1993 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 16 of 21

1993 Ford Escort LX 1.9L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance198000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A bargain that I will have a hard time finding again

Faults:

The driver side window motor failed and was replaced at 95000 miles.

The A/C evaporator was replaced at 137000 miles.

The air flow sensor was replaced at 167000 miles.

The struts and shocks were replaced at 173000 miles.

The wheel bearings were replaced at 182000 miles.

General Comments:

To date the total cost of the vehicle is less the US $.17 per mile. The costs include purchase price, insurance, fuel and maintenance.

My daily commute is 120 miles per day which I have been doing since Jan of 1999.

The care is quick and handles well in tight spaces.

Parking is never a problem with this vehicle.

To date the car gets better than 31 miles to the gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2003

1993 Ford Escort 1.3 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

Basic, low-cost motoring

Faults:

Brake pads and discs needed to be replaced at 89000 miles

Front bearings need replacement at 91000 miles.

General Comments:

Overall, the car is generally squeaky and rattly.

Not up to that standards of Japanese cars.

Eg my parents' 1990 Ford Laser (Australia, Mazda based) had 280000 Km (180000Miles) on it when they sold it (owned from new) and it wasn't as worn in areas such as gearshift, suspension, or brakes.

The ride is very comfortable and it cruises remarkable well at 80mph for a 1.3 but takes a while to get up to speed, which can be a little dangerous at times (my previous cars were quite powerful by comparison).

Rust also seems to be an issue, but that may be caused by the local environment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 2003

1993 Ford Escort XR3i 105 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Comfort not speed

Faults:

The fuse box had to be rewired at 60000 miles, caused by cracks in the circuit board.

Some paint has begun to peel on the off side door.

Standard alarm has just started to act up, though dead locks still work.

General Comments:

I would not describe the 105 version as a 'hot hatch'.

Bad brakes, handling, and nor enough power make for a very bland driving experience.

However the car does stand out from the escort pack (larger alloys do help though).

With a large interior, sport seating, and all the electric toys, the XR3i is a comfortable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2003

1993 Ford Escort CLX 1.8i from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres

Summary:

Fast, reliable and good looking for its price

Faults:

The heat system stopped working after a very bumpy road.

Acceleration problems at some point resulting in an almost un-drivable car.

Tired wear out quicker than expected (but this could also be my because of my driving style).

General Comments:

Apart from above described problems, I never had any problems with it despite its age.

The car drives very good. Very fast acceleration, comfortable seats and drives really stable (although very noisy) at high speed. In Germany I could cope with the 190+ km/h driving BMW's without problems. :-)

The car handling makes me feel safe in it, even at high speed.

One little 'problem': 3 people on the backseat makes the back too heavy to be able to drive over heavy bumps.

I still love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2002

1993 Ford Escort LX 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 kilometres
Most recent distance155000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Good little car

Faults:

Has gone through brakes more than most other cars I have driven.

There are always little problems occurring, most have been with interior components.

The visors have broken, the seatbelt sensor has broken, and the key-lock alert will not turn off. (i.e. When there is no key in the ignition and the door is open with the lights off it still beeps.)

Have had many problems with the ventilation fan, mostly with the electrical contacts for it.

General Comments:

Good little car. Handles really well.

I have not had any major engine problems, nor any problems with the frame or other major components.

Great mileage. I still get the 33mpg that Consumer Guide said it had back when it was new. (30/37 City/Highway)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2002

1993 Ford Escort RS Cosworth Lux 2.0 16v turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Reliable, rapid, and huge fun!

Faults:

Turbo heat shield worked loose and rattled (very scary - thought it was the turbo itself). Fixed quickly and easily by dealer.

Clutch started slipping at 65,000 miles. To be expected on a 227 bhp, 4 wheel drive car.

Otherwise totally reliable. Still oil tight and seriously quick at 85,000 miles.

General Comments:

It's a bit of a shame about the lager lout image because this is truly one of the most capable fast road cars money can buy.

The chassis is fantastic. I recently drove a friends Impreza WRX, and although it's a bit quicker off the line, and a very impressive car in its own right (the incredible engine especially) the Cossie is definitely the more fun of the two. The age difference shows in terms of refinement and outright grip, but jumping back in the Escort immediately stuck a smile on my face.

The 4WD system is superb, having a significant rearward bias on the torque split. This gives fantastic handling, with just enough RWD "tail happiness" to help the car turn, but enough FWD stability to pull it straight again. It also doesn't do weird things with its centre differential mid-bend like the Impreza sometimes does, meaning you can predict exactly what the car is going to do. The Cosworth's steering is also way superior in terms of weighting and feel. I suspect the WRX would cover a twisty road a bit quicker (it would be close), but the Cossie is the one that will give the biggest laughs and involve the driver more.

I've resisted the temptation to modify the car, which is paying dividends as the miles roll on. The Cosworth YB engine is very strong, and was significantly detuned to get the 227 bhp figure, which means big power increases can be had for just a few hundred pounds. Resisting this means that even with 85,000 miles on it, the engine uses barely half a litre of oil between services, always starts in the mornings, and the transmission is still slick and quiet. And yes, the car is driven hard, although for the turbo's sake, it is never thrashed from cold, always allowed to idle after a run, and is treated to fresh synthetic oil mid way between the standard services. The car as a whole feels tight, smooth and "together", and there is nothing to suggest it won't stay that way until well into a six figure mileage.

I absolutely adore this car. It's fast, reliable, practical (seats four in reasonable comfort and has a decent boot), looks outrageous and offers a driving experience that to my mind has still not been bettered as far as affordable performance cars go. In Lux spec, it's also well equipped, with a CD autochanger, air conditioning, leather Recaro seats, electric windows and mirrors.

Insurance is a bit of a killer, as is the fuel consumption at times (I get between 15 and 27 miles out of a gallon of Super Unleaded), but the car has so much soul and ability that I cough up and live with it. I cannot recommend these cars highly enough. Just get an insurance quote first, and keep it locked up!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2002

27th Feb 2003, 14:35

I am quite surprised you are still on your original Turbo, is your car a big or small turbo version?

24th Jun 2003, 08:38

It's a big turbo (with the blue cam cover). To be honest I would expect at least 100,000 miles from a turbo on any engine if it has been treated sympathetically. Most turbo failure before this kind of mileage is purely down to abuse or neglect, namely:

Missed or late oil changes

Use of insufficient quality engine oil which cannot cope with operating conditions in the turbo (>800 deg C for example).

High turbo RPM (i.e. hard driving) before the engine oil is warm and the oil has circulated properly around the bearings.

And the biggest killer of all - not letting the engine idle for a minute or two before switching off.

Different car I know, but I know someone who got 170,000 miles out of the original turbo on his Escort RS Turbo.

23rd May 2006, 13:29

Yeah I totally agree. If you take care of a car and its components there is no reason it should not last far longer than expected. My Series 2 Escort Turbo was still using the original Turbo and that had done 133,000 miles also the engine was still going well when I sold it. It had a fully stamped history book and never missed a service.

2nd May 2007, 04:22

I'm thinking of getting either an integra type r or a cosworth, whats the fuel consumption like and reliability, I know the type r is bullet proof, and which car would be faster around a track.

4th May 2007, 05:25

I think I'm gonna go for the integra cos its way cheaper, more reliable and that is a key factor, and performance wise theres not much difference, thanks for your advice though.

16th Aug 2007, 13:06

From someone who owns a Honda Integra Type R JDM spec, I recently had the opportunity to race an Escort Cosworth along a lovely stretch of B road as there are 2 in my area. He started in front (I prefer it that way), gave it his all, and I was never more than 1 car length behind him, and I actually had more grip in the corners (had to let go of the throttle to stop me from going up the back of him), and I could out brake him too.Wwas a good little race, but the Teg was definitely the faster car to be in. Might have been different outcome if the road was wet.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 82 reviews