1993 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 20 of 21

1993 Ford Escort L 1.8 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 diesel Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired133000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Economical, cheap repairs, but a bit slow

Faults:

Head gasket.

Timing belt.

Track rod ends.

Whole new brake set.

Alternator.

Ball joints.

Driver's side ball bearing & hub knuckle.

Rear engine mounting.

General Comments:

Extremely economical. Engine will go on for miles and miles, but the other running parts are needing to be replaced at the 130K miles mark! Worth it though, since I save loads on fuel expenses and the engine is reliable.

When I can afford it, though, I will get rid of it in favour of something with some power! Aaarrrggghhh! So slow!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2001

1993 Ford Escort LX 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles

Summary:

A load of rubbish

Faults:

Within the first year it had to be recalled as it cut out whilst travelling at speeds over 60mph.

Rear wiper works intermittently.

Repeated electrical faults.

Two alternators.

Four batteries.

Two exhausts replaced.

Front bushes replaced twice.

New injector.

Driver's side door lock does not activate the central locking or unlock the passenger side door.

Rear passenger footwell fills with water when raining.

Rear wheel arch is rusting.

General Comments:

Until reading other reviews on this site I thought I was alone in my problems with Ford, now I realise that it is their bad manufacturing and not my lack of care of the vehicle as I have been told by Ford.

If anyone knows the length of the warranty for bodywork I would love to know as Ford are very vague about this area.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th December, 2000

19th Oct 2002, 11:37

My Escort has problems with the Central Locking. I am told by my mechanic, that this is due to the circuit that runs through the hinges on the hatchback door. I have cleaned these and sprayed them with WD40 but still no go. Does anyone have any other solutions?

22nd Feb 2005, 16:25

You may have gotten a "bad one",but I doubt it. I have the same car, my family relies on it and it's never let us down. I'm now looking at a Ford Focus, because the Escort has been so true to us. Our Escort is just a little too beat up now with 120k on the odometer to keep much longer as a primary vehicle. We have discussed keeping it in the family as a second car to run to work in and stuff. Your car was probably the victim of poor care, I feel sorry for that machine.

14th Mar 2010, 09:59

I agree with the comment before mine. In fact it's the same with all cars.

How a car is treated throughout its life is how it's going to be when its older. So if a person barely cleans their car and hardly ever services it, it's going to be rusty and break down a lot more than a car that is always serviced and cleaned regularly.

I have had 3 Escorts. A mk4,mk5 and a mk6. They were mildly looked after and needed some work doing to them because they were not properly looked after from the start. Now all are well and on the road with their new owners.

1993 Ford Escort LX 2 door 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carFord Escort GT

Summary:

OK car for the $$, not very comfortable to sleep in, decent performance - could use some mods

Faults:

With in the time I have owned it, I have had to replace the timing belt, serpentine bel,t wires and spark plugs. Soon I will have to replace the clutch.

General Comments:

I think I was deceived by the owner of the car lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2000

9th Aug 2005, 19:24

What 2 door hatch is comfy to sleep in?

1993 Ford Escort LX Station Wagon 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles
Previous carDodge Omni

Summary:

It does the job!!!

Faults:

Paid $1998.00 from a used car dealership.

Both rear springs were broken!

Automatic seatbelt on the driver's side stopped working!

Transmission keeps slipping.

General Comments:

Will drive this car into the junkyard (won't trade in or sell)!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2000

15th Feb 2001, 09:43

Drove a '95 LX wagon, wasn't too impressed with its lack of grip on a dry road.

26th Sep 2001, 23:48

It's a cool car. I fixed mine up, removed the filter box and added a filter cone in its place to give a nice hummm, and 10 to 15 horse power. Added a few Ford and text decals. A good, different car other than the too trendy Hondas.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 82 reviews