1993 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 21 of 21

1993 Ford Escort LX 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired144500 kilometres
Most recent distance186000 kilometres

Summary:

A fast, sweet bargain!

Faults:

Engine went at 144,600 kms, due to a broken head bolt.

183,000kms, the timing belt went.

General Comments:

Put 195/50/15 tires on, takes the corners like there's nothing there.

K&N air filter, noticeable power difference.

Running a straight pipe, 2.5", no mufflers, with a dual 3" stainless steel tip, another noticeable power difference, plus a great sound.

Plus, I have it accessorized to the nuts, it's a great looking car if you spend some money on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2000

1993 Ford Escort Carnival 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta Dash (950)

Summary:

Sound as a pound little runaround

Faults:

Just the usual Escort stuff for this model and year.

Indicator stalk wouldn't return - swapped by place where I bought it.

Blower/heater doesn't work - being fixed as we speak (3/7/00) - fuse box needs replacing, dealer only part, unless you get to a scrappies for one. Main dealers want up to £280 to supply and fit, independent garage £206, Motor Electrical garage £100 (fitter had a spare). Hmm, big price difference, but you can tell it's a dealer part!

General Comments:

Good solid car - learned this in a bump last year.

Cheap to run, cheap to insure, OK drive. Lacking in street cred, but who cares - at least it's a car - and I know it'll start first time, every time in the morning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2000

1993 Ford Escort RS Cosworth 2.0i 16V Big Turbo from Switzerland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16V Big Turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 kilometres
Most recent distance84000 kilometres
Previous carFord Sierra XR4x4

Summary:

Expensive - but fun

Faults:

Couldn't open the fuel tank, because of a defective lock.

Once the clutch cable broke. Sometimes all warning lights are flashing, when cornering a bit too hard.

General Comments:

What a great performer and so much fun to drive. When you can find one and afford it, get it, you won't regret a single penny spent on this boy racer's delight. And what other hi-performance sports car can take up to 5 passengers? What other sports car can be driven easily in the Swiss Alps during the hardest winter and leave all off-road cars behind?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2000

15th May 2002, 06:21

Well in there!! Very fast, I do agree a boy racer car that you won't regret, also all they features of a family saloon, the greatest car on the planet, they just kill anything else that touchs the road!!

Respect.

12th May 2004, 04:46

Fair enough, they are great cars, but you're going too far saying they'll leave anything that touches the road e.g. Subaru Impreza, Mitsu Evo. Take into account these are 5 seaters too, and 4 wheel drive, and they are quite a bit faster??? And don't start with saying a Cossie can be tuned; I'm talking standard form. I mean the Cossies only about 244bhp as standard???

1993 Ford Escort LX 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10

Faults:

Alarm switch and central locking on drivers side does not work. Every time that I get in or out of the car I have to walk round to the passenger side and lock/unlock the door to prevent the alarm going off. The dealer has looked at this problem 4 times and I think I have more of a clue than he does !! Nothing wrong apparently !

Back screen wiper switch is eratic, switches on and off at will.

When driving along with dip head lights on, main beem comes on on its own, 6 times to dealer. Same response. Crap is what I say.

General Comments:

I love this car like I would love a big spike up my bum.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th September, 1999

4th Apr 2005, 12:58

I too am having lots of head aches regarding the alarm.

If I open the drivers door, the alarm/immobilizer module clicks repeatedly.

I have now also got a failed starter motor which I am told could be due to the alarm/immobilizer fault.

If I open the car via the passenger door I get no clicking.

I am worried about splashing out on a new starter as I fear it will pack up again.

If I had a gun I am not sure who would die first... me or the car!!!

1993 Ford Escort Cosworth 2.0 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

Needed a new exhaust but apart from that it's been fantastic over the 3 years I've owned it.

General Comments:

A nice car with better build quality than usually found from Ford, good performance, decent mpg and fantastic grip and handling..

If you want low down grunt, don't buy an early model, get the later models with smaller turbos on.. £200 spent on a chip for the ECU makes a world of difference.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 1999

1993 Ford Escort Ghia 1.6i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.6i petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10

Faults:

Lots of electrical faults resulting in the fuse box needing replacement, that alone at a cost of £300. Doesn't like the cold and wet much, lots of difficulty starting. Good enough as a runabout.

General Comments:

I was involved in an accident in this car at 30 mph and it crumpled. I wouldn't like to see what would happen to the occupants of one of these vehicles if it was to crash at higher speeds.

The other car involved had only minor problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th April, 1999

1993 Ford Escort Ghia 1.8i 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.8i 16v petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10

Faults:

It cuts out when it is cold sometimes and then won't start again?!?

General Comments:

I love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 1999

1993 Ford Escort LX 1.4i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.4i petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

Leak in power steering reservoir. Dealer replaced rack under warranty.

Front anti-roll bar snapped after 55k miles. (I wasn't rallying - honest!)

General Comments:

While the engine in pre-1995 Escorts is nothing spectacular, good handling and efficient dealer service hold my interest. My advice to anyone considering buying an Escort is to buy post-1994. I'll probably get one myself!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 1998

1993 Ford Escort Lxi 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10

Faults:

After only 32,000 miles engine needed new valves ect £800 cost Ford stated that it was due to the unleaded fuel and would except no liability.

General Comments:

I personally would never buy another Ford and would urge others not to.

Ford seems to be a bit too big for its boots as far as customers are concerned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th February, 1998

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 82 reviews