1993 Ford Escort LX 1.9 gas from North America


Cheap but reliable auto!!!


Clutch problem when I got it, but I was informed before I made the decision!

General Comments:

This Escort is the first car in my life. I got it for just USD$1,800 and it had 123000 miles on the odometer. Because of this Escort, I have a great impression about the reputation of Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2001

1993 Ford Escort XR3i 1.8 Zetec from UK and Ireland


The car is an excellent medium power hot hatch, great economy and comfort


The bearing in the water pump failed which resulted in a replacement water pump being fitted.

The windscreen water sprayer pipe became blocked and failed to work.

The flange started to make a squeaking noise.

General Comments:

The car is quite fast, but not a patch on a VTEC of a similar size, or even a 1.6 VTEC.

The interior is very comfortable, and the seats are excellent for standard seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2001

1993 Ford Escort GT 1.8T DOHC 4 cylinder from North America


Great value


Clutch will wear out at around 120,000km or about 80,000 miles.

Ignition lock cylinder sticks and can snap rendering your car unstartable.

Luckily, this is an 80 dollar fix.

Suspension has been a little rough in the last 40,000km or so.

General Comments:

This is a surprisingly good car considering its economy class. Lots of pep and good on fuel.

It can take quite a beating and is reliable for a daily driver car.

The engine (being Mazda J-Spec) seems like the toughest component of the car, which is likely why it's still running smoothly with 185,000 km on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd May, 2001

1993 Ford Escort LXi 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland


Tidy, good looking and reliable


Rust around the fuel cap.

The alarm and immoboliser switch has been faulty, I needed to purchase a new switch from the local Ford dealer.

General Comments:


I strongly recommend purchasing a Ford.

My Escort is reliable and fast!

The upholstery is very comfortable and elegantly designed.

A very tidy gear box!!

A spacious boot!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2001

19th May 2001, 16:30

Mmm, I can tell you haven't driven some of the alternatives... And is there such a thing as a good Ford dealer???

1993 Ford Escort LXi 1.6i petrol from UK and Ireland


Wouldn't touch one with a barge pole again


Exhaust needed replacing soon after purchase.

Gear box packed in after 54,000 miles at a cost of 250 pound to re-con an old one.

Keep finding pieces of trim and plastic all round the car.

Temperature gauge has never worked even though most of the bits and pieces connected to it have been changed.

General Comments:

The car looks nice and handles well, but at the end of the day it's still a Ford and has a poor build quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th March, 2001

19th May 2001, 16:29

I thought it was just ours that needed a new gearbox!! We had ours replaced at 40 odd thousand miles. Did Ford contribute at all? Our local dealer did after I towed it there and just dumped it across the forecourt.

15th Jun 2004, 13:18

I've had the same problem, the gearbox died on mine at 75'000 miles, since buying it on 72'000 miles I've had to replace the lower suspension arms, anti roll bar bushes, cam belt, water pump, clutch, and the shock absorbers are starting to make squelching noises on bumps. This car has been a nightmare for me, i'm never driving a ford again.

1993 Ford Escort LX 1.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


A good reliable cheap car


The usual Escort mark5 problem with the anti-roll bar bushes wearing every 20,000.

The drive shafts needed replacing after 30,000. Ford didn't want to know! I bought none genuine replacements, quarter of the price, 60,000 miles on and they are still fine!

Small oil leak from the turbo (still leaks).

Battery replaced after 70,000.

Rear bearings replaced after 60,000.

Front brake pads replaced every 30,000.

Bushes on both front suspension arms were badly worn after 80,000 miles, replaced the whole unit.

Glow plugs just replaced.

Boot just started to leak water through the rear wheel arch.

As with most diesels it needs oil, a fuel filter & an oil filter every 6000 if you want it to last.

General Comments:

None genuine parts are really, really cheap and in most cases better than Fords parts (front lower suspension arm with bushes and ball joint £28, bargain).

Easy to work on.

Rear shocks and springs get weak after time and with so much travel. This makes driving at night fully loaded dangerous as the lights literally point in the air.

Very quick car considering a max fuel economy of +50mpg.

Massive boot (I get my mountain bike in without folding the rear seats down).

Bodywork is still fine with the exception of a small rust patch appearing on rear wheel arch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2001

16th Apr 2001, 11:57

Nice to hear of someone who likes the Escort.