, but IT DID happen. When I purchased my Escort I thought I was getting a reliable, safe vehicle that would be suitable for me and my (then) unborn son. But boy was I wrong. I'm just glad it did break-down when and where it did, and not when my son was in the car with me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th October, 2009

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 82 reviews